We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gem on the Zambezi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“gem on the Zambezi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June. The location on the river is superb. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. Our room was clean and comfortable. I did not like that there are steps down into the room and up into the bathroom. Nor did I like that the room was not dark at night making it more difficult to sleep. The draperies are not the type to screen out light. The lodge offers many services and can arrange many different activities if you wish. We ate several times at the lodge and found the food excellent. I especially was amused by the fruit bats in the evenings especially the ones outside our room who left pits on the balcony and furniture. The maids must get tired of cleaning up after them! The lodge is located a little away from the falls but we liked that and it was convenient for all of our activities. We had awesome sunsets each evening which added to the experience immensely. A great overall stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    136
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
187
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I read some of the reviews before I went to stay at the hotel, and had some preconceived notions. Upon my arrival until the time of my checkout, I was treated beyond great. The staff at the resort are excellent from the management down. Very friendly and attentive to any need. The managers Ken and Robert could not have been better and the their staff followed suit. I read some reviews about the food. You should know that they have a new chef and the food was outstanding. If you are staying in the area, I highly recommend this resort. I can not comment on the spa, I did not take advantage for that, but if it is like the rest of the resort, you will be pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and found the room, staff, meals and ambiance first rate. Our room overlooked the Zambezi and in the early morning flocks of birds flew upriver to feed for the day. The bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was up 3 steps behind the bedroom with ample space. (The steps were no problem but others may want to inquire about this when booking. )

Our package included breakfasts and dinners so we had the opportunity to sample a variety of menu items from the handsome buffet tables. One night everyone had a Boma buffet with barbecued meats and shrimp served on the lawn. Music was provided by a local group that made the evening memorable. I had the chance to compliment the chef on a local dish that used chopped cabbage and a peanut sauce. Buffets made it easy to try both local dishes and standard fares. They have a great pastry chef.

We booked our outings with Wild Horizons through our guide in Jo'burg so I cannot speak to booking trips with the hotel. However I did not know beforehand that the hotel offered van service to Vic Falls and town at no charge, though I'm sure the drivers would welcome a gratuity. My only disappointment was that the sunset cruise that came with our package did not have enough guests to run on the day we arrived. We were able to book on another company next door but had to pay. (We had made other arrangements for trips so could not book it another evening. The hotel was unable to offer any remuneration.)

It was clear that the staff wanted to make our stay pleasant. Everyone of them greeted us,whether the housekkeeping staff, wait staff or management. They succeeded.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LimekilnLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent four days at the fantastic David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa in Zambia on the Zambesi river bank.. Excellent service all round. Well worth a visit. Management and the team members are all extremely helpful and will to assist with everything that you need. The sundowner cruise on the Lady Livingstone and visit to Livingstone island is a must for all visitors.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the mighty Zambesi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

a great hotel right on the Zambezi river and only 10-minute ride from Vic Falls. Sunset cruise (Lady Livingstone) was most popular here. Service was attentive. Room design is unique and has fantastic views of the river - crocs and hippos are spotted often, a little refurbishment would do wonder. Food is great, but the chef does need to work on the dessert menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa along in June 2013 with my parents who had travelled to Africa from Australia. We had a wonderful stay and I would recommend the lodge to any travellers.

The lodge is situated right on the bank of the Zambezi and in close proximity to both Livingstone and the Victoria Falls. I found the location fantastic and well placed for all of the activities (less than 10 mins to the falls, next door to one of the heli & microlight centres etc). The lodge facilities are lovely and the grounds are well maintained.

The staff were attentive, welcoming and kindly organised a cake and sang for my boyfriend who celebrated his birthday whilst we were at the lodge. The food was also very good, especially the extensive breakfast buffet (which the staff kindly kept open one morning until we returned from our early morning activity).

The only negative, which I noted from some of the other reviews prior to our trip, is that the food is expensive compared to elsewhere I have stayed in Africa. However, as we didn't venture outside of the lodge for meals I can't provide a cost comparison against other places at Vic Falls. Don't let that change your mind on staying at the lodge, but just be prepared!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SShaw84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We transferred to The David Livingstone from a sister hotel for 3 nights in January 2013. The Director, Keith Rissik and the hotel staff took it upon themselves to make sure our stay is flawless. The hotel is situated on the Zambezi River with magnificent views, the river boat dock is on the property, and the hotel is very close to the falls - you can actually see the clouds of mist hovering over the river. The grounds are very nice with breakfast areas on the bank of the river or under cover close by. The food was very good - the chef himself came by our table every evening to make sure the food is to our satisfaction.
Our King room was spacious with a comfortable bed including a beautifully set mosquito net tent. We had no mosquito bites throughout our stay.
We had a great memorable time and definitely recommend staying there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onderoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
1.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Property: The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing