We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but below the standard of the other options in town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livingstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent, but below the standard of the other options in town.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This place is decent for young folks on a tight budget. The grounds are relaxing, with a pool and lounge chairs and periodic events, like Monday night movie nights, though it's a bit grungier than the other options in Livingstone. The communal bathrooms were cleaner than most hostel bathrooms, and the rooms were quite clean, except for the mosquitoes. The staff was quite helpful too.

Our biggest frustration was that there was no wifi available during our stay. Though internet access is listed as included on Hostelworld, it's not - they charge around US$2 per hour, in the unlikely event that it's available at all. Initially a staff member said it was because it was Sunday, and there's no wifi on Sunday. !@#? Then it was because cable office wasn't opened yet on Monday morning. Then they were out of vouchers for the rest of our stay. Wifi was included at the other backpackers lodges.

Second, the mosquitoes. The hotel grounds have more mosquitoes than we saw anywhere else in the Victoria Falls area, and the rooms don't have window screens or mosquito nets for the bed, so prepare yourself to be eaten.

Third, the airport shuttle only picks up from the airport, no drop-off, even though the listing says it includes airport transfers.

And finally, the walk-in price for a double was half the price of hostelworld ($10 per person, vs. $20 online). At the walk-in price, it was a pretty good value, but you get what you pay for. Fawlty Towers and Jollyboy's have nicer pools and grounds, more (and cheaper!) activities on offer, restaurants on site, and more. A restaurant on site for dinner would be especially nice because Livingstone Backpackers is on a dark back alley that feels dodgy after dark.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
20
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two months and it was my home away from home- the staff were wonderful and made me feel so comfortable. Bar was always a fun time and the pool is perfect for a bit of pool volleyball :) such a great location- walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars & town. I can't wait to come back! Would recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We spend 3 days here, the owner was a very nice British woman, who has a very nice place, the room was new build, nice and good bed, fresh, and no mosquitos, the showers and bathrooms outside was clean all the time, the bar and the pool are very good, surrounded by mangos, guavas and advocados trees, the price was excellent only 30$ for a night in a double bed. But internet was not free and the kitchen was in not good shape, only one fridge, full and not clean inside, and a microwave its necessary but don't have it. Nice place to stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alvferlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam Moshava
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Indeed it was my first impression of an African backpackers hostel. My son was already staying there, so it wasn't my choosing, but my first impression of it was quite good, although the dorm's rooms were as simple as possible.
I liked the calm atmosphere, the mango trees that kept dropping ripe fruites, the nice swimming pool (possibly better to look at, then actually to swim in), the open kitchen, and the friendly staff.
It was also quite conveniently located in a short distance from the center.
Overall, quite nice. Spent there 3 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OphirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall was very disappointed by this hostel:

- The rooms were very cramped and hot. Staff could not spare a fan for the first night so the room was baking. Even with the fan the room was still extremely hot.
- The water pump broke so there was no water for showering, toilets or drinking (advertised as being free) for 2 days. Sure these things happen but you can make effort to compensate through a discount, providing bottled water, complimentary drink...something?
- Nice pool and bar area however very difficult to track down staff to get a drink at times (there only seems to be one person working there at one time).
- The kitchen was GROTTY, the fridge hadn't been cleaned out in a long time.
- Wifi hardly ever worked. When you are paying for it I would expect the standard to be much higher
- Restaurant wasn't in operation at the time

Its a shame because the hostel has a really nice vibe and shared space but management just couldn't seem to get it together. Overall I would avoid and recommend Jollyboys instead

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This place was just exactly what we needed. Good location, decent rates and friendly staff....and it's got a bar! We stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. We were going to camp again but ended up staying in one of the dorms...a comfy bed for a change! At times on our travels around Africa we've felt a bit unsure about our surroundings however Livingstone was great (and the backpackers has 24hr security). The town has good bars/restaurants and there is loads to do. Diving with crocodiles and the rafting was fantastic. The guides even came back to the backpackers with us for a few beers! But the Vic Falls itself was truly amazing. You just have to see it for yourself.........I've read on tripadvisor that some people say that they got bitten by bugs and it was a bit dirty.....it's Africa!!! What did you expect??!!
If you're visiting Livingstone and the Vic Falls I fully recommend staying at the Livingstone Backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palu3115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Livingstone backpackers have a nice pool and it`s a good place to meet funny people. It`s great atmosphere in the weekends. Like some other reviews I had bug bites from the bed. So it`s not very clean.
Still the staff are friendly and the showers are nice. It`s a ok place but livingstone has a lot of great places to stay.
Also very cheap(around 10-14 $)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markusnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 17 in Livingstone
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 84 in Livingstone
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 84 in Livingstone
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingstone Backpackers

Property: Livingstone Backpackers
Address: 559 Makambo Road | Town Centre, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Livingstone Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Livingstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing