We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bushbuck River House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #2 of 28 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Bushbuck River House (May 2012) and it was the highlight of our 3 week holiday. It is not just a place to sleep, it is an experience. You can sit in the comfortable outdoor area and watch the Zambezi River along with all the amazing birdlife. Or mingle with the other guests while eating sumptuous meals. Alan and Oriel are UK expats who have created a warm and very friendly environment. They genuinely enjoy their visitors and are a great help in arranging activities (elephant rides, sunset cruises, etc.). Bushbuck is about 20 minutes outside Livingstone and transportation is not a problem - the owners will drive you into town or arrange for a taxi. Staying at the expensive 5 star hotels always feels a little fake with paid for smiles. Our stay at Bushbuck allowed us to connect with Zambian life, albeit in a comfortable setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spudrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
57
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Tucked away down a dirt road, with no sign to announce itself, lies Bushbuck, a wonderful peaceful retreat from more commericialized, less authentic options. Oriel and Alan were delightful hosts, very friendly, helpful with suggestions, but unobtrusive. We had some great dinners and conversations in the al fresco dining area. Breakfasts were great, too. We wandered around the spacious grounds and had a bottle of wine in the observation tower overlooking the Zambezi, watching the sun go down. We had one big day of touristy, but unforgettable experiences: an elephant safari at nearby Thorntree, a day marvelling at the Falls and getting thoroughly soaked (but dried off quickly), and a sunset cruise on the Lady Livingstone. I would recommend all three. A great place, unique and seemingly from another time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely two night stay with Oriel and Alan at their farm. All the reviews here are spot on and is one of the best places we've ever stayed at. We stayed one night in the house and another in the Orchard room, both were very comfortable and cosy. The dinners at night were very yummy, stuffed spinach leaves, salad, roasted chicken and veggies the first night and then a braii the second night, both delicious. The breakfasts were also great, made-to-order with items from a full english as well as pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. Oriel helped us organise all our activities in the area, which was very convenient as we only had to pay one bill at the end for everything (no faffing about and running to the cash machine like at some other places we've visited!) Wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The Orchard Room (upstairs) has its own balcony facing the river, but doesn't include an ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tishy_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

As many others, we chose Bushbuck because of the outstanding reviews on Tripadvisor. Well, after having spent 2 lovely nights at Alan & Oriel's, we could not be happier. 30 minutes away from Livingstone, just by the Zambesi river and beside the Mosi-ao-Tunya natural park, the lodge offers a unique sense of peace and tranquillity. The rooms are little but very cozy. The bed is so comfy and the blankets are so soft that it feels like falling asleep in a crib. And then the dinners (to be paid apart, but absolutely great value for money): simply wooow. Being an Italian, I'm quite picky with the kind of food that I eat... well, as the french would say: chapeau. From the grilled sausages to the tomato & basil soup, to end with those yummie desserts... after the great excursions to the falls, on the river or in the natural park, you would not have a better way to end your day. Frankly speaking, one of the best lodges ever. What I loved the most about this place is the passion that the two owners put in what they do. A real passion for Africa, a real love for animals and nature. I would definitively recommend Bushbuck. Thanks a lot!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scodazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Bushbuck lives up to all the great Tripadvisor reviews, and more! I can't say anything bad about it, only superlatives. The location is great -- near the borders of Botswana, Zimbabwe and Namibia -- close to Livingstone, yet out in the country, peaceful, beautiful, quiet. Oriel and Alan are just lovely. I still dream about Albert's exceptional meals, and all the staff are wonderful! I went on short notice (5 weeks?), yet Oriel was able to arrange everything including a trip to Botswana. She was very patient and kind, even though I was going crazy, being long overdue for a vacation! I alternated sightseeing with lying around reading, watching the birds, the river, the sky. Just, just beautiful in every way. The evenings were super relaxing, chatting with other guests, watching the sun go down, a nice drink, then... Albert's delicious food, more interesting conversation, then...comfortable bed, great sleeping! The linens are just dreamy...soft,beautiful, clean, comfortable. Great pets too, I love them to pieces! Personalities +++

So -- you can have all sorts of adventures in the area during the day, then at night relax completely in a beautiful place with NO worries about anything. Or travel all around the region, then come here to crash for a while before returning to the rat race. Don't even think about staying in the town, you will LOVE it here!!!!!!

I would go back in a heartbeat -- wish I were there right now! Hi Alan, Oriel, Albert, I miss you!!!!! xxoo, B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

There's something very special about Bushbuck River House, its part the wonderful hosts Alan and Oriel, part the beautiful property on the Zambezi and part because your'e in Africa! . We just spent a great weekend there and enjoyed every minute of it...it come highly recommended you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I can confirm everything that TravellingAussieD says about Bushbuck River House. It is a quality Zambian Sanctuary about 20 minutes drive from Livingstone which, in Africa, isn't very far at all. Alan and Oriel make up for the distance from town by arranging transport or driving guests to and from their activities (at minimal cost). Additionally, its a huge benefit being able to return to the peace and quiet of their safe homely riverside house after a busy day sightseeing or thrill seeking or visiting a local village. The breakfasts were excellent and freshly prepared and the evening meals were superb. (I understand that Albert the cook has had many offers of employment from guests!) I particularly enjoyed talking with Alan and Oriel over drinks or dinner about Zambia and their many travels in southern Africa. My en-suite room was very clean but simple with a high ceiling and a fan plus kettle and tea things. There are places to sit inside and outside to read or chat, a small swimming pool and a good value honesty bar which made for some cheery sundowner moments. And if you're full of tales of do and daring, but find yourself mysteriously alone, then the family cat and dog are willing listeners to your exaggerated exploits! I'd love to return to Bushbuck River House some day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AvalonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.4 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
8.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
7.8 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Property: Bushbuck River House
Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing