We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the effort to walk down and of course back up the 600m path. Watch for the baboons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Devil's Pool

Devil's Pool
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.65*
and up
Victoria Falls Walking Tour from Livingstone
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is very little information about this attraction, and it has been listed as an internet hoax, but it is a genuine attraction and it is accessible through the company 'Tongabezi' at the Royal Livingstone Hotel in Zambia.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort to walk down and of course back up the 600m path. Watch for the baboons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Walk to the top of the Falls and get a soaking on the bridge but them dry out with a walk down to the Pool. Different perspective of the Falls with wonderful photo opportunities. Wonderful plants in gorge; great sightings of hornbills. Visit the craft market at the car park. Exciting haggling opportunities await you. Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    115
    32
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Scary as hell - make sure to have more than one guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place which is accessible only when water levels are low is a must see if you are there at the right time. The pool is relatively safe to get to (several ropes in the water - and relatively safe to swimming). And it is quite an adrenaline rush to look over the edge.

The trip is bundled with a big colonial breakfast - expensive but ok.

We had a bad experience with our guide and didn't get any photographs of our experience. We had brought a waterproof case, but didn't take it too the edge as we did not know what we could and could not do (were a bit scared of the 100 m drop). At the edge I asked the guide if I could get the camera - and he said to wait -and I did. And then we suddenly had to leave.

My advice:
Ask to have more than one guide - most groups do. One keeps you safe at the edge, the other snaps away. All other people we met had tons of GREAT photos - so we were probably just unlucky.
TELL your guide you want photos - and bring the camera to the edge (if its waterproof).
We were too scared to jump in the pool - and regret it a bit...
There are fish in the pool that nibble your leg and feet - that adds to the experience ;)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAddictDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inhambane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a bit touristic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

we loved devils pool its magical , but the trip is a bit a PAIN , because they are always rushing and telling you what to do !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BPerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"Living On The Edge"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A once in a lifetime experience. If you are visiting Victoria Falls and are open for adventure then definitely head over to Zambia for a dip in the Devil's Pool. It will give you a new found respect for the dedicated hard working guides who literally risk their lives every day (and some who have lost their lives) so that we tourists are able to experience the beauty of the falls from this perspective while keeping us safe!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“life on the edge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

A must visit place. live life on the edge of the falls. I was nervous but loved every minute of the experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marshal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Pool also viewed

Livingstone, Southern Province
Livingstone, Southern Province
 
Livingstone, Southern Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Devil's Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing