We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, good restaurant, a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olga's - The Italian Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

the place is very nice, rooms are modern with local material for furniture, simple but complete. Everything we needed for a good stay.
Restaurant is very nice. Service a bit unequal: some things came VERY fast, others we had to wait quite a bit, in the evening, but very good overall.
Only disadvantage, but not keeping us away for next time: it is a bit noisy, by being close to the main road with a bit of traffic early in the morning. Bring ear plugs if you are noise sensitive and it will all be perfect!
Breakfast is also very nice.

Room Tip: Family room comprising 1 double and 1 single bed are very good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhpredhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Olga's - The Italian Corner
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 109 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely guesthouse. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean and the staff are very friendly. There are tea/coffee making facilities and the breakfast was included. The English breakfast was nice. We also tried the pizzas one evening and they also were very nice. The only downside is there is a church very nearby and so when the bells ring you are definitely awake! Being a church this tended to happen early morning. There was also a trainline and other traffic nearby adding to the noise levels. That said, I would still recommend it as a good place to stay/eat.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 2014Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I searched high and low for reasonable priced accommodation in Livingstone centre. This place was a little gem in the centre. The rooms were very cool considering how warm it was outside. It had good wifi in the main part of the hotel The attached Italian restaurant was lovely, with good value food. The coffee was lovely. Downside-activities were expensive and the whole of Livingstone seems to run a cartel on these. Be aware of overcharging on exchange rates everywhere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I wish there was a rating in-between "very good" and "average." Olga's is not "average" by any means, but I could not rate it "very good" - although with a few improvements, I think it could be excellent.

First, the good. My room was spacious and spotless. There was a ceiling fan which kept it cool. The bathroom was clean, the shower was a built-in tiled shower with a seat. Towels were fluffy and big, bed was comfortable. There was a room safe. Staff was unfailingly pleasant, although at times less than helpful. Breakfast was included...choices were toast and jam, crepes or an "English" breakfast - no cereal, yogurt or fruit on the menu, although the juices were good. First time I ordered coffee, I got instant...seems that is the default unless you specifically request brewed coffee.

Now...on the more negative side. The place is VERY noisy. It is on the street and next to a church which rang bells at odd hours. And the row of rooms faces the restaurant, which plays music (quite loudly) well into the evening (at least 10:00pm) every night. The common room, which is where you can get WiFi, was dark and almost unbearably hot and stuffy. When I mentioned this to one of the staff and pointed to the ceiling fans, she indicated that they did not work. Even a couple of box fans to move the air around would have helped. As it was, it was not a nice place to sit and relax.

There seemed to be a shop as part of the common room, but it never seemed to be staffed and the place was so dark it was difficult to see the merchandise. The service in the restaurant was quite slow, especially for breakfast; which was inconvenient when I was being picked up for a tour. (I was there at 7:15am for breakfast and still did not even have my coffee at 7:40!)

There were no toiletries provided and no water glass...just a cup for tea, with an included hot water kettle. The shower head in my bathroom gave out only a trickle of water. It seemed like it might do better if the stream was adjusted, but the shower head was up so high that there was no way to reach it (even standing on a chair!)

There was an "activities desk" where there was supposed to be someone to help with bookings and suggestions about tours and excursions. However, the person who helped me, while very nice, was not able to provide much assistance and ended up telling me that "I should continue to try to contact the tour on my own." (Something about not being able to organize transport, which was strange, as all the tours provide transport!) I am not sure she understood what I wanted and she certainly offered no suggestions. I had expected that there would be some brochures or materials about tours or ideas of things to do in Livingstone and there was nothing.

The WiFi was a bit dodgy and faded in and out. There is no pool, but there is a garden with a picnic table to sit at, which is shady and cool - but borders the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very affordable rates for exceptionally clean and neat rooms. Friendly, welcoming staff. Breakfasts were fantastic! Their restaurant offers great Italian food. Secure parking available. Staff were so helpful in suggesting activities and very willing to make arrangements on your behalf. I can highly recommend Olga's :-)

Room Tip: The rooms in the corner will be quieter as Olga's is located on a busy road.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esme v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We came here after a couple of nights at Jollyboys and wished we'd come sooner. For about the same price as a double room with bathroom there, we got a spacious and pleasant room with a beautiful bathroom. The beds are big and comfy, rooms cool and quiet. The thatch roof makes it really nice. Showers are great, and you get samples of the handmade soaps sold on site. Free delicious breakfast, and the other foods at Olga's are amazing as well. The guesthouse, restaurant, and shop all benefit at-risk youth programs in the city, so your money is well spent. Great little gem!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mieldelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Superb rooms. Spotless. All new. Fabulous restaurant. Friendly staff.
Love it. So close to the falls and the parks. We moved here from waterfront which was the opposite kind of experience at 4 times the cost of Olga's. All the rooms are equally lovely and the coffee is the best coffee south of Cairo.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank carlotortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 18 in Livingstone
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
273 reviews
5.0 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.1 mi away
Fawlty Towers
Fawlty Towers
#4 of 86 in Livingstone
407 reviews
2.5 mi away
Victoria Falls Waterfront
Victoria Falls Waterfront
#14 of 86 in Livingstone
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olga's - The Italian Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olga's - The Italian Corner

Address: 20 Mokambo Road, Livingstone, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $58 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olga's - The Italian Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olga's the Italian Corner is the final stage of an educational project for the most vulnerable youth of Livingstone. It opened in 2008 as a production unit in support of YCTC (Youth Community Training Centre), a certified school built by the Diocese of Livingstone and CELIM (an Italian NGO). All Olga's profits go to YCTC which provides training in catering, tailoring, plumbing, electrical, metal construction, computer studies and bricklaying to orphans and vulnerable youth. Most of Olga's employees come from the YCTC's catering course, which results in the project being self-sustainable. Olga's is located in the center of Livingstone and only 9 kilometres far from the famous Victoria Falls, easily reachable with minibus or cab. It is 15 minutes far from the airport and walking distance from the main attractions of Livingstone: bars, travel agencies, shops, museum, grocerystore, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Olga's - The Italian Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing