We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabonina Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tabonina Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 28 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This guesthouse is a surprising oasis in the middle of Livingstone. It has comfortable beds, showers that work, air con and cable TV (all of which are hard to come by in much of Africa). It also has a beautiful sparkling pool and extremely friendly/helpful staff.

We stayed two nights in October 2013 before going to Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe. I can say categorically that Tabonina's is significantly nicer than anything in the same price category there.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have a lovely outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    58
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
103
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed her for 3 nights with my 2 sisters. Great place and very friendly staff..
The place is a bit outside the main city center, but taxis are cheap and you can also walk.
Some ants in the bathroom, but come on.. it`s Africa;)

Very friendly, good breakfast, great value and clean rooms. I will definitely use them again :) There are many great guesthouses and backpackers in Livingstone, but this one might have the cleanest pool 

Room Tip: Wifi is beat near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markusnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are clean. Beds are great. I didn't gave any back aches and I suffer from them at hotels with bad mattresses. The grounds are well kept and secure. The pool is perfectly clean. It's a great place. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curbandgutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed two days at Tabonina and it was quite pleasant. The staff was very helpful and the owner, Laurent, is there as well to help you out and give information. The rooms are basic but the grounds are very nice. Different areas to sit down and relax or eat breakfast. Free wifi.
Nice place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arihonderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Tabonina is a very good lodging option for visitors to Livingstone. The rates are very affordable in comparison to other properties. The owner, Laurent, and his staff are very friendly, helpful, and responsive to queries. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The pool is nice, the wi-fi signal is strong, and cereal and toast for breakfast are complimentary.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 1, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cal776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in the most basic room. We could have stayed in a better room but didnt realise when we made the booking. The bed was pretty uncomfortable and the staff couldnt help us with the bookings (they just couldnt get what we wanted). The bad stuff aside. The rest was great. A really nice pool and the breakfast was amazing and Laurent (??) was so helpful. A great atmosphere and really well priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSKPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabonina, Owner at Tabonina Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. We would have wished your memory of Tabonina to be more positive though, as you mention that there was some “bad stuff”. You had booked our cheapest, and admittedly smallest, budget room (Zmw200/£24/€30/$40 per room/per night), which has its own large private bathroom, is air-conditioned and comes with mosquito net, tea & coffee facility and complimentary breakfast. If you had mentioned it us that you found the mattress to be not very comfortable, it would have been replaced within an hour, but kindly accept our apologies for the discomfort. The mattress was actually changed a few days after you stayed with us. As for the activities, we always try our best to ensure that our guests can do the activities they want while in Livingstone. We book them on a daily basis, both on the spot or in advance, as many reviewers have stated. But we are not the activity providers: it might be that the ones you wanted were not available on the day or at the time you wanted to do them. This is beyond our control if these activities are not booked in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Tabonina is a gem! We stayed there with my husband from 16 to 20 Sept. We had booked for 15 to 21, but had to cut our trip short because of other extenuating circumstances. Laurent did not make us pay for those days we unfortunately could not stay. The staff are always on hand, bright dazzling smiles always. Beautiful breakfast setup (Loved the toast). We even ordered English breakfast for an additional charge. It was super delicious, but it's too filling you will not be active for the rest of the day. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, absolutely refreshing atmosphere. Very quiet, but conveniently close to the town center. Their friendly staff, Laurent's warm attitude make this guesthouse a cut above the rest. I wish they also provided other meals too, lunch, dinner etc.

Room Tip: Our room faced the lovely pool, had A/C, dstv small bouquet for winding up a hectic day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
5.6 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zigzag B&B
Zigzag B&B
#4 of 28 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Green Tree Lodge
Green Tree Lodge
#5 of 84 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jollyboys International Backpackers
3.5 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabonina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Property: Tabonina Guesthouse
Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing