We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for a business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good option for a business hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff could not find my booking.com rate on their computer, so they let me go to my room and opted to finish the paperwork later. I thought that this was very considerate.

Lunch was good, I had the Ravioli.

The room was clean, with a nice view of grasslands. Bathroom was spacious with generous water flow in the shower.

Internet speeds were good enough to have decent Skype calls.

Had the burger and Mosi (local beer) for dinner. Food was served nice and hot, beer nice and cold. Overall service was good. The only downside is that they do not have room service.

This hotel does not have a full gym, just one exercise bike.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear African Hotel Warrior,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone and for scoring us a 4 out of 5. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the service, the rooms and the food. We will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Tanya Stephens

General Manager

Protea Hotel Livingstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    138
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
77
19
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Everything was great staff very friendly and helpfull rooms clean hotel very comfortable 10/10 also centeral in town and choice of restaurants in the area thank you for the 3 nights from my Swiss group as well

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pangolin12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Pangolin,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone and for scoring us 5 out of 5. we are delighted to receive your compliments and we certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly valuable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Tanya Stephens

General Manager

Protea Hotel Livingstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The friendly welcome after a long drive was much appreciated. The rooms were comfortable and the surroundings and decor were modern and stylish. The staff were all very attentive and helpfull, going out of their way to accommodate us and our young family. There could have been better facilities for children and babies (a small play area in the grounds, and baby changing facilities) but over all we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Cookie 101,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments and for scoring us 5 out of 5!

I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations are highly valued and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job.

We have taken note of your comments regarding a play area for children and baby changing facilities.

Your feedback is therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone again soon.

Kind regards,

Tanya Stephens

General Manager

Protea Hotel Livingstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great location, close to town and not far from the airport. The staff are well trained and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean, the grounds are beautiful. Enjoyed our stay there.

Breakfast is good however rather have dinner somewhere in town.

Room Tip: Choose any room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderfullAbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear WanderfullAbu,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay and scoring us a 4 out of 5. We are delighted to receive your compliments regarding the rooms, the grounds and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

We would be grateful if you could elaborate on your feedback regarding dinner.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Tanya Stephens

General Manager

Protea Hotel Livingstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights to see Victoria Falls from the Zambia side. It is a very good property with clean rooms and a good restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location on the southern end of the main street is quiet but well positioned next to a strip mall. There are good food choices nearby - we tried Olga's and Cafe Zambezi. Both were very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ducimus,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments after your recent stay with us and for giving us a 4 out of 5. We are delighted to receive your compliments about the restaurant and the rooms being clean. We will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, gm@phlivingstone.co.zm,for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Tanya Stephens

General Manager

Protea Hotel Livingstone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was there for an evening before catching a bus to Lusaka. The room was great, spacious, clean, and free wi-fi. The staff was very helpful, and the restaurant served great food. The water feature around the bar is beautiful, but makes for uncomfortable evenings as large mosquitos have made their homes in the feature. Also, you must go outside to get anywhere from the rooms and this makes for a wet journey during the rainy season, umbrellas were not always available in the spaces needed. I would also advise that the hotel is a bit overpriced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Dawn,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and have taken note of your comments regarding the mosquitoes.

Your interest and concern and therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Lived there 3 nights in November, alone. Room 211, pool view. Advantages - big rooms, Unreally perfect (!) service, food, quite and clean hotel with all required for 4 stars accommodation facilities, good free wifi all over the territory, taxi and travel service! Disadvantages - location (near railways and in 10 min driving from Victoria falls - 10 usd by taxi in one way, no any tourist infrastructure around).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Denis,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We are delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that we will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
3.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
0.7 mi away
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
Ngoma Zanga Lodge
#6 of 17 in Livingstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chrismar Hotel
Chrismar Hotel
#8 of 17 in Livingstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
10.5 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
10.6 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Address: Plot 2110 Mosi-Oa-Tunya Road, Livingstone 20100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Livingstone is located on the outskirts of Livingstone, the tourism capital of Zambia. The hotel is adjacent to the Falls Park shopping and entertainment complex, so there is never a shortage of things to do at and around the hotel. Protea Hotel Livingstone offers deluxe rooms with air-conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, electronic safes, electronic door locks, telephone and DSTV. There is an in-house restaurant, bar, swimming pool and two conferencing facilities. The famous Victoria Falls is a mere 10kms from the hotel, making Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Livingstone the perfect venue for sight-seeing and more. Nearby leisure activities include bungee jumping, white water rafting, fishing, helicopter rides, golf, game viewing, gorge swing, a crocodile park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing