We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet in Livingstone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at Bushbuck for 3 days in October and it was perfect. Alan and Oriel are knowledgable and attentive hosts and the other folks staying at the time were good fun so we became firm friends during our stay, they definitely added to the good feeling we have about Bushbuck. Our stay was relaxing tho we also managed to fit a lot in - Livingstone island, Devils pool, river cruise, dinner train, visit to the falls and the Victoria hotel in Zimbabwe.
The visiting elephants where a highlight as was dinner in the boma.
Do leave plenty of time to just stay and enjoy the lodge while here, a morning or pm of relaxing will be long remembered more than an other excursion.
We felt very fortunate to be staying here in what felt like home and for the knowledge and expertise about Africa and the region that Alan and Oriel shared.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for 4 nights with friends and had the most wonderful time. It was very relaxing, which was exactly what we needed after 5 exciting Safari days at Flatdogs Camp. We loved watching the elephants being so close to the property - just at the end of the garden. Also Alberts food was delicious, his dinner was a real treat. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for two nights during September, and had a lovely time here. Alan and Oriel were very welcoming and helpful, and chef Albert produced some superb meals. Unfortunately the Ellies and Buffalo came through each day when we were out, but we saw plenty of other animals, including the bushbuck. Our trips were well organised and very enjoyable, but it was also good to get back to Bushbuck and relax. We hope to return some time in the future.
Diane & Phil, U.K.

Room Tip: We were celebrating our Golden Wedding, and our room had a lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Bushbuck River House is a magical place. I spent three wonderful days there and came away feeling that I had been given a very special gift. Or rather, many gifts: the gift of watching elephants feeding and resting by the river in front of the house, the gift of birdsong, of flowers, of exploring an island in the Zambezi, of a lovely, gentle green orchard, of a comfortable home in which to rest, relax and restore. But, most wonderful of all, I was offered friendship, kindness and hospitality. Alan and Oriel and great hosts: helpful and generous whenever I asked for anything, but also happy just to let me be me. My fellow guests shared great company, conversation and companionship. And Albert baked beautiful bread for me, prepared delicious fruits for me, and shared with me his stories and his wisdom.
I will always remember my time at Bushbuck River House as a time of gifts. Thank you, everyone, for making it so.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidcthaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. A haven in Livingstone away from the "tourists". Expect to wait before arriving back at the Lodge for the Ellies and Buffalo to clear a path for you. Oriel and Alan are extremely hospitable and provide a memorable African experience with their Boma dinners.
Albert is just too happy to make you food and takes great pride in his fare. A wonderfully relaxing place to stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a really lovely time here. Alan and Oriel have made the place really homely and comfortable, and chef Albert provides great homemade dishes with produce from their kitchen garden. We were here four nights, it was very hot outside but the overhanging thatch kept the house cool. Coming back to Bushbuck from excursions it was a delight to cool off in the swimming pool and relax in a shady spot enjoying the peace and quiet.

I shall never forget the battle of the guava tree when a herd of elephants came onto the lawn one evening. Most passed through but 5 young bulls remained and one was determined to eat the guava tree. Alan was equally determined to protect it so there was a tremendous battle of wills which Alan eventually won.

Alan organised a two night stay on the Chobe river at the beginning of our trip and all our
transfers to and from Botswana. Unfortunately we had to return to Livingstone Airport on our second day to collect our luggage that had failed to be loaded in Joburg. This meant that transfers to the border ferry, from the border to Botswana immigration at Kasane and our collection to join our safari houseboat all had to be re-arranged at short notice. We were very relieved that we had booked through Alan as he re-arranged everything and it all went smoothly.

Alan & Oriel are very professional and make everything as clear as possible. They organised a trip to the Zimbabwe side for us, a helicopter flight over the Falls, a trip to Livingstone Island and an elephant back safari. We enjoyed all the activities and I would recommend asking their advice as they know the operators, what the activities involve, when is the best time to do them etc They also organise safari trips themselves and are very knowledgable about wildlife, I know Alan has been a safari guide for 20 years. He was kind enough to take us on an early morning walk onto the islands in the Zambezi that are at the foot of the property. It was a magical experience.

Don't go if you want to be in the centre of everything or if you want easy access to shops. Do go if you want beautiful, secluded surroundings, congenial hosts and great food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newarkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Quiet, peaceful, secluded house just off the Zambesi River. Oriel and Alan are lovely, and took care of all details, make all the arrangements, and drive you to wherever you need to go, pick you up at the end and take you back to Bushbuck House. The dog is an extra delight, as are the 2 cats that are very friendly, but don't go inside at all. Dinners are wonderful. Albert, the Chef, makes wonderful meals. The Orange Ice desert is talked about several days later. The pool was still very cold when we were there, but some people went in and was very refreshing, as the weather is quite hot during the day in Sept. Nice to just relax in the chaise lounges around the pool in the shade too. So nice to have this quiet, relaxing place to come back to after a hot, tiring day in town, doing excursions, or Victoria Falls. Plenty of places to relax around the house, inside and out, aside from your room. The hide (tree house) is a lovely, peaceful place to animal watch and watch the sun set. The day we arrived, a heard of around 80 elephants wandered through, and Water Buck were always nearby. We had the tiny little twin room, which we chose because it is cheaper, but quite cramped for 2 people with luggage. Not a problem because we didn't intend to spend time in the room, although getting showered and dressed took some careful organization, just FYI if you chose this room. Coffee and tea service in each room. Breakfast is basically whatever you want, order the evening before and it is cooked to perfection for you. Coffee with breakfast comes in a French press. Lovely. Laundry service is also available for a very reasonable price. As the house only can accomodate 8 persons, and dinner and breakfast is eaten around large tables, who is also staying there with you can be a factor in how much one enjoys the stay. It's interesting to hear what the other guests have been doing and where they have been and are going. We had a very pleasant group sharing the house, so made dinner conversation enjoyable. Wish we could have stayed longer. Too much to see and do however to stay more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,809 reviews
8.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
7.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
10 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.2 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $184 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing