We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL PLACE IN LIVINGSTONE, ZAMBIA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE IN LIVINGSTONE, ZAMBIA”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent four wonderful nights in this well positioned, friendly, well catered hotel. The staff are very friendly, the views are outstanding, the rooms well appointed. Food is excellent and Chef Murray Winston makes sure all patrons are taken care off when there are special needs. The hotel has a separate company arranging tours and their service levels were excellent. Although the Royal Livingstone Hotel is very upmarket and well appointed, we felt staying at the David Livingstone Safari Lodge and Spa was the perfect choice. It is a very well balanced lodge. We will certainly be back and recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: If you can, go for suites ie number 222 or 231
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    158
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
114
214
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is without a doubt the best spot on the Zambezi River in Livingstone. The location is superb - you cannot see the Falls but the wonderful sunsets from the front deck more than compensate. The rooms are very comfortable with huge bed and crisp white sheets,including a wonderful Victorian bath to wallow in, and everything else one needs. Service and food were excellent. Altogether a great experience and I can highly recommend this to anyone looking for a very comfortable stay at the Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a large hotel rather than a lodge, but it still feels very cosy and personal. The rooms were fantastic, with a large bath and shower. The bed was enormous and the room looked out over the Zambezi. It is very handy for visiting the falls, game park and boat trips on the river. The breakfasts were huge with a lot of choice, although the other meals were quite pricy. The bar was great with a fireplace for cool nights and the staff were very helpful. We had to leave our car in Zambia whilst we travelled to Zimbabwe and Botswana and this was not a problem. Zambian tourism is working very hard to keep tourists on the Zambian side of the falls. Well done. We were there to see the lunar rainbow and that was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Magnificent service, great food - in an absolutely perfect setting. Get away for a long weekend to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. The sunset cruise is a must and a visit to Victoria Falls essential (obviously). Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the David Livingstone during our honeymoon over Christmas. We were stunned by the beauty of the surroundings at first, but after one night we could not wait to get out of this place. Every morning all of the food at the buffet was covered by flies and bugs. The servers were terribly impolite, and acted offended at any/every request. We ended up getting stuck one extra night because we couldn't get a flight out, and we asked for a reasonable price (on par with what we had paid for the previous nights). However, the manager seized on our predicament (knowing that we were stuck) and charged us almost double what we had paid. We were completely disgusted and would never never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sahara1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have recently returned from a 3 nights stay at the David Livingstone Safari Lodge. We had a wonderful, relaxing holiday. The surroundings and facilities of the hotel are beautiful. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The food and drinks are quite pricey, however I think they are probably in line with similar hotels in the area. I highly recommend the sundowner cruise on the Lady Livingstone (which departs from the Lodge) as well as a day trip to Chobe (which can be organised through the activity centre at the Lodge).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayHSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyalami
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and can only say good things about it.The staff are helpful,knowledgeable and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.
Our room was charming and comfortable and had a lovely river view.We enjoyed breakfast on the riverside patio and dinner upstairs, looking out over the river.Dinner is ala carte.We were booked in on a breakfast and dinner basis, after the delicious assortment at the breakfast buffet, there was no room for lunch.
We didn't have time to try the spa but the sunset cruise was enjoyable and we saw some hippo and buck.
The helicopter flip over the falls was fantastic breathtaking and we got some great aerial photographs.
The helicopter flip,the microlite and the walk with the lions are very pricey, especially for South Africans.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne and Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,681 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
387 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,285 reviews
10.4 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Property: The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing