We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$784
$636
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$302
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
$997
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
$183
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
$759
$599
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
401
32
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
32
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cruiselocal villagethe rivervictoria fallsfree laundry servicecommunity schoolisland picnicknowledgeable guidesafrican adventurepre schoolhelicopter tripvillage lifeperfect endopposite bankother guestslivingstone islandfirst stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 436 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My daughter and I recently spent two nights at the Waterberry Zambezi lodge. We had a fantastic time, the accommodation was lovely, the food excellent and the staff very friendly and wiling to meet our every need. Many of the staff were relatively new but we had assumed they had worked their for years because their knowledge of the area and customer service were excellent. We particularly loved Webster, the guide who took us on sunrise and sunset cruises. He was very knowledgeable and mixed a perfect gin and tonic! Our trip was made by a helicopter ride over the Victoria Falls - totally spectacular and arranged for us by the lodge. We would definitely stay here again and recommend Waterberry to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V15L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A wonderful place to stay, on the banks of the Zambezi river, very peaceful and relaxing. Top class clean accomodation in individual lodges with first rate food at the outside dining area. The complete cohort of staff are very friendly and will bend over backwards to accomodate individual requirements. Lots of trips available with Waterberry's own drivers - a must is walking on the top of Victoria Falls from Livingstone Island. Another 'must' is to visit the local villages and school which are sponsored by Waterberry - a real eyeopener, fascinating! A stay at Waterberry is a great stress buster - sitting near the river with a drink listening to the sounds of hippos, elephants and more, or relaxing by the pool. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

A great place to stay upstream on the Zambezi. Not too far from the Falls and transport in and out provided. Accommodation is in thatched lodges which are lovely and beautifully furnished. The grounds are immaculate, as is the service and hospitality. The food was the best I had in Zim and Zam with Moses the Chef cooking special veggie meals for me-although I think all the carnivores were very happy too. A beautiful pool, well kept and very clean, as was the lodge. Great views to the Zambezi and in peaceful surroundings with cruises out on the river to see some animals (it was the green season so not too many) but lots of birds and beautiful sunsets with canapés, G&T's and wine. Visits to "real" local villages and schools which was great to do. What could be better. Followed by a lovely dinner and drinks around the fire. They also help the local community, which is good to know. I highly recommend it and would stay again.

Room Tip: they are all lovely
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

After spending a magnificent holiday 2011 at the Waterberry Lodge, I came back with my family to try out the new River Farmhouse which was built in close vicinity to the Waterberry Lodge.

What is already accomplished at the Waterberry Lodge is taken to perfection in the Farmhouse. The building combines the luxurious contemporary comfort and charm of its natural surrounding yet on a top level without spoiling the traditional and regional input. The whole setting seems to belongs exactly at that beautiful spot at the river banks of the Zambesi River.

There are dozens of things worth mentioning, starting with the big five ;-)
- House is designed to host a group or family of max. I guess 8. This is your private retreat without other guests.
4 Bedroom each located in the house corners and therefore named after the cardinal direction. Each room is unique furnished and has its own bathroom. The shower is marvelous!!
Since you do not only stay in your room, you find yourself spending a lot of time on the terrace: on modern lounge style furniture you sit with a breathtaking view overlooking the Zambesi. You should take you binoculars and you can watch while sipping you tea elefants, girafes and hippos and the river banks. (IMHO: The noises the hippos make are as soothing as whale songs.)

- The food: I gained weight. No need to go further.
No kidding: Food is excellent. The Farmhouse has its own kitchen and the designated cook prepares the meals. It starts out with a various breakfast in the sun beside the pool and goes on until a yummy desert after dinner.
My tipp: Get surprised, do not interfere. It will be very good.

- The Pool: You can have a pool and you can have an infinity pool. At the Farmhouse it is the latter. First of all - you do not expect it. Second - if you do not dare to jump into the world famous "Devils Poll" at the Victoria Falls, this is just as good and far less dangerous. Look at the picture, it is stunning.

- Activities: You will find a book with all kinds of activities. From romantic (Evening cruise!!!) to adventurous (Under the spray !!!) and all kinds of things in between. The staff will give advice in order to get the best tours for you and your family.

- Save the best for last - the Staff: The reason we are coming back to this lodge is the crew that keeps the Lodge and the Farmhouse running. I deliberately do not name any of them, b/c I could forget one and that would be a shame. The whole team - from kitchen, to maintaining, showing around, driving, management - they are perfect because they are for real. You do not find unnatural trained behaviour - you get genuine friendliness and hospitality.
Yes, you are a guest. But during your stay, they make you feel special.

Put simply, perfection is a blend of various features and not just a check on a list. That perfect blend you'll find at the Riverfarmhouse & Waterberry Lodge. I will definately come back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NL1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Waterberry was recommended and booked for us by Audley Travel in UK as a chance to relax following 2 safaris in Botswana. After an 8 km drive down a bumpy dirt track I was beginning to wonder where we were going (and would we ever return!). However we were warmly greeted by Charmane (apologies if spelling error!) and the sight of lush green grounds with a swimming pool beckoning. We were shown to the outside dining and lounge area for a welcome drink and a spectacular view of the Zambezi river.

The rooms are individual 'huts' with all the facilities required, including ceiling fan and air con, clean and comfortable.

Ours was an 'all inclusive' package which, as well as all food and drink, included various activities such as sunset river cruise, visit to Victoria Falls, visit to local village and school. There were also optional extra activities (to be paid for) such as helicopter trip, visit to Livingstone Island, which they were happy to arrange on our behalf.

We spent the first day 'doing' Victoria Falls and our last day doing nothing - Waterberry Lodge is perfect for doing nothing. Beautiful grounds and very peaceful - with the Zambezi flowing by and occasionally, you could see elephants having a splash on the other side of the river!

If you do visit Waterberry DO do the village and school (which Waterberry sponsor) trip. Very interesting and the kids are enchanting. They rush up to you shouting "photo-photo" as they want you to take their photograph (see attached photo). All smiles and if you're lucky they'll do a dance too!

Food excellent and all staff very friendly and helpful. Hint - DON'T have the local 'beer' made from maize. Weird stuff! The proper beer 'Mosi' is fine however.

A wonderful way to end a hectic 2 weeks in Africa. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 'Swallow' is closest to Zambezi with stunning views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews