We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: All rooms have a river view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 603 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

Great place to spend a couple nights. The rooms are lovely and food is good, the serve is fantastic and the activity centre is well organised and will arrange anything. I went birding with an extremely good guide. For dinner try and sit under the stars, as it gets hot otherwise. The service is fantastic !!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The David Livingstone is a young hotel with fantastic views over the Zambezi river and is situated on the banks. The room was well appointed, comfortably furnished and a good size, with both shower and bath. The view from the room was over the river and expanse of garden. The staff are friendly and my massage at the spa was great. The resort lacked amenities for children but provided a good base.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetravel090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Everything was nice. The rooms were nice and comfy. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Don`t miss a visit to the spa. The food is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My family stumbled upon the David Livingstone and couldn't be more pleased. The moment you walk through the doors of the Lodge you are confronted with an awe-inspiring view of the Zambezi and the warm smiles of the welcome staff. The hotel rooms are well appointed, chock full of amenities, and have one of the best showers I have ever had in my life. We were treated to a lovely cruise on the Zambezi and a lovely buffet breakfast, all justifying the slightly higher cost for rooms here. The hotel is young, just three years on, and could use some help in the area of food and beverage management and the check out procedure. However, you definitely should make it a top pick when considering a trip to Victoria Falls and/or Livingstone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyRukobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We "lucked" into staying at the David Livingstone because the other hotel we had booked gave away our rooms. While this hotel was more expensive, the view, rooms, pool, and other amenities were worth it. Our package included an $85/person evening cruise of the Zambezi river and a really nice free buffet breakfast in the morning. The shower was one of the best showers I have ever used in my life.

Bottom line, if you are debating between The David Livingstone and another hotel, you should choose the David LIvingstone and rest easy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zitch1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family of 7, all adults were treated most graciously here. The staff is young and learning as they go so there were a few glitches along the way. We were greeted by warm smiles and friendly greetings everywhere we went. The sunset cruise up the Zambeizi River included free snacks and drinks (alcoholic as well as soft). We saw hippos in their native habitat and an amazing sunset. Our rooms were spotless and free breakfast with free shuttle and one free activity make the price very reasonable. There is access to many activities through the activity desk. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Ours faced the river not sure if all do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pczyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,835 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
420 reviews
10.4 mi away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
206 reviews
18.2 mi away
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
#4 of 93 in Livingstone
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $394 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing