We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantabulous!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantabulous!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

I arranged a surprise 60th birthday getaway for my husband and our family of 10. From the initial booking enquiry to the moment we left nothing could have been more perfect! Service, staff friendliness and ability to make you think that you are the most important person in the world is just be the tip of an iceberg. Everybody in our family, including the grand children, were bowled over. Thanks " Waterberry team" for making this happen seemingly so effortlessly!! Ann Hathorn

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hat143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
189
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

The place is magic and the people are just wonderful. We are so sorry we had to leave it and go home! Just make sure you stay there if your are in the area, you will not regret it and you will surely not forget it!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

What more can I add that others already have not said?

We had a few great places booked for our trip to Zambia and we started at Waterberry lodge for 4 nights. This ended up being the highlight of our trip and the only thing wrong was that we started with it and did not end with it! Lovely surroundings, great people, food and quaint accommodation. It was close enough to Vic Falls to do some great excursions and activities, that the lodge will happily book for you.

Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyAttwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Individual cottages laid out in beautifully kept gardens on the banks of the mighty Zambezi. Service and food both good. Rooms are a bit spartan but then you don't spend much time in them! Various activities including trip to Victoria falls on offer. All very well coordinated and very much personal service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Stress and tension left us the moment we saw the Zambesi from the front deck!! After 6 days, we didn't really want to leave. This is simply a wonderful destination, set in a charming well-tended garden on the banks of the mighty river about 25 klms from Livingstone. The 7 cottages are sufficiently seperated to provide all guests with whatever privacy they desire. All meals and pre dinner drinks are taken on the verandah of the central building overlooking the Zambesi with the sounds of hippos often breaking the peace. Breakfast and the 3 course dinners were great with the attentive staff very conscious of yoursatisfaction. Nothing seemed too much trouble to the Waterberry team - from organising trips/treks including the escorted village walk and the daily sunset cruise. Thanks so much to Tess in the UK who assisted with our booking, including our marvellous day trip to Chobe, and to Gail, Kevin, Anne and Jenny and all the staff at Waterberry. We absolutely recommend Waterberry to any traveller heading to Vic Falls!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzandGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Great 2 night stay. Lovely setting, excellent staff & food. Looked after very well by Gail & team. Trip to the Falls was amazing, but we also enjoyed he laid back ambiance of the hotel ....

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jstNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

Set in a wonderful garden at the beaches of the Zambesi River, staying at Waterberry Lodge was simply a wonderful, relaxing experience. Kevin and his team made about anything to make me enjoy this stay, organizing all activities at an extremely personal level. They simply made everything happen.
Food is at a very good "home-style" cooking level, excellent meals (I though wouldn't recommend taking their sandwich lunch pack to the Falls, but only as you'll for sure will be attacked by very aggressive baboons).
Though the lodge itself is pretty far out of Livingstone, this did not come up as a problem, as Livingstone town itself is only of limited interest, and strolling through the streets doesn't take more than 45 minutes. They however happily drop you in town while being on any tour transfer, so you easily can stroll through Livingstone as long as you like (note: the Falls also are 6 km out of Livingstone, so it's not just "across the street").
On the other hand, one of the most remarkable experiences at Waterberry is their offer to walk to one of the local non-tourist villages nearby with a staff member who lives there. This is an incredible, not-to-be-missed adventure as it gives a glimpse into real rural life in Zambia which simply cannot be experienced when staying in Livingstone itself, though some travelers will need to cope with sort of a "cultural shock". But this trip shows how people in Zambia really live, away from the tourist areas, and I highly recommend to include this walk to any itinerary.
Sum it up, a really very special place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
4.6 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
16.4 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
13.2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterberry Zambezi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Property: Waterberry Zambezi Lodge
Address: Old Constantia Farm | Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, family-friendly lodge in the heart of the wild on the banks of the Zambezi. Good food, lovely en suite rooms, friendly, helpful staff. Come here and enjoy river cruises, fishing and birdwatching plus all the activities around Victoria Falls, or just sit back and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterberry Zambezi Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing