We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service.”
Review of Green Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Tree Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great personal service.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed in one of the chalets for 4 during a business trip. The overall atmosphere is peaceful and quiet. Andrew went out of his way to make sure that we were well taken care of (he even managed to get a pot of coffee going when the town's electricity went out one night).

The free wifi was not working so we had to use 2hour vouchers to get online which was not ideal.

All and all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatispeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    49
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
103
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you want somewhere a little different this is the place for you!!! You dont really need to leave as the food and suppountings are so lovely!! Lovely clean rooms comfy beds and friendly owner what more could you ask for????

Room Tip: All rooms are in a private enclosure so cant see why any would be bad!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank char-n-rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Green Tree Lodge, run by British expat Andrew and his Zambian wife, Vickie, was the perfect place for us to stay before starting our overland trip. It has five individual chalets, complete with ensuite, for US$60 a night, which is a very reasonable price by African standards. Breakfast was included. Andrew has a background as a chef, and will prepare lovely homestyle lunches and dinners that won't blow your budget.

It is a 15 minute walk, or $5 taxi, to the main shopping street of Livingstone.

Unlike some of the other lodges, the clients aren't the typical 20-something, party hardy group. It is the perfect place for some quiet time to catch up on sleep and reading. There is an outdoor pool and seating area.

Andrew went above and beyond when he picked us up at the airport and dropped us off at the camp on the Zambezi River where were meeting our overland group. The Green Tree Lodge gets two thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-R-Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borlange, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have spent in Green Tree Lodge 4 nights Wonderful place to stay close to Victoria fall. Run by experienced Englishman one can find everything one needs to for pleasant stay. One gets all possible help to enjoy not only staying but even to visit all places of interest.

Thank you

Alexander and Ivana - Borlänge Sweden

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

lovely peacefull oasis in livingstone away from the centre of town, although you can walk it quite easily if its not too hot. nice chalets and good food from excellent hosts who are very helpfull in organising trips etc 15 mins by taxi to vic falls

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have spent in Green Tree Lodge two relaxing days. The lodge was for me like a green oasis in the yellow city Livingstone. Here you can be hidden from the midday heat (We were in Zambia in winter, but the midday temperature was more that 30 Grad) and swim in the pool. The area is quiet, only guinea fowls in the garden were breaking the calm. The rooms are small but nice and clean. In Green Tree Lodge we contacted interesting guests who are great fans of this lodge and come here practically every year. The reason for this fanaticism is not only the lodge. The main reason is the owners of Green Tree Lodge. Andrew and Victoria are really fantastic. They booked some activities for us, picked us up from the airport and were very attentive. Andrew cooked for us magnificent and tasty dishes and told us interesting stories about the life in Zambia. We really enjoyed it. Enjoy you too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Green Tree Lodge i January 2012 and had a very pleasant and relaxing stay.It is in a residential area but close to the town centre and have their own "gem', John who is their taxi driver. The previous owner was sick and there is a change of ownership. Andrew and Victoria Everone could not do enough for us and there are obviously improvements being made We found it very comfortable, friendly, relaxing, loved the garden and the animals
As a first time visitor to Zambia I would certainly suggest a stay at Green Tree Lodge and think it would be an ideal place to stay for a single traveller.
I would certainly suggest a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
1.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
16 reviews
5.7 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
13.1 mi away
Camp Nkwazi
Camp Nkwazi
#10 of 85 in Livingstone
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tree Lodge

Property: Green Tree Lodge
Address: 2015 Kombe Drive, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Tree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Tree Lodge is located on the outskirts of town, only 10 minutes from the Victoria Falls and 3 minutes drive from the town center.FREE airport and Bus transfers are available on request in Livingstone. The lodge consists of en-suite, detached, air conditioned chalets, now with Family chalet able to sleep up to 6 in a peaceful, shady grove of tropical fruit trees. B&B room rates include a full breakfast, with other meals to order. The bar and pool is for the exclusive use of residents, ensuring privacy and security.There is 24 hour security and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Green Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing