We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homey place - just pack and go, leave the rest to Livingstone backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livingstone Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A homey place – just pack and go, leave the rest to Livingstone backpackers!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a real value for money – I got a solo room near the pool which was basic but very clean. It has a double bed with mattress and duvet, electric fan, and a small side table. The shared bathrooms and toilets were always clean during my entire stay. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful – from security personnel to reception. All tours can be booked through the reception and they are very efficient even at the last minute! And for those who love to drink, there’s a bar by the pool with happy hours on Friday nights.

The place is at the center of town, very close to the Mosi O Tunya Centre (about 5-minute walk). The shopping center has Shoprite, Mobile network offices, souvenir shop, and a few places to eat (Ocean Basket, Hungry Lion, and a cafe). St. Theresa’s Catholic Church and Olga’s Italian Corner (serves really good pasta and pizza!) are just across the center . On the other side, it’s a 5-minute walk to the Livingstone Museum and Spar where you can buy groceries.

Room Tip: room near the pool gives a good view but may be noisy during happy hour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
20
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 weeks as a volunteer and for a further 2 as a backpacker. The place is cute and the staff are amazing! Can't emphasise that enough. Spent most evenings at the bar chilling and chatting to staff and to the others who were staying there - all very friendly!
The place is kept really clean with workers constantly putting things in order. The facilities are great for making your own food, with a kitchen available for use at all times, including a fridge to pop your shopping in. There are also BBQ's available for use near the kitchen area.
The pool is really clean and the chill area is lovely around it, with an abundance of cushions and beds to make sunbathing a really comfortable experience : )
The place is really safe and security are on the gate 24-7. I would go back tomorrow if I could! Definately the best place to stay in Livingstone as far as I saw - wouldn't even have swopped it for the Royal! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmullenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed during my voluntary placement with African Impact. Our week day meals were all provided and to an excellent standard! Such a good variety. The hostel also had a pool and a lovely bar area with really friendly staff. I would definitely stay here if (hopefully when) I visit Livingstone again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We only stayed here for one night and it was comfortable enough. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, we were picked up from the airport at no charge which was a nice surprise. The backpackers itself was very quiet at night which is what we wanted however the local bar across the road played loud music until quite late but some earplugs solved that issue!

It was a very short walk to the supermarket which was very handy. I can highly recommend the pizza place down the road, we had great pizza for dinner here and it was perfectly safe to walk there and back.

it is really cheap and I am glad we had the room to ourselves by booking all four beds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiks_and_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This backpackers has all the basics: wifi, pool, bar, self catering kitchen.

The self catering kitchen is also used by the staff for their lunch and, with the equipment provided, you won't get much further than instant noodles.
We camped in their garden, and unfortunately there is a loud bar across the road (which is off course not the hostels' fault).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very nice place with pool. Great for backpackers.
Also I would like to thank them because I left my notebook in the room and I guessed about this only in Lusaka. So, the staff sent me my notebook with the closest night bus and I saved all my photobase.
I am very thankful to them for their honestness.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alavrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in December 2010.

The facilities are good, clean rooms with 2 bunk beds in each, nice pool, bar and climbing wall.

The only criticism is that it is very quiet (perhaps that is a good thing) and lacks a bit of atmosphere. Jollyboys seems to be party central in Livingstone, and we ended up going over there are evening fun. Not a bad option is to stay at Livingstone Backpackers and going to Jollyboys if you are looking for a fun evening with friends.

The staff are friendly and willing to help and all activities can be booked from the reception.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
5.1 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 17 in Livingstone
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 84 in Livingstone
389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#15 of 84 in Livingstone
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingstone Backpackers

Property: Livingstone Backpackers
Address: 559 Makambo Road | Town Centre, Livingstone, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Livingstone Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Livingstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing