We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tabonina Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 30 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very nice and friendly”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Cosy, little guesthouse. The staff and owner are great. They help you with everything. Clean, friendly, relaxed and homefeeling. Nice pool and pooldeck with sunbeds. It is really good and safe. Freshly made mangojuice from their own mangotree. I would definitely come back. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    58
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
106
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heeg, Friesland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've been there 4 nights and we felt very much at home. I recommend this place to everybody who likes " a personal touch" Nice staff, slept very good, the swimming pool, a place to be! If possible, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My 3 friends and I spent 1 night at Tabonina. We were welcomed by the owner, Laurent, who's very friendly and spent quite some time explaining what to do in Livingstone, including the best bars and restaurants.
The rooms are clean and spacious. It really feels like a guesthouse, really relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibautrenren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Nazaire, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We are just back from our holidays in Livingstone, where we stayed at Tabonina, Laurent & Bronnah’s Guest House. We thoroughly enjoyed our few days there. It is very clean, relaxing and safe and above all great value. The bedroom (and the bed!) was comfortable. The free breakfast is nothing fancy but was sufficient and the fresh juice was really good. The owners and the staff were always nice and pleasant and helped us organize our activities. Ils parlent aussi francais !
We recommend the trip to Chobe and also rafting (quite an experience). The guesthouse is an easy walk from town centre (it doesn’t take more than 15mn). We felt very much at home and recommend this place to anyone going that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valroufie, France
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Laurent and Bronnah are brilliant hosts! They set up all of our activities--helicopter ride, sunset cruise and even gave us a ride to the airport. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. We loved the fresh mango juice with our breakfast each morning. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the pool was very nice. The pool area is a lovely spot for a glass of wine in the evening. Would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were in Livingstone for 4 days. This guest house was recommended by some friends of friends. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner and felt at home the whole time. We stayed in Chalet #5 which was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was offered every morning with fresh mango juice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you would like to go native, this is the place for you! We would recommend this guest house . . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mombo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights in july 2012 in room 1 as a solo traveler.

the rooms and facility are very basic, but has everything you need. the atmosphere was also very cozy and the premises felt safe (guard at the gate even at night). the bed was comfortable and there were two comforters which i appreciated because it was cold at night. there was a kettle for heating water for coffee/tea, fridge, cable tv, ac, mosquito net. loved the piping hot water in the shower. my only little complaint about the room: the wooden bathroom seat was a bit oversized and heavy, causing the cover to fall on your back every time you sit.

the staff was very friendly and let me use the kitchen to heat a bowl of soup. the cleaning staff is very thorough...perhaps a bit too thorough because i had my luggage sprawled on the table and floor but they tidied everything, folded my clothes and placed them in the closet. i found that slightly weird but i think if you are worried about privacy, you can just tell them not to provide you with this service.

i wasn't crazy about the free continental breakfast which included instant coffee, fresh juice, toast with jam/butter, and cereal. it would be a great addition to this cute place if a hot breakfast was provided especially since the guest house is not exactly close to town, you can't simply walk to another place for alternative breakfast options.

the hotel is quite a bit of a walk away from the town center. in fact, it was far enough that i never actually walked it myself. the owner laurent gave me a lift on the first day and i ended up taking cabs every other day. it was a bit inconvenient in terms of location, but the town is small enough that it's not that big of a deal.

what's great about this place is the value and the service. i have to agree with others regarding the hospitality. laurent was always helpful and can answer most of your questions about livingstone and tours you might be interested in. he suggested and helped me book the livingstone island breakfast and sunset cruise which were both great experiences. loved the complimentary rides to the airport, laurent didn't mind giving me lifts whenever he was free.

basically, if you are looking for luxury, then of course you would go for something like that royal livingstone. but if you are looking for a more personable and intimate experience and don't mind basic facilities, then i highly recommend tabonina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shudapnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
16 reviews
5.6 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,711 reviews
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 85 in Livingstone
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chanters Lodge
Chanters Lodge
#4 of 30 in Livingstone
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 85 in Livingstone
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabonina Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabonina Guesthouse

Property: Tabonina Guesthouse
Address: 3 Maisoko Road, Nottie Broad | PO Box 61284, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the Victoria Falls, one of the biggest wonders of the world, Tabonina Guesthouse is a secure, cosy and relaxing guesthouse located in the peaceful Nottie Broad area of Livingstone, only a short walk away from the town centre. Set in a beautiful mango tree garden, Tabonina Guesthouse consists of nine en-suite rooms and two non en suite rooms, with an ablution block nearby, a breakfast/dinner area, a sitting room equipped with large flat screen TV, a swimming pool, a gazebo with pool table for drinks and games, and a self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tabonina Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing