We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the Zambezi.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location on the Zambezi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was our first accommodation on a three week holiday in Africa and we weren't disappointed. The setting and the first impression are excellent. Just what we were expecting of an African hotel.

The riverside location was incredible, not as close to Victoria Falls as a few other hotels but it was nonetheless an enjoyable. A good set of binos and a steady hand allowed a good view of falls' smoke!

We were two adults and one child sharing a standard ensuite room; it was a little tight, but the overall quality of the room was very pleasing. A beautiful balcony view of the gardens and river, as well as the fervent wildlife.

The dinner menu was very nice, but only al la carte was available, which was not particularly child friendly and a little more pricey than we wanted. Despite this the food was excellent and very enjoyable. We also tried the lunch menu which was much better for children, an unfortunate under cooking incident resulted in a few days sickness for my wife which put a damper on the whole experience.

A guided tour of the falls and a sunset riverboat trip were organised by the hotel's friendly and efficient tour staff. Both were very good value and extremely enjoyable; both are a must for any visitor.

Overall we really liked the hotel and would definitely use it again if we were returning to the falls.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonH_702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    136
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
103
187
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was average but the location was great. Make sure you do the Walking with Lion Cubs trip. It was a long trip for the amount of time you get to spend with the cubs, and there is a hard sell for sponsorship at the end. The project is is very worthy though, and patting the cubs and being so close to them playing and racing about was wonderful. The helicopter rise over Victoria Falls was also incredible. You can pay for a car and driver at the hotel for very little money. Some of the carvings at the falls were quite unique and unlike any I saw in other parts of Africa. Monkeys will probably visit you on your verandah

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbieRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

What a wonderful hotel. Staff are incredible and the service impeccable. Everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms are beautifully situated, food delicious and well presented (more so the a la carte than the buffet). All activities are easily accessible and the Lady Livingstone sunset cruise was a glorious way to start our holiday. Recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I have just come back from Livingstone. We had a wonderful time, celebrated my husbands birthday on Monday 4 July 2011 with breakfast and complimentary champagne at the hotel. The food (buffet) was really good, the service was good and staff always pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping was a little slack in some areas but overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have just returned from an uber relaxing stay! The location is top class, the staff are friendly, the rooms are luxurious and comfortable and the setting - Well that just speaks for itself!

As the hotel serves one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World your spend limited time within the hotel surrounds itself but make extensive use of the Activity Desk! From there you can book just about anything that you can imagine that Africa has to offer, from sunset cruises upon a great cruiser up the mighty Zambezi, viewing hippos and ellies, to all the adrenalin junkie stuff of bungi jumping and white water river rafting.

However, make sure that you have saved quite a few pennies before arriving at this haven of activities, as they sure don't come cheap!!!

To have an all round exeprience of the falls, there are 3 definites which must be done!

1. A trip to Livingstone Island - when you get there, you will know why!!!
2. A helicopter flip over the falls, the 15 minute one is ample
3. A guided tour of the falls -if the river is in full flood (April - June) there is not much you can see for the spray and you WILL get wet!!!

The hotel offers around 80 rooms on two levels .... All river frontage.... there is ample space in the room and your bed, is SUPER comfortable! The bathroom has everything you need!!!

The only fault that you might find with the hotel is the food.... Although ample with many choices, the 'extra touch' is missing...

All in all ... a fabulous stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BronwynStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in March.

Hotel is situated on the banks of the Zambezi river a couple of miles upstream from the falls. The hotel is quite remote and is reached down a long bumpy road.

The hotel itself is a beautiful structure - wooden beams everywhere. The check-in was very quick and efficient. The staff were very nice and helpful at all times. The rooms were very nice and mine overlooked the river.

I ate in the hotel a few times and the food was fine - one of the nights, there was a barbeque. The breakfasts were nice also.

The pool is small but beautifully situated on the edge of the water.

I did a tour of the falls through the hotel and got soaked to the skin - advice would be to avoid bringing any paper items with you (such as cash or passports).

Overall I was very satisfied with the hotel and would have no hesitation recommending it for a quiet and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed here for three nights B & B after a Chobe River trip. Delightful hotel, wonderful welcome and superb setting. Our room was on the ground floor and was as per the photos, clean, comfortable and wonderful view over the river, local croc came out of the water just under our terrace to welcome us!!

Setting of hotel is lovely, plenty of grounds to walk around, away from the hustel and bussle of hotels nearer the Falls. We had sunet cruise and Falls trip included in the package and they were excellent.

Staff were very 'smiley' and quick to say hello, service was a little slow, but this is Africa and they did their best. Dinner in the restaurant overlooking the gardens down to the river was excellent.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good class hotel a little bit away from the actual falls (you could see the mist of the falls from the terraces). Not a cheap option, but you get what you pay for.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank manxholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingstone
2.5 mi away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
2.9 mi away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 17 in Livingstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Livingstone
1.7 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 17 in Livingstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa

Property: The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Address: Riverside Drive, off Sichango Road, Livingstone 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Livingstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge offers visitors a restaurant, bar, conference facilities, suitable to cater for large groups and the individual traveler, with a variety of safari excursions and activities in and around the falls. The lodge consists of 77 rooms, all en-suite, of which 5 are suites and 2 rooms accommodate the differently abled comfortably. All rooms look out over the Mighty Zambezi and a leisurely sun downer can be enjoyed from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
David Livingstone Safari Lodge And Spa
David Livingstone Safari Hotel Livingstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing