We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great location”
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a holiday through southern Africa. Our room was neat and tidy, located at the far end of the resort. Unfortunately, due to mosquitoes and the resident velvet monkeys, we were unable to open our balcony door to enjoy the river views but this can be expected when your hotel is inside a national park and on the banks of a river.
The food in the restaurant for dinner was delicious, as was lunch. The breakfast buffet had a variety of cereals, breads, fruit, cold meat, and omelettes/eggs made to order. The waiters were friendly and attentive.
The activities centre staff were helpful in confirming our pre-arranged activities and showed genuine regret when a miscommunication between some of the ground operators meant we were stranded at the Zambian border and had to walk across to the Zimbabwe side for our falls tour. This turned out to be a blessing however as we had the opportunity to take photos and enjoy the experience of walking between the two borders.
The sunset cruise was memorable with the opportunity to watch a herd of hippos playing in the river. Finger foods and drinks were served on board and all staff were friendly and attentive.
Whilst some people may find the resident monkeys a nuisance, we enjoyed watching their antics through the grounds.
At checkout, there was a slight error on our room account which was resolved quickly and without blame.
Both evenings we arrived back to our rooms to find our mosquito nets had been set up, fresh sweets placed on the table and our bed turned in for the night, which were nice touches.
Two free bottles of water are provided each day, and an in-room mini bar can be stocked upon request.
A free standing bath was in the bathroom and upon filling the water was brown, however once again, being in 'Africa' this didn't bother us at all. The only concern was that we were informed the water was safe to drink, which we did, and we didn't fall ill so there was no harm done.
All prices are quoted in the local currency however staff will readily convert to US dollars at your request.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank PerthBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    161
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
119
214
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We sent 3 days here at the end of our African holiday and it was a great place to wind down and relax. We did a number of excursions arranged via the activity centre and enjoyed the hospitality in the hotel bar and restaurant. Staff were pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDDMLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

While the lodge itself is beautiful and the grounds well kept, the staff was absolutely horrid from start to finish! When checking in they had the bellhop do two trips to get our luggage up rather than use their bellman cart. We were booked on a ride on their Lady Livingston sunset cruise for the second night we were there, but they told us they had rented it to a private group so they'd be putting us on another boat, then neglected to tell us that another option would have been to got that same day we got in rather than the next night on the Lady Livingston. After snacking on some of the food they served on the Queen of Africa boat (the substitute boat they put us on) I got food poising and was stuck in my room for the rest of the evening! I let the front desk staff know and they didn't seem bothered by it, nor did they go out of their way to help. The water at the hotel is brown....not kidding....not a little colored, literally brown! Because we couldn't drink the water, and we had bought a breakfast and dinner inclusive package, we had thought that bottled water would be included, but in fact, NO beverages of any kind were included - rediculious! When I was sick we even had to buy cans of soda water and ginger-ale. The first night we were there we asked for the wine list, they gave it to us, prices in their local currency. We made the mistake of not asking the conversion and ordering the least expensive bottle on the menu.....turned out to be $58 USD! When we showed that we were set aback by this, he said they had another menu that was less expensive and we could order off of that - WHAT?! It wasn't presented to us in the first place when we asked for a wine menu?! I know Zambia is a poor country, but the "add-on" costs at this hotel were rediculous - I would recommend a different hotel in the area if you are headed to Vic Falls.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nextadventure08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here late October 2011. Efficient hotel with friendly staff and good sized rooms kept clean and stocked. Well placed for the excursions we went on to The Falls and of course their sunset cruise on the river. These were both very good.
The only negative from our viewpoint was the food, which was god, but we had three nights of buffet and by the third it was getting boring and obvious that leftovers were being used. Nothing wrong with that, after all too much food is wasted and if safe , why not be inventive. That was the problem-not inventive.
One night an option of an a la carte would hav emade a change.
Other than that,do not be detered from staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotuseater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

We had our honeymoon in Africa: Cape Town, Kruger, Livingstone, Cape Town again, Singapore.

As I write this review we are back in Cape Town for the last leg of the trip. Everywhere has been fantastic, except the David Livingstone in Zambia.

Great spot on the river, however the hotel has the worst service I have ever experienced globally. Most noticeably is the food... absolute garbage! Rubbish buffet every night! We eventually complained so the chef cooked us a separate menu - it was actually very good - he certainly knows how to cook, he just doesn't want to. I asked why buffet every night, he candidly replied "that way I can make more money without having to buy too much ingredients". Given the rack rate for this hotel is circa $500/night, I was disguisted by this attitude.

They also charge you for every little breath you take in the hotel. You want to have water with your breakfast?,,,, that costs extra. You want to have the food in your room?.... $12/per person extra. Two burgers and a milkshake cost nearly US$70 - which wouldn't be so bad if they were eatible.

We visited the Royal Livingstone Hotel which is right on the falls during a sheduled activity. Looked absolutely amazing.... I recommend you stay there. Only 30% extra and absolutley worth it!

Also, the highlight of our trip was high tea at the falls (on the island in the middle of the falls) - dont miss it.

Cheers

Room Tip: Higher floors have less mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oooshazsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great place to spend a couple nights. The rooms are lovely and food is good, the serve is fantastic and the activity centre is well organised and will arrange anything. I went birding with an extremely good guide. For dinner try and sit under the stars, as it gets hot otherwise. The service is fantastic !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
1,709 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 17 in Livingstone
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
394 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,323 reviews
10.4 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 17 in Livingstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Property: The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing