We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and guides!”
Review of Bundu Adventures

Bundu Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
White Water Rafting in Zambia
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Swimming Under Victoria Falls: Half-Day Tour
More Info
$150.00*
and up
White Water Rafting Half-Day Tour in Zambia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Zambezi River offers some of the best white water rafting available anywhere on the planet! We make sure the rafting is safe and a fun thing to do. We also offer Swimming under the Victoria Falls, where you go down into the gorge and view the Falls from below! Canoeing is the best way to see the wildlife of the upper Zambezi. On our rafting and fishing trip you have the chance to land the notorious Tiger fish (catch and release), while rafting the most challanging rapids. Our motto is: safety, fun and sustainability.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service and guides!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The guides who work with Bundu Adventures are among the best. As someone who has never been whitewater rafting before, it put my mind to ease to have this level of expertise accompany me and my friends on the rafting experience. They had good stories, pointed out interesting landmarks, and knew what to say whenever the waters got choppy.

The only thing I didn't really like is that they label the 'half-day' experience as being 6 hours long, which I feel is misleading. They picked us up around 8 AM, drove us to the start of the rafting area, and gave us a tutorial. That took up until 9:00 AMish, after which we had about a 20 minute hike down to the bottom of the gorge, where the river was. The rafting experience itself was only about 1.5 hours at most, but there was a lot of hike before and after (if you go on the full-day rafting experience, you can avoid the steep hike up to the top of the gorge that half-day rafters have to do). Over all, the experience lasted about 4 hours, including lunch time.

In the end, I would definitely recommend people to book these guys for a great experience - but know exactly how much time you're dedicating to this!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa F, Manager at Bundu Adventures, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for your review and glad that you enjoyed your trip on the Mighty Zambezi! Fact is that it takes half of the day to do the trip from rapid # 1-10, the rafting experience itself is about 2 hours on the river. The safety briefing, walk down the gorge, practising before the trip starts, hike out of the gorge, lunch and transfer back into town takes the rest of the half day. Thanks for your fair comment about that, I have updated our website accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    9
    2
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth every cent...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We did the half day afternoon trip. For anyone doing the half day you will need to walk/climb up or down some pretty steep terrain. But definitely worth it. There were numerous guides at different points through the day, but all made you feel comfortable and relaxed with what was happening.

If you can do the full day - do it. If not the afternoon was great with some level 5 rapids and the opportunity to jump in the river and go through some smaller rapids solo. I'd highly recommend jumping in if you get the opportunity, they won't let you do it if it is unsafe and there are a number of support crew in canoes in the water to help and guide you!

We did not flip as there was one particularly frightened person on our boat so the guide was extra careful and gave plenty of instruction on how to get through the rapid and what to do in case the boat flipped. He also reiterated this every time we were coming close to a hectic rapid. I've heard they will usually flip on purpose so if you are particularly terrified be sure to let them know.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siavonga, Zambia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will do it again!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What an amazing day! Went on the full day rafting, and for the swim under the falls. Now the swim, very scary but wow, standing under the water. The rafting was awesome, we flip once, at Nr 8, but our driver Stanley was very calm and made us all feel safe, but I must say, flipping is a must. Also swimming down some rappets, very nice!! Thank you Bundu for an awesome day!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EttieMilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes S, Owner at Bundu Adventures, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this positive review. We are very glad to see that our guests enjoyed the trips. The "Swimming under the Falls" is a great tour especially at this time of the year when the Falls are almost dry on the Zambian side , the White Water Rafing is also at its best during the Low Water season. Hope to see you soon again here on the mighty Zambezi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“What a thrill!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went for a day rafting on the Zambeze River. Great staff, good briefing and practice before leaving, felt very safe with good professionals! We loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank agnes t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battleford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wild, Wet and Adrenalin”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Expect to get wet and have a great ride. We flipped our raft, but the safety kayaks were right there to rescue the 'swimmers'. Generally well organized and raft guide was excellent. Good excitement for the money spent. Somewhat demanding as you have to hike down a rocky trail to get to the river. The trip back up is much easier as there is a cable car to hoist you back to the gorge top.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bundu Adventures also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 

Been to Bundu Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing