We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and grounds.”
Review of Sunny Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunny Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 123 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and grounds.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were skeptical driving from HCMC to Mui Ne, not sure if we had done our homework when deciding to stay at Sunny Beach. Once we turned into the parking area we were pleasantly surprised. We were in the first building to the right of the parking area, on the top floor facing the beach. The rooms were lovely and we were greeted with a plate of fresh local fruits, which we thought was a nice touch. The shower leaked and the phones didn't work, but we were pleased with the size of the room and the private balcony. Our view was incredible! We started each day with the included breakfast, which offered western style choices. We also had lunches and dinners on site and ventured up and down the main road and tried other local eateries. We spent 5 nights, enjoyed the lovely grounds, pool and beach areas. We took a tour to the Fairy Stream(not sure what that was all about and it smelled awful, so we quickly went back to our driver) and then the sand dunes and fishing village. ATVing in the sand dunes was fun and the sunset pictures at both the fishing village and the dunes turned out so good that we will be enlarging them.
Sunny Beach was a great place to relax and enjoy the sun and water. I would recommend this resort, just be aware that it is a 5 hour drive from HCMC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcarter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    64
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
44
64
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

As always, I'll start with the positives. This is a lovely hotel in general. The absolute stand-out features which they really should be pushing are the gardens, pools and beach front location.
There are 2 large infinity-style pools with small child-friendly areas within. Now I'm no pool expert, but I've seen many in my time and these are some of the nicest. I'm sure you could spend £400 a night and find something way nicer but you're not paying anything near that here.
And part of the reason they're so nice are the garden areas surrounding them. A lot of time and care is spent maintaining them. Again, you'd probably find a LOT nicer but we're talking about a modestly priced hotel in a not-so-affluent area in a developing country.
The location, all things considered, is good if not great. The complex is sprawled along a stretch of beach. Shame the beach is FULL of kite surfers by about 10am (and yes, they surf right upto the shoreline without any consideration for swimmers at all).
Now this leads me to a few negatives. The beach area at the front of the hotel, with a few extra needed sunbeds, is not all that great, especially when you see the beachfront of others. It's a bit tatty, a bit worn, always wanted to just get back round the lovely pool. Beachside cafe is clean and a lovely gesture offering free afternoon tea & coffee, but then overpriced and not that special.
Service, overall, could be a lot better, or how I like to put it...charming. After staying in a chain hotel (Novotel) in the north, we'd experienced WoW service, with neat little personal touches. Nothing like that here, not one person standing out from the crowd. Always a shame, but not that uncommon anywhere these days, so I'm not going to mark them down that much for it.
So as for the buildings and accommodation. The main buildings and structures are traditional and lovely, to say the least. Got the impression that the hotel had recently changed hands, so there was a very small amount of work taking place.
The room had clearly been fully refurbished recently, and unfortunately made the room stink of paint and affected my asthma/ breathing slightly. And the room had clearly not been cleaned properly after refurbishment. But nevertheless, the room was charming and nicely laid out.
Overall, enjoyable week, yes I would go back and would recommend to people. Some little touches here and there would make a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciro2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had ordered transport through the hotel, to picl us up in Saigon airport and bring us to the hotel. We were told it would take around 4 hours, but it took 6. If you don't think you would like a 6 hours drive on bumpy roads, i would recommend to take on of the other places along the coast. There are several places where you can fly from Saigon in an hour, and the flights are cheap (Vietnam airlines). This area (Mui Ne / Phan Thiet) is a favorite aming Russians, so restaurants/hotels, etc are set up to serve the russians. I looked like a lot of places were also owned by russians. The hotel is located on the beach and a road with other restaurants and hotels. I would not stay any further north than this resort, as that area is not very good and clubs playing music till 3 in the morning. The staff at Sunny beach does not speak English so use "sign language" to communicate. There are two large pools but not enough sun beds. People went out at 5-6 in the morning to "reserve" the beds with towels, and left them there all day....There are several other resorts that looked a little better, but only those south of Sunny Beach.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with sea view. The rooms facing towards the road might be cheaper, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliasCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

First off, Sunny Beach Hotel is NOT in Phan Thiet but rather located 10 miles NW of a little town called Muine (pronounced by locals somewhat like the great painter Monet). Muine is a small sleepy tropical town (off-peak season) with plenty of awesome sights nearby to see which actually made our trip well-worth it. I'd say Sunny beach is a 3-star hotel with limited rooms with great facilities. A gym facing the beach and pool, beach side bar and well appointed garden landscape makes this hotel great for people who likes keeping busy while checked in. Breakfast buffet is a mix of native Vietnamese and standard western cuisine. Drinks and alcohol is fairly-priced if not cheaper compared to hotels in Saigon. The rooms are great but wished the AC was bit stronger especially mid-noon time. But the best part of trip was this hotel's accessing to things like spas, restaurants, shops which were just right across the street and the locations' access to great places to visit like the red and white sand dunes, the red clay-sand canyon formations and the fishing villages. We got that sight-seeing package from Dove Tours for $35 for 4 great locations... The best tour deal yet in my book! Full body massage was awesome too considering the price of about US$18. Just wished the Sunny Beach hotel staff smiled more...

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the beach or better yet choose one thats ON the beach! Get the full body massag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sunny Beach Resort – Mui Ne
This resort hotel is located between the beach and the main road. There is a large swimming pool and a few steps more – the South China Sea. Many shade trees shelter the lounge chairs in the pool area.
The room had comfortable beds, air conditioning, TV, and a safe. The shower stall leaked water onto the bathroom floor. There were only two small soaps for two people – not enough for washing and showering. Though internet was available in the lobby, it was not working the night I stayed. The receptionists then advised that I go a few businesses down to Kim Travel and try theirs. I walked there, and there’s was having trouble too. The receptionist might have called Kim Travel to check before sending me on the journey. Also, the receptionists did not inform me that there was fussball and a gym in the area below the main hall. (I found it on my own).
The morning breakfast buffet was varied, tasty, and filling. The open air nature of the buffet did permit a few flies, but not enough to be a nuisance. And the fresh sea air was a pleasant contrast to the air conditioning. And from the buffet it was only 50 paces away to the beach where I could watch, or learn, or partake in kite surfing, or simply surf or swim.
Overall, it was a most pleasant stay in a tropical paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

In October 2012 we spent 7 nights at Sunny Beach Resort. It was a beautiful setting right on the South China sea. The weather was beautiful and the sea temperature balmy. we had a delightful 2nd storey apartment looking out on beautifully kept tropical gardens and one of the pools. The complimentary breakfasts gave a great start to the day and we spent much of our time simply relaxing around the pool. The staff were very friendly and so wanting to help - they were a delight. We enjoyed eating in many of the local restaurants which offered great value for money. We hired a motor bike one day and travelled out to Mui Ne and the sand dunes and then further up the coast. It was a great way to see some of the local area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lovely resort, friendly staff, amazing giant pool , beautiful beach right outside the resort. Awesome buffet breakfast which comes with room. Room spacious and very tropical surroundings...air conditioned with big bathroom...would come back.

Room Tip: No elevators some rooms are two story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RACQUEL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
0.6 mi away
Swiss Village Resort
Swiss Village Resort
#31 of 123 in Phan Thiet
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Ocean Resort
Blue Ocean Resort
#14 of 123 in Phan Thiet
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
Saigon Mui Ne Resort
#41 of 123 in Phan Thiet
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Aria Muine
Villa Aria Muine
#7 of 123 in Phan Thiet
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Oceans Resort
Four Oceans Resort
#55 of 123 in Phan Thiet
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Beach Resort

Property: Sunny Beach Resort
Address: 64-66 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Phan Thiet 8000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#26 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#30 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sunny Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Beach Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing