We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Bushbuck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Bushbuck for 3 nights in September. We loved everything about it. The hosts Alan and Oriel were very friendly and accomodating. We had dinner with them every night. The food was wonderful, the company even better. They arranged all our trips for us. Make sure you visit the village school and Livingstone Island for a great view of the falls even during dry season.
Thanks for everything Alan and Oriel!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vagabondes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at Bushbuck River House – it’s quite a gem! It was pretty far off the “beaten track” in Livingstone, which ended up being a major “plus” as it is quiet and relaxing, and you can really experience the “bush” and it’s wildlife from the yard. The first night we were there, we saw about 30 elephants cross the river right across from the house! The owner, Oriel, was extremely warm and accommodating during our entire stay. She picked us up from the airport (and dropped us off at the end of our stay), arranged our activities for us (including helping us with transports), chatted with us over dinner, and made sure we felt welcome. We ended up having dinner at the house all three nights – it was definitely the most convenient option, since we were so far from town, but it was a great option as the food was delicious and the surroundings couldn’t be beat. We’d definitely recommend Bushbuck to anyone who wants a quiet, personalized experience of Livingstone!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent 2 seperate stays here and is was a dream to come back to!! Fantastic location on the Zambezi River, where we watched a herd of 30 elephant cross the river from their tree house! Hosts Alan and Oriel were extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Food amazing - highly recommend lunch and dinner - cook Albert a star! I will be going back for sure!!! :)

Room Tip: Any rooms - all lush and peaceful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We started our holiday here and what a wonderful place. Situated on the Zambezi with elephants, buffalo, bushbuck and waterbuck passing through the grounds and birds galore. The food was delicious and Oriel and Alan knowledgeable and welcoming hosts. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

just spent the weekend at Bushbuck lodge-what an amazing place, excellent hosts, great food and expertly arranged tours.
thanks Oriel and Alan.
mario
cape town

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for only a couple of nights in August. Rooms are inside the hosts' house, and very comfortable, with good public areas, and a visiting hippo occasionally to be seen on the lawn. The location is outside Livingstone, but this doesn't much matter because Livingstone is in any event a sprawling town which you need to get around by car. Alan & Oriel run a good on-demand shuttle into Livingstone, and Oriel produces excellent home cooking in the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed with Oriel and Alan for two nights from 23 August and had the most fantastic time. After corresponding with Oriel by email, when we met it was like meeting old friends. This feeling prevailed throughout our stay as they were very accommodating and willing to share their knowledge and conversations with us. At Bushbuck you really are cocooned in their house as one of the family; never isolated.

We met some interesting guests over the evening meals (that were a credit to Oriel) which were relaxing and comfortable. The conversation was kept going and all were encouraged to join in. The boma is situated next to a creek where there are crocodiles and we heard the rumble of an elephant stomach close by and some sort of owl that the other guests got very excited about.

Being about 16 kilometres out of Livingstone we relied on Alan to get us around and he was always obliging. He gave us his views on current affairs and history as well as offering suggestions for things to do. I think he may have even arranged for the rules to be bent a little concerning the weight limit on the micro-lite flights which was a truly exciting experience. He also suggested we take a trip to Livingstone Island which enabled us to stand on the edge of Victoria Falls; a 110metre drop to the gorge below and sit in a rock pool! Then we had a beautiful cooked breakfast under canvas overlooking the falls – magnificent!

The wildlife is abundant with elephants trekking past the hide, harry hippo on the front lawn, monkeys and baboons and we even heard a lion roar along with a hyena. We never felt threatened as Shumba, their lion dog, kept guard – actually he’s a big softie.

All in all a great stay, at a great place, with great people and we can’t recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The studio rooms don't have ensuites so ask for one in th e main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
10.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,809 reviews
8.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
7.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
10 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
1.2 mi away
Thorntree River Lodge
Thorntree River Lodge
#7 of 18 in Livingstone
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $184 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing