We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Nearby Hotels
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
$864
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$666
$596
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
$112
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The River Club(Livingstone)
$783
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
$1,331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
$183
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
105
153
30
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
153
30
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel is conveniently locatedvictoria fallsrailway linevery nice hotelthe hotel staffbusiness tripinsect repellenta short taxi rideclean roomslivingstone townbreakfast buffetpleasant staylocal attractionsswimming poolguided tourspent two nightsenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 294 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Protea is a standard hotel in Livingstone among a sea of lodges--but the rooms are comfortable (if a bit cold this time of year--it gets quite chilly at night at the heat is rather inadequate in the rooms), but the day-time front desk ladies were extraordinarily helpful. After being told by the night clerk the night before we were to leave under no circumstances could I t get a late check-out past 11am (which is not a particularly late check out in my book--particularly when the hotel is half empty!), in the morning, after returning from our fabulous "walk with the lions" excursion, I wasn't feeling well at all. The day-time clerks allowed my son and me to rest in a made-up room (our room was already being cleaned) until we left at 12:30. After the frustration of the night before, their kindness and attentiveness was very welcome!

The Protea is also very conveniently located next to a small shopping center with a Spar supermarket and several restaurants. While the food at the hotel is adequate (a great lasagna, in fact!), it's nice to have options well within walking distance. Livingstone town center is about 1.5 miles up the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Comfortable, great food and the most amazing service. The staff at this hotel complete the experience. Pleasant, polite , helpful and forever smiling!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelkisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We stayed here during a conference in July 2008 and I've meant to post a review ever since. This hotel was immaculate. I went barefoot in my room and the nearby hall, and my feet never got dirty. (You could see staff washing the floors regularly.) I dread mosquitoes, but they were never an issue. Rooms and common areas were regularly sprayed, but this was done very discreetly. The hotel is conveniently located, next to a shopping centre which also has a small craft market, and it's possible to walk into town (30 minutes). The river attractions, including elegant restaurants, are only a short taxi ride away. Following our conference, we also stayed in one of the more showy (but mosquito-ridden) hotels directly on the river. The Protea was a much better base. They have a nice pool, and we thought meals were excellent, and staff were charming. Our only complaint was that telecommunications and IT services for the conference were problematic, but this seemed to be the fault of outside providers rather than the hotel itself. We would certainly stay here again.
PS - Zambia is a great country to visit. The people are friendly, the culture is very interesting (we really liked a quirky, rundown, outdoor railway museum in Livingstone), wildlife is amazing (specially recommend a walking safari), and it's possible to shop without being hassled!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greencourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed at the Protea Hotel Livingstone from the 29th July to the 3rd August 2008. My party consisted of two adults and two children (aged 9 and 7 years).

The Protea Hotel Livingstone is new and has only been open a few months. We were able to book this property online via the Protea Hotel chain website. It is so new that it does not seem to feature in any guidebooks. After a long journey from Cape Town we were glad to enter a modern and clean hotel. Whilst this hotel is not a five star property it provides all the basics in an efficient manner and is a useful base for exploring Livingstone.

The property is about two miles from the town centre on the road out to Victoria Falls. It is usefully located next door to a petrol station and shopping centre (shops, restaurants, post office, craft market, banking facilities etc). The cost of goods and services in Livingstone is far nearer to UK prices than South Africa, which can be a shock to the system at first.

Our en-suite room had two double beds, air-conditioning, TV, coffee making facilities and most importantly free WiFi. Access to the Internet was haphazard but when it was working it was quite fast. We could not gain access to our main E Mail account for some unknown reason. Our room was cleaned daily and housekeeping staff were diligent. The hotel grounds and rooms are sprayed daily to reduce the ever-present menace of mosquitoes.

The hotel was quite quiet during most of our stay with very few residents in evidence. Sometimes the hotel laid on a breakfast buffet and dinner, depending upon numbers. We found the buffets to be a little disappointing. A la carte meals were better. In the morning insects rather like wasps or hornets were a bit of a pain, especially if you chose to dine out in the sun. They were attracted to the jam on the tables. We got used to these insects after a while. In truth we were more worried about the mosquitoes.

Overall it wasn’t a bad hotel. We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaLVI, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews