We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+ for food, ambiance, music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, African, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Colombo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A+ for food, ambiance, music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nothing over the top or high-end about this place but for local cuisine in an authentic local ambiance Cafe Zambezi is hard to beat! Try the Masala Pork chops off the braai and the Hummous Salad - add a fusion of jazz and African music under the mango tree!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patchy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    246
    65
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ate here every night of our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I were staying in Fawlty Towers just down the street, so we stumbled upon this place the first night, and came back the other two nights of our stay in Livingston. Excellent food, and as long as you're not in a hurry, this place is perfect. Friendly staff, delicious food from the braai (we had crocodile and chicken) and big portions. The rice dish particularly was tasty, we had that each night. Tried their pizza too, very tasty. Sitting outside is a treat, and it got chilly (it's winter), so they place a pot of coals under each table which was awesome. Felt authentic, good value and was a great place to relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bestkindoflost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tasty and lively”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

interesting place to come. slow service. tasty and interesting to try various things. mostly travellers coming here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happy1nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great food and a wide selection on offer, service was slightly slow but we didnt book a table and they were very busy so our fault! Would recommend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank followthesun0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“12 months on & still remember it well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Zam12 group visited this restaurant & enjoyed it so much I still remember it as our favourite 12 months later. Great atmosphere I really enjoyed my crocodile. Can't wait to go back. Fantastic staff & owners. Thanks guys.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing