We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livingstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Karen & I had a fantastic time while staying at Livingstone Backpackers. Nothing was too much trouble for Dawn and her team. The food was very good and there was plenty of it at a very reasonable price. Great pool, climbing wall, hot tub and well stocked bar. Great cooking facilities as well as close by to local restaurants. Booked all out trips here as well and they were all value for money. Highly recommend white water rafting and the booze cruise - tho not at the same time!! Fantastic value, definitely stay here next time we are in Zambia - 2014 hopefully!! Tony & Karen XX

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
20
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My experience in Livingstone Backpackers was indeed a very good one. The place is a perfect base for venturing to the magnificent Vic Falls (there's scheduled transportation arranged), shopping for African art in the city center and just relaxing in the evening. Or partying hard, whichever you prefer. :P As the name implies, the place is primarily for backpackers, adventurous travellers on a budget, so if you're prepared to share your room, this is definitely your place. Livingstone Backpackers is nice, safe and affordable, so I warmly recommend it. :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Timo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

it's a very quite place with paying the same amount of money as in jollyboy's bkpk, you can get a four person's drom. as in jollyboy's for a 16ppl/dorm. Very quite and clean place.

Hot shower is hot. And the water is good. 7mins walk to the big supermarket Seal. Overall good exp.

Room Tip: Rooms are almost the same. Very simply but clean. The only thing is the mattress is not very comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasterJin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A couple of friends and I are backpacking from Cairo to Cape and we decided to give this place a try. We originally wanted to stay at Jollyboys but it was fully booked so we went with Livingstone backpackers. The good thing about this place over Jollyboys, which we got to see also because our friends were staying there, is the price. The price is cheaper and everything is about the same as Jollyboys. The room here is pretty good. No fan or mosquito net but other than that, everything was clean and we didn't have any problems with the place. The service was OK. The good thing was that they were very nice about moving us because the music next to the bar was too loud for us to sleep. The bad was when I was checking out, the lady at the service desk was just on her laptop telling me to ask the other guy about everything instead of helping me. The cool thing about this place is that it has a rock climbing wall, which was pretty awesome. This place is pretty happening too. On Saturday night, there was a bunch of people at the bar and everyone was having a good time. There is a pool also but the water didn't seem all that clean to swim in. The location of this place is very good. It is about a 5 min walk from the bus station and the mall (which has all the essentials and great restaurants). Overall, my friends and I had a great time here and would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in a triple room (actually quad but we split the cost so it was $13 each a night) -a couple of older backpackers and a young architecture student we met on the train from Dar to Mposhi. It's a fun place to hang out even if you are a bit older and the facilities are fantastic! We are volunteers in Arusha and being able to watch the Olympics on the big screen was great. The swimming pool and bar and the whole outdoor living "thing" works so well. The only worry I had was with the kitchen which is very small for the numbers using it and there were no signs around telling people to clean up after themselves-I felt so sorry for the ladies who had to clean up in the morning! The staff were lovely and very helpful though and I'd recommend this as a great base for seeing The Falls and participating in all the activities around.

Room Tip: It gets a bit noisy around the pool at night so if you are a "fowl" choose one away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeArusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a real value for money – I got a solo room near the pool which was basic but very clean. It has a double bed with mattress and duvet, electric fan, and a small side table. The shared bathrooms and toilets were always clean during my entire stay. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful – from security personnel to reception. All tours can be booked through the reception and they are very efficient even at the last minute! And for those who love to drink, there’s a bar by the pool with happy hours on Friday nights.

The place is at the center of town, very close to the Mosi O Tunya Centre (about 5-minute walk). The shopping center has Shoprite, Mobile network offices, souvenir shop, and a few places to eat (Ocean Basket, Hungry Lion, and a cafe). St. Theresa’s Catholic Church and Olga’s Italian Corner (serves really good pasta and pizza!) are just across the center . On the other side, it’s a 5-minute walk to the Livingstone Museum and Spar where you can buy groceries.

Room Tip: room near the pool gives a good view but may be noisy during happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 weeks as a volunteer and for a further 2 as a backpacker. The place is cute and the staff are amazing! Can't emphasise that enough. Spent most evenings at the bar chilling and chatting to staff and to the others who were staying there - all very friendly!
The place is kept really clean with workers constantly putting things in order. The facilities are great for making your own food, with a kitchen available for use at all times, including a fridge to pop your shopping in. There are also BBQ's available for use near the kitchen area.
The pool is really clean and the chill area is lovely around it, with an abundance of cushions and beds to make sunbathing a really comfortable experience : )
The place is really safe and security are on the gate 24-7. I would go back tomorrow if I could! Definately the best place to stay in Livingstone as far as I saw - wouldn't even have swopped it for the Royal! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmullenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 17 in Livingstone
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 84 in Livingstone
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 84 in Livingstone
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingstone Backpackers

Property: Livingstone Backpackers
Address: 559 Makambo Road | Town Centre, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Livingstone Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Livingstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing