We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good lodge in a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good lodge in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is great place to locate oneself to explore the many attractions in the Livingston area. The cabins are comfortable and well equipped and the standard of service is first rate.
It is a shame it is quite as far from the falls as it is but that one failing can be forgiven as it is an excellent resort.

The boat trips and excursions are well organised, particularly the bespoke falls trip.

Food is of the highest standard, you won't lose weight here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langham1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    30
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
190
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I booked a safari holiday with Yellow Zebra tour operators, but wanted to spend a few days in Livingstone to visit the Falls, do 1/2 day volunteering with Lion Encounter/Lion Alert. James at Yellow Zebra recommended The Waterberry as an alternative to the more expensive establishments.

I am really happy that I followed this recommendation because the Waterberry is all and more that the reviews say. Warm welcome - like coming home to family after a long trip - excellent food, spacious and comfortable rooms, lovely bathrooms, enchanting gardens and grounds, and some of the best staff that I have encountered in my Africa (and elsewhere) travels.

A fabulous place to either start or end a safari holiday - easy access to Vic Falls activities, sunset cruises from the lodge's dock, good company and new friends. Try and visit the school the lodge supports - it is worth the visit! And now that the River farmhouse is open and ready to receive guests, I will be gathering up my family and coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 day stay here but could have easily stayed longer as there is so much to do in this area and it is such a lovely relaxing place to stay. The setting on the edge of the Zambezi couldn't be bettered. The outings were superb and all arranged by the lodge. The management led a very happy team of staff and the food was lovely. This was an ideal end to a fairly exhausting 9 day safari holiday in Botswana. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twiglet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Waterberry lodge fulfills beautifully it's role a a relaxing mini resort on the zambezi river about 20 km upstream from the mighty Victoria falls. The service is impeccable. Food was excellent, laundry service convenient, evening boat rides informative and relaxing. We did as many do, used it as a post safari unwinding spot. After several days out in bush country,dry and dusty, it was pleasant to clean up, visit Victoria Falls,( even it is was the dry season), and generally relax in verdant ,quiet setting that is Waterberry Lodge.
We sat around the evening campfire and chatted with other guests, a highlight of trip for me to meet such interesting characters( one gent has travelled to over 150 countries, while spotting over 6000 species of birds!)
Wonderful people in a wonderful setting...wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkristo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Waterberry Lodge and the River Farmhouse (the two properties at Waterberry)!! There were four of us, two sets of mother-daughters, and we all had a wonderful time...very relaxing and it was the perfect way to end our two week Zim/Zam tour. I’ll review the Lodge first and then the Farmhouse…they were both wonderful with very high standards, but have different features.

*The Lodge:
Upon arrival, the lovely managers, Claudia and Kevin, greeted us with a warm welcome and a cold drink. This set such a positive tone for our stay at Waterberry! While our luggage was whisked away, we were taken to the patio overlooking the Zambezi while we enjoyed our drink and Claudia gave us some information about the Lodge (i.e. don’t wander by the water’s edge, and when breakfast will be served). Then we were led to our rooms to freshen up before walking down to the dock for the sunset cruise.
The rooms are very airy and open, with great décor (see the pics). Our room had a back patio that we could sit outside and read with a cup of tea (let’s be honest…a gin and tonic). We had two wide twin beds, great pillows, and mosquito nets. They also supplied us with a map of Livingstone, info about the community school Waterberry supports, all the bug spray we needed, bottles of water, a flashlight (sorry British friends… “a torch”), a candle, and matches.
The bathroom was a simple design, but with lots of little details...the fresh leaf under the soap on the soap dish, the feather on the roll of TP, the locally made bathrobes (so cute!), and nice towels. There are no little travel size shampoo and conditioners, but a dispenser in the shower with both + shower gel. I liked this eco-friendly touch. The rain showerhead was perfect. Also, Claudia offered to supply us with a hair dryer too when we mentioned we didn’t have one.
The food was delicious and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had veg options for the two vegetarians in our group. It wasn’t à la carte dining, which I appreciated because then the chef really focuses all his effort on one or two dishes and it really shows! We had a curry one time, pasta another, stuffed zucchini …all very good! Breakfast and Lunch were a more relaxed affair, but just as delicious and all served at our table. The breakfast options were great (go for the omelet!) and lunch wasn’t too heavy, perfect for pool time after.
Everyone at Waterberry goes out of his or her way to make sure you’re enjoying yourself. The managers ensured that everything was going smoothly and arranged all transportation/activities (i.e. white water rafting, Livingstone island), so we were truly on vacation and didn’t have to worry about a thing. The activities they organized were really great, but I would have been just as content to not leave the poolside, as this was the last stop of our trip and I was in desperate need of some downtime! The staff are all very friendly and attentive…. constantly coming out to the pool to see if we wanted a drink, putting down the mosquito nets while were at dinner and always smiling! Webby and Chris took us on the sunset cruises and are full of information on the wildlife and birds (luckily, since one of the women in my group is obsessed with birds).
And the grounds are of course, gorgeous. All the beautiful plants and flowers really make this a spectacular place to walk around. The open air lounge above the dining area (also a bar) was a great place to read in the afternoon, overlooking the river.
Did I forget anything? All in all, the Lodge was an amazing place to stay and I’m already trying to plan my next trip back!

*The River Farmhouse:
The Farmhouse was within walking distance to the Lodge, but we didn’t return there until the last day to stop by reception. With a house full of staff and our own chef, there was no need! [Also, we felt really safe with the guards at night…not guarding us against other people, but the animals. We were sitting out by the fire pit one night (another highlight!) and heard a couple elephant tearing down huge branches just a few hundred meters away! Oh, and of course, those hippos can be aggressive.] Because the Farmhouse is new, the flowers and plats aren’t as well-established as at the Lodge, yet, but in no time, I’m sure they’ll be just as spectacular.
The Farmhouse would be great for groups, but after traveling together for a couple weeks we really enjoyed the privacy here. We each had our own room and bathroom (it’s a four bedroom house). The living room, sitting area, and indoor dining area were all really nice but we spent most of our time outside (though when it gets “cold” (ha) I’m sure we would have enjoyed the fireplace). There’s a great outdoor living room (on the patio, in the shade) and dining area (we ate outside every night). The best part about the Farmhouse, however, was our private infinity pool overlooking the Zambezi. I mean, c’mon, can you get any better than that?? The staff moved the dining table out there every morning so we could have our breakfast by the pool with a great view.
The rooms were very spacious and it was nice to spread out, have a closet to myself and take a bath in the huge tub. As with the Lodge, they came in every evening and put down the mosquito nets and cleared the bed.
The service and attention to detail were just as impeccable as when we were at the Lodge. We had our own dock and the option to go on the sunset cruise, which we of course chose. This is a must. Little snacks and sundowners are the perfect way to end the day.

Ok, phew. That was a lot of info to cram in, but hope it helps. We really loved our time at both the Lodge and the Farmhouse and now I want to start planning my next trip :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J2MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is my first review ever about anything but this place is worth the effort.

We went there as a first stop of our honeymoon and have to say we really liked it and we will of course, recommend to everyone.

The staff is so polite, welcoming, helpful and always with a smile in their faces. The honeymoon room we were staying in was cosy with amazing views and out of the main part of the lodge which is great as it gives you even more privacy.

The food was super!! (I was worried before we arrived there and it was such a good surprise! Real variety and quality)

They have great activities like fishing, sunrise cruise, sunset cruise... all highly recommended and the guides are very knowledgeable and again lovely people.

Overall, a great experience. Loved talking to the local people who worked there about their lives and villages... So much to learn and so much we can do for them.

Waterberry lodge supports one of the local schools and we donated few things and they were very grateful.

Hope to come back one day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Waterberry with our two kids (10 and 7) and we found the whole experience very relaxing. Waterberry is a small lodge - and for us felt more like a home than a hotel. Being small you need to be aware that as a family group you represent a sizeable chunk of the guest numbers, but that was not a problem to us or the lodge. The staff were very accommodating of the children and we had the Owl room which was a great size for a family. The most important thing about Waterberry is that it is somewhere to relax. We felt that to get the most out of it, you needed to build in time at the lodge (we had two spare afternoons just to enjoy the lodge) and we were glad that we stayed here at the end of our trip. Sundowners on the river are a must and we also found the walk to the village very interesting. Our day at Victoria Falls was perfect (Livingstone Island and Devil's pool a must). The only thing we would have done differently was to hire our own car - which we would consider for a future trip. Thank you also for showing us the new farmhouse. Wow! Hopefully we can stay there one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
4.6 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
16.4 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
13.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterberry Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Property: Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Address: Old Constantia Farm | Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, family-friendly lodge in the heart of the wild on the banks of the Zambezi. Good food, lovely en suite rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Come here and enjoy river cruises, fishing and birdwatching plus all the activities around Victoria Falls, or just sit back and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterberry Zambezi Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing