We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place a little out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 31 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maseru
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place a little out of town”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Absolutely lovely place to stay but the location, about 20 minutes drive out of town, makes it a little difficult to do anything off the cuff (although combination of taxis and Alan's very kind shuttling means that with a little planning this isn't an issue). Perfect for those seeking somewhere relaxing and in the middle of nature, with time to plan their days. A bit of a constraint for anyone who might want to just wander into town. Everything about the accommodation (food, rooms, helpfulness etc) is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    16
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my husband stayed with Oriel and Alan for a few days while we are at zambia. The food was awesome especially the desert. Alan & Oriel really made us feel at home and also helped us set up our iternary including booking all our activities for us. My most unforgettable experience at the house was getting up late in the night to watch the Hippos feeding on the grass. We had a wonderful time there and hope to stay there again if we ever come back to Zambia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wen689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I have had several holidays with Nomad in Southern African countries, sometimes with friends as well. All have been great successes. Alan and Oriel are exceptionally attentive and knowledgeable guides, not only on wildlife, but on geology, astronomy, local history and more, besides being thoroughly hospitable hosts at Bushbuck Farm where we have stayed on four occasions and which we whole-heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My son and I stayed at Busbuck River House for 5 nights at the end of August, after 4 nights in a hotel at the Falls and before a few nights in Chobe which Oriel booked for us. I wanted a real 'African' experience and certainly found it! As with the other reviews, the Bushbuck experience was outstanding on all levels. With all the emails going back and forth organising the trip, it was like meeting a friend when we finally met Oriel. Dining was a real pleasure; amazing food and the opportunity to meet like-minded fellow travellers. It was great to have purified water in both Bushbuck and our Falls hotel. They had a great selection of books to look through and we made particular use of their astronomy and bird books, in the evenings and wandering around the grounds. Transportation was also easy as Oriel (or Alan, when he returned from a trip) would either transport us where needed, using their own vehicles, or Bushtracks Travel organise all the local transportation in the area. I'm glad we actually stayed at the Falls for a few nights as we really did spend 5 days exploring the falls and river and generally taking in the stunning scenery. So it would have got very expensive and restrictive if we had been paying the daily park entrance fees (you couldn't exit and re-enter the park on the same day ticket). We did go back to the Falls for one day from Bushbuck - easy to do. Bushbuck was a perfect retreat where we had the chance to learn about life in Zambia and visit the nearby village. My son is inspired to go back to Africa next year to do a voluntary project experience and we will certainly use Nomad African Travel again if our holiday plans coincide with the places they offer. We would definitely return to Bushbuck if at all possible.

Room Tip: We had a spacious room with a double bed and a single in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAR971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed with Oriel and Alan for a few days in September this year and look back on our stay with the fondest of memories. We stayed in the beautiful main house in a comfortable double room, enjoyed swimming in the refreshingly cool pool and hanging out in a most wonderful setting. The food, especially the optional dinners, were the best we enjoyed during our travels in Africa

Bushbuck is excellent value for money and we would like to thank our hosts for organising all our activities and sharing their insights into local culture, a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Bushbuck River House. I was traveling with my husband and my parents and Oriel and Alan couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating. we felt so welcome and the accommodation and surroundings are absolutely stunning. We loved seeing elephants every day in the garden and sitting in the boma overlooking the zambezi to see what wildlife was out drinking at the river side. The food was fantastic and they even did some laundry for us while we were away in Botswana for a few days. They arranged all the activities we wanted to do and had an enormous wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area and Africa in general. I really can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bushbuck is a wonderfully peaceful spot on a large area of land on the banks of the Zambezi. We were lucky enough to see a herd of elephants bathing in the river just after we arrived so right from the start we had that feeling of really being in Africa. While having dinner one night we also saw a hippo munching away on the watered grass near the house. The rooms are small but beautifully decorated. The food is good and they have a reasonably priced honesty bar. On their excellent website there is a huge range of activities to choose from, which they can book for you. Really liked this as it was nice to already get an idea of the activities on offer in advance. We did a river drift and a microlight flight. Both were fantastic And last but certainly not least, the hosts Alan and Oriel are really lovely people, very friendly and knowledgeable. A very enjoyable stay and a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,681 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
387 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#7 of 17 in Livingstone
10 reviews
6.1 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 84 in Livingstone
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Property: Bushbuck River House
Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing