We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œNot 5 star but very good indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel ticks nearly every box - Its location on the Zambezi river is perfect and the rooms were simply outstanding in comfort and quality. There's an 'activity centre' that will happily arrange excursions: game drives, lion encounter, elephants, river safari, helicopters and more. It has its own luxury boat that cruises the river 'all inclusive' for every night's sunset - You will see Hippo's, Crocs, Elephants and numerous exotic birds. The food could have been better - Buffets when the hotel was busy were disappointing, and the breakfast buffet isn't very substantial. Some of the staff seem a bit young and service isn't always as perfect as it could be (they did struggle with my English accent). There's a lovely pool and sun deck but the pool is ice cold in July and it would have been nice if it had been heated. These minor quibbles aside, We all had a superb time here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackmetal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 557 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was our first accommodation on a three week holiday in Africa and we weren't disappointed. The setting and the first impression are excellent. Just what we were expecting of an African hotel.

The riverside location was incredible, not as close to Victoria Falls as a few other hotels but it was nonetheless an enjoyable. A good set of binos and a steady hand allowed a good view of falls' smoke!

We were two adults and one child sharing a standard ensuite room; it was a little tight, but the overall quality of the room was very pleasing. A beautiful balcony view of the gardens and river, as well as the fervent wildlife.

The dinner menu was very nice, but only al la carte was available, which was not particularly child friendly and a little more pricey than we wanted. Despite this the food was excellent and very enjoyable. We also tried the lunch menu which was much better for children, an unfortunate under cooking incident resulted in a few days sickness for my wife which put a damper on the whole experience.

A guided tour of the falls and a sunset riverboat trip were organised by the hotel's friendly and efficient tour staff. Both were very good value and extremely enjoyable; both are a must for any visitor.

Overall we really liked the hotel and would definitely use it again if we were returning to the falls.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonH_702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was average but the location was great. Make sure you do the Walking with Lion Cubs trip. It was a long trip for the amount of time you get to spend with the cubs, and there is a hard sell for sponsorship at the end. The project is is very worthy though, and patting the cubs and being so close to them playing and racing about was wonderful. The helicopter rise over Victoria Falls was also incredible. You can pay for a car and driver at the hotel for very little money. Some of the carvings at the falls were quite unique and unlike any I saw in other parts of Africa. Monkeys will probably visit you on your verandah

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobbieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

What a wonderful hotel. Staff are incredible and the service impeccable. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms are beautifully situated, food delicious and well presented (more so the a la carte than the buffet). All activities are easily accessible and the Lady Livingstone sunset cruise was a glorious way to start our holiday. Recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I have just come back from Livingstone. We had a wonderful time, celebrated my husbands birthday on Monday 4 July 2011 with breakfast and complimentary champagne at the hotel. The food (buffet) was really good, the service was good and staff always pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping was a little slack in some areas but overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have just returned from an uber relaxing stay! The location is top class, the staff are friendly, the rooms are luxurious and comfortable and the setting - Well that just speaks for itself!

As the hotel serves one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World your spend limited time within the hotel surrounds itself but make extensive use of the Activity Desk! From there you can book just about anything that you can imagine that Africa has to offer, from sunset cruises upon a great cruiser up the mighty Zambezi, viewing hippos and ellies, to all the adrenalin junkie stuff of bungi jumping and white water river rafting.

However, make sure that you have saved quite a few pennies before arriving at this haven of activities, as they sure don't come cheap!!!

To have an all round exeprience of the falls, there are 3 definites which must be done!

1. A trip to Livingstone Island - when you get there, you will know why!!!
2. A helicopter flip over the falls, the 15 minute one is ample
3. A guided tour of the falls -if the river is in full flood (April - June) there is not much you can see for the spray and you WILL get wet!!!

The hotel offers around 80 rooms on two levels .... All river frontage.... there is ample space in the room and your bed, is SUPER comfortable! The bathroom has everything you need!!!

The only fault that you might find with the hotel is the food.... Although ample with many choices, the 'extra touch' is missing...

All in all ... a fabulous stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BronwynStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in March.

Hotel is situated on the banks of the Zambezi river a couple of miles upstream from the falls. The hotel is quite remote and is reached down a long bumpy road.

The hotel itself is a beautiful structure - wooden beams everywhere. The check-in was very quick and efficient. The staff were very nice and helpful at all times. The rooms were very nice and mine overlooked the river.

I ate in the hotel a few times and the food was fine - one of the nights, there was a barbeque. The breakfasts were nice also.

The pool is small but beautifully situated on the edge of the water.

I did a tour of the falls through the hotel and got soaked to the skin - advice would be to avoid bringing any paper items with you (such as cash or passports).

Overall I was very satisfied with the hotel and would have no hesitation recommending it for a quiet and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.8 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,780 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
276 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range: $266 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing