We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Great 2 night stay. Lovely setting, excellent staff & food. Looked after very well by Gail & team. Trip to the Falls was amazing, but we also enjoyed he laid back ambiance of the hotel ....

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jstNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    31
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
209
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Set in a wonderful garden at the beaches of the Zambesi River, staying at Waterberry Lodge was simply a wonderful, relaxing experience. Kevin and his team made about anything to make me enjoy this stay, organizing all activities at an extremely personal level. They simply made everything happen.
Food is at a very good "home-style" cooking level, excellent meals (I though wouldn't recommend taking their sandwich lunch pack to the Falls, but only as you'll for sure will be attacked by very aggressive baboons).
Though the lodge itself is pretty far out of Livingstone, this did not come up as a problem, as Livingstone town itself is only of limited interest, and strolling through the streets doesn't take more than 45 minutes. They however happily drop you in town while being on any tour transfer, so you easily can stroll through Livingstone as long as you like (note: the Falls also are 6 km out of Livingstone, so it's not just "across the street").
On the other hand, one of the most remarkable experiences at Waterberry is their offer to walk to one of the local non-tourist villages nearby with a staff member who lives there. This is an incredible, not-to-be-missed adventure as it gives a glimpse into real rural life in Zambia which simply cannot be experienced when staying in Livingstone itself, though some travelers will need to cope with sort of a "cultural shock". But this trip shows how people in Zambia really live, away from the tourist areas, and I highly recommend to include this walk to any itinerary.
Sum it up, a really very special place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Beautiful location, excellent food, lodges clean, spacious and comfortable. Kevin and his staff really went out of their way to make sure we did all the activities we wanted to - definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeepot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I recently stayed at Waterberry Lodge with my 23 year old son on one of our annual "boys breaks" I had relied on an African travel specialist to book the Lodge having previously spent 6 days on safari elsewhere in Zambia
We were both absolutely delighted with Waterberry.The grounds and layout are charming and it has an enviable location right on the banks of the Zambezi.Our room was very cpmfortable with hot water bottles being placed in our beds during the winter evenings-not that it was very cold.The set meals were delicious and pre dinner drinks took place round an open "camp fire" on the lawn.
Above all, the welcome we got from Kevin, the assitant manager and his staff made our visit even more special.Nothing was too much trouble.Quite honestly,the Lodge may be said to be a little way out of Livigstone,but it is not that far really and the drive is quite interesting.We were driven to all our various trips by hotel staff who were always on time and waiting to take us wherever we wanted.
In fact our 2 whole days were planned meticulously by Kevin.
Watervberry offers a number of activities.Dont miss the sunrise and sunset cruises which were spectacular.On one evening when we literally "missed the boat"-no pun intended, Kevin took us out personally on the speed boat which was brilliant.
We would thoroughly recommend Waterberryt o anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comeonyouspurs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlb372
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Waterberry is truly a place that caters to your needs and interests in a totally personalized way. The staff there are extremely dedicated and kind, and they make the the lodge an incredible place to be. From delicious three-course menus (accommodating different dietary needs) to the campfire nightly to the traditional bush dinner, this place is well worth the price and more. I'd without a doubt recommend it to any person who wants to do a trip to Victoria Falls and a safari in Botswana (Waterberry can help you book both). The location along the Zambezi is absolutely stunning and you'll feel like you're in your own world here. You'll be so happy you chose this hotel over any other.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlb372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I and two grown up children stayed for 4 nights in April - it was wonderful - great service, lovely people and so quiet and calm, super food too!
The men enjoyed fishing with Webster, whilst my daughter and I walked, swam and sunbathed. A beautiful retreat - having visited the Falls - the volcanic ash meant we had an extra night - fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddyBolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellitlikeitwas
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We were worried that we would find it a problem being a few miles outside Livingstone but our driver, Morrison, was always on hand to drive us wherever we wanted to go. Our beautiful little hut by the Zambezi was just like a little Hobbit house, only a few feet from the water; we could hear the hippos roaring in the river as we sat on our patio. The view from our bed was amazing. Gail, the manager, and Kevin, the assistant manager, were extremely helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. I requested no meat and they happily offered me fish instead - even for the traditional bush dinner which they hosted with a local chief one night: no chairs, no cutlery - fashion your own 'spoon' (not very successfully) from a lump of maize dumpling. It was great fun and very humbling to learn a little of the local culture. Go to Waterberry Lodge before everyone else discovers it.; it is so much more fun than staying in a hotel in Livingstone!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
4.6 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
394 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,711 reviews
14.3 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
329 reviews
14.2 mi away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterberry Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Property: Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Address: Old Constantia Farm | Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, family-friendly lodge in the heart of the wild on the banks of the Zambezi. Good food, lovely en suite rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Come here and enjoy river cruises, fishing and birdwatching plus all the activities around Victoria Falls, or just sit back and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterberry Zambezi Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing