We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabonina Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 31 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good vibes”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just the place needed to chill out by thr ppol and pick people s brains about Victoria Falls area. Pool good and staff friendly, with clean sheets & the usual amenities & good reliable recommended restaurants esp. the Indian!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    58
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
105
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mahlerific
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife, parents, and I stayed at Tabonina for two nights in mid-April. The guest house offered us clean rooms with great service, as we launched off into trips to Vic Falls and into Botswana's Chobe National Park (both on the "can't miss" list). Laurent was personally invested in our stay, guiding us to great local restaurants and helping us figure out the logistics of driving down to the Falls and into Zimbabwe or Botswana - which we opted against, on his advice.

The guest house has a great little pool and offers a serene, friends-backyard feel with its eclectic, but colorful flowers and trees. Breakfast was basic, but good, with guest house service courteous and well organized. The rooms were nice, with ample beds, TVs, and en suite bathrooms (though water pressure varied). One caveat for light sleepers: make sure you bring ear plugs, as the mosque down the road will issue the call to prayer around 5:30 a.m. We saw it driving in and knew what to expect, but that could be a jarring surprise!

All in all, Tabonina was a great place that we will revisit in future trips down from Lusaka.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahlerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect silver service but everything is done fast and with a smile .
The rooms are clean and tidy basic but with air con . We stayed in room 6 which has no tv but has a shower and a bath . Best rooms are 1&2 for pool access also have tv"s .
There is a self-catering kitchen & they will set up a BBQ for you costs about £1 . It's about 15 min walk into town try the 2 side streets before the main road.they take you through local markets and also better walk . Don't expect value for money in Livingstone all activities are very expensive . I would also recommend a taxi driver called obey as he was one of the best value & will leave you with a local mobile so you can call him .his number is in reception book .
A main point we found Livingstone a safe place to walk about

Yes I would stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Psm1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itezhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice. Best value for money in Livingstone. The self catering kitchen is well equipped and everything was clean. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. The kids all had a ball playing pool and the swimming pool was a hit. It's a bit out of the main town area so very quiet but well worth the money. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shesmoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Good choice to stay in Livingstone with very reasonable rate, nice pool and light breakfast included. Friendly safe guesthouse, a 15 minute walk to town. The owner knows all the best restaurants and it's a good base for couple nights before continuing on your African adventure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Londonboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed at Tabonina twice - the first time by chance (2 nights) and the second (10 nights over Christmas period)by choice. We found it to be clean, comfortable and relaxing. By itself, it does not offer more than the normal bed and breakfast, but as far as hospitality is concerned, it is NO1. Nothing could not be arranged - any outing, any meals in, taxis and airport shuttle. A beautiful pool and exceptionally friendly staff. and a host that was always around. The price too, is brilliant especially when compared to other accommodation in the area. would recommend to anyone where casualness is the prime requirement of the holiday.

Room Tip: There is not really room service as per se, but it can be arranged. Ask for rooms around the pool if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed 2night in this guesthouse.
I met was so kind staff and house owner.
I strongly reccomend who are looking for the calm and peaceful guest house.
It was The best accomodation during my trip.

Remarkable point.
Good staff
Cozy room
Good qulity bed
Cheap price

여행중 숙소 가운데 가장 합리적이고, 편안했던 숙소 입니다.
강추!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vex300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
260 reviews
5.6 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#8 of 84 in Livingstone
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#2 of 31 in Livingstone
173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabonina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Property: Tabonina Guesthouse
Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing