We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 31 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
TEXAS
Level Contributor
266 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Everything was perfect. A great place to start off our vacation. Food was so good that we ordered dinner there all nights. When I had an emergency, Orielle was right there to bring me back. They helped arrange all our adventures, so we had no worries there. Even the transportation was a blessing. There was no need for a rental. The property is precious, but the hosts are truly the best part of staying here.

Room Tip: Everyone seemed pleased with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VALENTINELADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    16
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
knysna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed here earlier this year during the 'wet' season. We arrived at the house after a somewhat exasperating experience crossing the border from Bots, wondering if we'd made an error of judgement. The only error of judgement was not to stay longer. What a truly accomplished couple Oriel and Alan are, veterans of African travel -they seem totally at ease in all they do and have created an oasis of authenticity here near Livingstone, when so may others offer a 'Disney' style African experience. Comfy welcoming accommodation, a farmhouse breakfast and relaxed evening meal in the boma, lovely riverside setting complete with visiting wildlife, and close to the falls -what more can you ask for? Oriel is a terrific cook, meals are affordable and we were lucky to have great company in the other guests as well! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debieKnysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at Bushbuck for 2 nights and were dreading the day we had to check out. The place was absolutely divine and secluded. Being on the edge of the river, we got to see a few hippos walking on the lawn one night which was awesome! You could even go for a walk around the area to search for animals but because we has already done a few safaris, we just relaxed in the pool and the lounge areas most of the time. Please note that the place is a fair drive from the main Livingstone centre but Allan was wiling to give lifts when/if required.

Allan and Oriel were just lovely. They were very friendly and excellent hosts, ensuring we were ok and that we were happy. Made us feel right at home.

The room we had was very spacious and clean and the beds were super comfy. Meals were to die for! We had breakfast and stayed for dinner both nights too. We also had lunch one of the days and they were equally as delicous. We couldn't wait to tuck in!

We also did a village tour thru Oriel which is highly recommended.

Overall, we loved Bushbuck. Whether you're visiting Livingstone to relax or take on a few tours, we'd definitly recommend this place. Thank you Allan & Oriel for a lovely time in Livingstone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I would like to thank Allan and Oriel for being good hosts to us, it was our first time in Livingstone but we were so comfortable in their, it felt like we are in South Africa. They are kind, warm and very friendly, I recommend this guest house to anyone going to the Vic Falls.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Bushbuck for 3 nights in September. We loved everything about it. The hosts Alan and Oriel were very friendly and accomodating. We had dinner with them every night. The food was wonderful, the company even better. They arranged all our trips for us. Make sure you visit the village school and Livingstone Island for a great view of the falls even during dry season.
Thanks for everything Alan and Oriel!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Bushbuck River House – it’s quite a gem! It was pretty far off the “beaten track” in Livingstone, which ended up being a major “plus” as it is quiet and relaxing, and you can really experience the “bush” and it’s wildlife from the yard. The first night we were there, we saw about 30 elephants cross the river right across from the house! The owner, Oriel, was extremely warm and accommodating during our entire stay. She picked us up from the airport (and dropped us off at the end of our stay), arranged our activities for us (including helping us with transports), chatted with us over dinner, and made sure we felt welcome. We ended up having dinner at the house all three nights – it was definitely the most convenient option, since we were so far from town, but it was a great option as the food was delicious and the surroundings couldn’t be beat. We’d definitely recommend Bushbuck to anyone who wants a quiet, personalized experience of Livingstone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent 2 seperate stays here and is was a dream to come back to!! Fantastic location on the Zambezi River, where we watched a herd of 30 elephant cross the river from their tree house! Hosts Alan and Oriel were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Food amazing - highly recommend lunch and dinner - cook Albert a star! I will be going back for sure!!! :)

Room Tip: Any rooms - all lush and peaceful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,657 reviews
10.0 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
9 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
382 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Property: Bushbuck River House
Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing