We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious restaurant”
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious restaurant”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

When you see this restaurant from the front it looks like a normal boring cafe but when you walk through to the courtyard at the back it was such a shock now nice it was. The restaurant serves all sorts of different food from pizza to crocodile to caterpillars. (I recommend trying them all) The kitchen is pretty much a huge bbq and a pizza over! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was perfect! It looks so understated from the front it must put people off but its definitely worth a visit. Also the staff are really helpful and kind!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    274
    72
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
844 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Ok, but not a top choice”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice setting, good food, good location, friendly staff but a lot of flies around and that is somewhat doubtfull at a restaurant

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeZambezi, Manager at Cafe Zambezi, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear carolineenwillem,
Thanks for leaving us a review and we are glad to hear you liked our central location and great food, after all that is what its all about. I am sorry that the flies bothered you, as anyone from Livingstone will tell you, during the summer days in mango season the flies are about!! We do everything we can to control it, with regular spraying and traps during this time of year. However as we have alfresco dining and a lovely big old mango tree in the middle of the restaurant we cannot completely eliminate them when the sweet smelling blossoms and fruit are in season. Makes for good fresh fruit smoothies though!!
Hope to welcome you back in the future, enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was hoping for in Livingstone”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wow, just returned from eating at Cafe Zambezi and what a meal. Had the mopani worm (yuck by the very nature, but on my 2nd try, the best so far!!!!) crocodile ribs an absolute must.

The atmosphere was exactly what we were after. Excellent service and great value for money!

I would definitely return. Sprayed myself with a good a,out if mosquito repellant as per previous post and had

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Parkinson_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food, Horrible mosquitos”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I ate at this restaurant 4-5 times over the month of December. The food is prepared well, very tasty, and large portions. They also have a live dance show on certain nights of the week that I would recommend seeing. The issue...mosquitos, they should fumigate, the first evening I left looking like I had the chicken pox on my legs I had so many bites, after that I sprayed myself heavily and worse leggings and long sleeves.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, must dine here if near Victoria Falls”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you want a taste of the local experience with ambiance than come to Cafe Zambezi. Don't be fooled by the front of the restaurant, go all the way in the back. The staff was friendly and attentive. There is a variety of food to choose from. There were six in our party and there were no complaints. The only complaint was that we unfortunately passed on this restaurant the night before. The seating in the outdoor patio is nice. Even though it rained shortly thereafter, we moved to the seating covered within the patio. All the meat and vegetable dishes were excellent. The price you pay is very good for what you get. We left a nice tip. This is the place to go in Livingstone, Zambia.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccheezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing