We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice for a meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Zambezi

Cafe Zambezi
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, African, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Eat authentic Zambian and African food with the locals, enjoy Caribbean food including Jerk Chicken and Caribbean goat curry. Try our wood-fire pizza, gourmet burgers and extensive vegetarian options including our eggplant and haloumi burger. Get ready for the warm Livingstone hospitality and a good time in our candlelit leafy courtyard. Look out for our traditional dancing nights!! See you there!!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great choice for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We cfound Cafe Zambezi a great place for lunch and dinner. There is an broad menu (Zambian, African, Braai, Caribbean and Pizza) and even a better range of wine that you might find elsewhere in Livingstone.

We had the goat, the whole fish and the peri-peri chicken - all were very good, with large portions.

The outdoor area is excellent, including for groups, particularly at night. It is popular, so service cen be a bit slow when it is busy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mick3187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    246
    65
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Amazing food! Should definitely eat here at least once. I got the Thai chicken pizza here and it was so good! It is wood fire cooked and was delicious. I tried some other food here from friends and they were very good as well. I would definitely recommend the pizza here. The service and cleanliness was excellent as well. The only problem was that it took about an hour to get our food but we had a bigger than average group (8) so it ok. Overall, 5 circles!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Local Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed this restaurant so much that we ate there twice in our three day stay in Livingstone. The food was delicious and portions were large. I agree with some other reviewers that the service can be slow, but the food is worth the wait. We preferred sitting inside versus outdoors because of the ever present flies in Livingstone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really great food, really nice atmosphere and without a doubt the best waitress in the world (Nora, you are a legend!!) !
I would highly recommend everyone to go there and try the wide range of Zambian and other African dishes! This will certainly be the first place I go back to when in Livingstone again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solwezi, Western, Zambia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“croc!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

first of all, no one should be rating this restaurant 3 stars or less. Either you are really picky or you had a culture shock in foods and so you had diarrhea.

The food was amazing. The service was great. The atmosphere was nice. The only thing that needs improvement is that there are too many flies outside so maybe some fly traps would help. Even though the flies were annoying, it only brought the rating down to maybe a 4.9.. that's how good the food and service was. Thanks for the great food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zambezi also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Cafe Zambezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing