We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My type of Africa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. A haven in Livingstone away from the "tourists". Expect to wait before arriving back at the Lodge for the Ellies and Buffalo to clear a path for you. Oriel and Alan are extremely hospitable and provide a memorable African experience with their Boma dinners.
Albert is just too happy to make you food and takes great pride in his fare. A wonderfully relaxing place to stay. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a really lovely time here. Alan and Oriel have made the place really homely and comfortable, and chef Albert provides great homemade dishes with produce from their kitchen garden. We were here four nights, it was very hot outside but the overhanging thatch kept the house cool. Coming back to Bushbuck from excursions it was a delight to cool off in the swimming pool and relax in a shady spot enjoying the peace and quiet.

I shall never forget the battle of the guava tree when a herd of elephants came onto the lawn one evening. Most passed through but 5 young bulls remained and one was determined to eat the guava tree. Alan was equally determined to protect it so there was a tremendous battle of wills which Alan eventually won.

Alan organised a two night stay on the Chobe river at the beginning of our trip and all our
transfers to and from Botswana. Unfortunately we had to return to Livingstone Airport on our second day to collect our luggage that had failed to be loaded in Joburg. This meant that transfers to the border ferry, from the border to Botswana immigration at Kasane and our collection to join our safari houseboat all had to be re-arranged at short notice. We were very relieved that we had booked through Alan as he re-arranged everything and it all went smoothly.

Alan & Oriel are very professional and make everything as clear as possible. They organised a trip to the Zimbabwe side for us, a helicopter flight over the Falls, a trip to Livingstone Island and an elephant back safari. We enjoyed all the activities and I would recommend asking their advice as they know the operators, what the activities involve, when is the best time to do them etc They also organise safari trips themselves and are very knowledgable about wildlife, I know Alan has been a safari guide for 20 years. He was kind enough to take us on an early morning walk onto the islands in the Zambezi that are at the foot of the property. It was a magical experience.

Don't go if you want to be in the centre of everything or if you want easy access to shops. Do go if you want beautiful, secluded surroundings, congenial hosts and great food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newarkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Quiet, peaceful, secluded house just off the Zambesi River. Oriel and Alan are lovely, and took care of all details, make all the arrangements, and drive you to wherever you need to go, pick you up at the end and take you back to Bushbuck House. The dog is an extra delight, as are the 2 cats that are very friendly, but don't go inside at all. Dinners are wonderful. Albert, the Chef, makes wonderful meals. The Orange Ice desert is talked about several days later. The pool was still very cold when we were there, but some people went in and was very refreshing, as the weather is quite hot during the day in Sept. Nice to just relax in the chaise lounges around the pool in the shade too. So nice to have this quiet, relaxing place to come back to after a hot, tiring day in town, doing excursions, or Victoria Falls. Plenty of places to relax around the house, inside and out, aside from your room. The hide (tree house) is a lovely, peaceful place to animal watch and watch the sun set. The day we arrived, a heard of around 80 elephants wandered through, and Water Buck were always nearby. We had the tiny little twin room, which we chose because it is cheaper, but quite cramped for 2 people with luggage. Not a problem because we didn't intend to spend time in the room, although getting showered and dressed took some careful organization, just FYI if you chose this room. Coffee and tea service in each room. Breakfast is basically whatever you want, order the evening before and it is cooked to perfection for you. Coffee with breakfast comes in a French press. Lovely. Laundry service is also available for a very reasonable price. As the house only can accomodate 8 persons, and dinner and breakfast is eaten around large tables, who is also staying there with you can be a factor in how much one enjoys the stay. It's interesting to hear what the other guests have been doing and where they have been and are going. We had a very pleasant group sharing the house, so made dinner conversation enjoyable. Wish we could have stayed longer. Too much to see and do however to stay more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 very enjoyable days with Alan and Oriel at Bushbuck River House. Alan met us at Livingstone Airport and was our travel guide, grocer and taxi driver, imparting his knowledge and understanding of all things African. Oriel was equally helpful and quietly but efficiently looked after us. Albert, the chef, produced superb meals with guests dining communally under the African sky.

This is where we met missionaries from the TearDrop Foundation and we were enthralled and hugely impressed by their accounts of their time in Zambia.

If you wish very personal service and first rate food and lodging at a very affordable price, then look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

After a 90 min queue to get through passport control at Livingstone airport we were starting to wonder what the rest of Zambia was going to be like, but Alan was there to pick us up and on the drive to Bushbuck we knew we were going to the right place. If you are tired of the clean, busy and slighlty clinical hotel experience and want something a little more homely and personal then this is the place to go. As we arrived at the house gates a herd of elephants came rumbling by and this is another aspect that really marks this place apart. It is off the beat and track, right on the Zambezi river, where we saw a croc on the opposite bank and a hippo later in the evening - and we thought we were just comig to see the Victoria Falls! It was the homliness of Bushbuck that we really loved - a honesty bar, with snacks and drinks fairly priced. Do take Alan and Oriel's advice on what to do and what not to do - they really do know. Albert the chef is also to be commended, catering superbly for both my carnivore son and my vegetarian daughter. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingNewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A small lodge with outstanding hosts and a magnificent chef. The hosts also arrange local tours and will arrange for flights into and out of Livingstone. A bit out of the rush and noise, which for us was just what we needed. We stayed 9 days and enjoyed every bit of it. Evening meals were excellent, served family style. Organic veggies, grown on the property, as well as oranges and lemons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

You won't find a better location to stay on the banks of the Zambezi than here at Bushbuck River House. Wonderful hosts, Alan and Oriel also plan and organise safari itineraries. Alan's advice during the planning of our holiday was invaluable. Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Zanzibar - almost 4 weeks of seamless transfers with both Alan and Orial accompanying us to guide us, mid way, at Zimbabwe's Mana Pools where we camped on the banks of the Zambezi - an experience to cap anything we have ever done. We subsequently stayed at their Bushbuck River House which was perfect for visiting the falls. Livingstone's museum, though 'old school', is a must to learn more about both the famous explorer and the newspaper journalist. In all things a 5 star holiday.

Room Tip: Ignore the Fitness mark! I was unable to delete this item and there was no Fitness centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,809 reviews
8.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
7.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
10 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.2 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $184 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing