We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Nearby Hotels
$658
$581
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort(Livingstone)
$352
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ngoma Zanga Lodge(Livingstone)
$113
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
$783
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrismar Hotel(Livingstone)
$183
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
$1,179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$46
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
107
153
30
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
153
30
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel is conveniently locatedvictoria fallsrailway linevery nice hotelthe hotel staffbusiness tripinsect repellenta short taxi rideclean roomslivingstone townbreakfast buffetpleasant staylocal attractionsswimming poolguided tourspent two nightsenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 296 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Protea is wonderful option to (the much pricier) Royal Livingstone when you’re in Zambia to visit Victoria Falls. This property has everything going for it except for a view. The location is very convenient to both the airport and the Falls, but it is sandwiched between the main road (behind a high wall) and the train tracks. There is not much you can walk to once at the hotel.

Still, once you’re inside the hotel you’re transported from the often-gritty reality of Africa to a peaceful and serene rest stop. The reception, restaurant and bar areas all open to the interior of the property where bubbling, flowing water features infuse a relaxing ambiance. The water also adds a white-noise element – I never heard the street sounds despite the proximity and only rarely the train.

The rooms are located off of well-covered exterior corridors with a wide double staircases leading to the second floor. The entire property is very well kept and the staff are extremely helpful. The look is very modern with nice use of tile and stone balanced with warm dark wood in the bar and restaurant areas. We booked our excursions right in the reception area of the hotel and were very pleased with each of them.

One comment about the rooms - overall very nicely laid out, clean and a good amount of space, however the shower could be a bit claustrophobic for some. It was a tiled cylinder about a meter in diameter with a single "rain style" shower head suspended from the ceiling. I found it a little strange.

On a trip that took us to more than a dozen cities on the African Continent, I can very confidently say that this was one of the top two or three hotels I stayed in and price-wise it fell right in the middle of the group. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALowFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Protea was a great and very dependable hotel. Great pool, food, and close proximity to Vic Falls. Only downsides are no room service or gym. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Allowed for late check-out, and they kept my bags all day while I went sight-seeing

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Fater our room and experience at Chobe Safari Lodge this was like coming into absolute luxary. The rooms are well appointed, with all modern amenities. It is close to a train track but this was never a problem during sleeping hours. The fact that have no room service is not a problem. There is a "mall" (I use the term loosely) across the road with a money machine so very handy and also a service station for the snacks. The staff are very friendly and they were very helpful organising all the tours we wanted to do. The bar area is very nice and relaxing. The food is average but pleanty of it. The hotel is well designed and well fitted out, the lobby is very stunning for small hotel. Would comeback and stay here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaffaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We were delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We flew in for a quick, one night stop and found the Protea Livingstone perfect!

The hotel is in Zambia about a 5-10 minute taxi from the Falls (roughly 10-15 from Livingstone Airport). The hotel staff were very helpful arranging reliable, friendly taxis, and everything went smoothly. Although its hard to find a bargain in the area, the Protea had everything we needed: very comfortable beds, free breakfast, nice rooms, great staff, a very nice outdoor bar & seating area, and delicious restaurant, and it didn't break the bank.

The one thing I'll offer as a caution: we stayed in Aug (the dry season for the Falls and what appeared to be lower tourist season), and we didn't see many other guests. For us, this meant personalized service and no noise, but others may prefer hotels with more guests. I don't know how this compares to other hotels or whether you'd find more people in-season, either, so this may have been the same everywhere and/or with more people another month.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incoherent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that i will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay and close to just about everything. The staff is wonderful and helpful. Do yourself a favor and get a taxi recommendation from the staff then hire this person to be available for your stay, you will save a lot of money and the chore of haggling for a good rate.
The full English breakfast was wonderful and the staff let us order from the kitchen one day after we got in from an early excursion even though the buffet was closed. The bar was in a lovely setting and one evening we were about the only people there so we just ate our dinner at the bar.
Very nice place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Livingstone. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Livingstone and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews