We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet quality time, perfect for family”
Review of White Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Sands Resort
Ranked #41 of 123 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Vung Tau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet quality time, perfect for family”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very good time. Low season (late August) and thus not much guests, almost alone.
The pool was literally hot in the afternoon, slightly cooler in the morning.
The beach was just wonderful. Thanks to isolated location and the water-break there were no tourists wandering through the beach. There is some water-sport equipment. My kids did not get down from the canoe :) One observation - there are some sharp stones and I even scratched my palm once. But these stones are far during the high tide. Any way the sea was better during the high tide.
Plus, there is a small playground for kids away from the beach near the reception.
We stayed in the family bungalow with two bedrooms and one living room. The living room had comfortable bamboo furniture (sofa and armchairs). Only one drawback - the roof is made of palm branches and there is no ceiling. Insects we falling occasionally :) And obviously mosquitoes had good access from outside. There are mosquito nets, but I just don't like to use them - they make me feel claustrophobic :)
There are seafront rooms located almost at the beach and that provide excellent sea view.
The breakfast was limited on the first day - possibly due to little number of guests, but very substantial on the next morning with more guests. It was good.
I drive a car - so there was no problem with access to the main street with all the restaurants and whatever. It's just a few minutes drive. But if you need tranquility it's only for good.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are located perfectly, but cannot comment on the interior. Seems the palm branch roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vlad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you very much, what a fantastic review. so pleased you took the time to do this. I have noticed that you live in Vung Tau. We offer special rates for expats if you are looking to return. if you can contact us directly we can email you our offer: frontoffice@whitesandresort.com. Im so pleased you and your family enjoyed it here.

best regards Jordan & Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Rated at this resort during the low season the staff were great and attentitive. The managers Jordan and Harry as well as the staff take care if their guests in Mui Ne and made my travels very enjoyable. The beach is worth the stay with white sand and private long chairs as if you have your own private beach. The bar is also gorgeous with wooden panels and a great view of the beach. My advice is stay at White Sands it's personal and quiet which makes for a relaxing and wonderful stay in Mui Ne.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
On behalf of the team at White sands resort i would like to say thank you for your review.

I'm glad we could make your stay here so enjoyable and that the staff made you feel taken care of.
Thank you for your complements on our bar it has just been re designed to give guests a perfect view of the beach and sea while they enjoy a cocktail or two......
Once again we are pleased to hear such nice words about our beach we do say it is the best in Mui Ne

So Pleased to have had you at white sands resort i hope that you return in the near future.

Best wishes
Harry Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family was in this resort for 2 nights. the beach was so beautiful. The swimming pool, the jazzcuzi, steam room and sauna was so great. But our rooms were pretty old and smelly so i didn't really enjoy my time in the room. And there was a guardian took pictures of us girls wearing bikinies without any permission when we were standing in our room's balcony which was so annoyed and impolite. We didn't feel so comfortable after that. When we reported the problem to the receptionist, she tried to convince us that the guy was a new employee so he didn't know. But that reason wasn't good enough for us. Except that the food was fine and be careful with the sandbugs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. We were there offseason, so for our first two days we had the place to ourselves. It is about 8 km from Phan Thiet and a little bit more than that from Mui Ne. For us, this was perfect. Our family bungalow was well equipped. There are fans and AC. There is a minibar fridge that you can fit a few other drinks in. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. They had local and western offerings as well as fresh fruit. At breakfast, the restaurant seemed overstaffed, so they were very attentive. Their restaurant was being renovated, so we didn't have the chance to dine there. The front desk staff is helpful but their grasp of the English language is not fully there yet. This was not a problem, just an observation. For $100 USD a night, this resort was good value. Last but not least, their pool is in the top two pools I have swam in. After 27 years of travelling to 71 nations, this is high praise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at white sands.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and it was great to meet you all we are also pleased to inform you that our restaurant is now open after it and the kitchen have been completely refurbished.

We hope to see you again here soon.

Warmest regards Harry and Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wow I didn't want to leave this place as it was amazing and relaxing.
The accommodation was very good apart from it taking a while for any hot water to get through for a shower.
Only down point was the bungalow was right beside the restaurant and they decided to have a disco at 6.3 in the morning which was soon stopped by my good lady in no uncertain terms.
The staff were brilliant.
The place is a good ride by taxi into the town and when you arrive there isn't much to see or do to be honest so stay at the resort and relax.
All the food is fresh and very well priced.

Room Tip: Try not to be right next to the restaurant if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazinhx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We was in this resort for 5 nights. it is very nice hotel with beautiful garden and swimmingpool. the management and staff was very helpful. we had family bungalow with two rooms and livingroom. It was very huge and clean. the breakfast was buffet and it was good. the beach was clean and nice. the resort was in the silent place away from the busy beaches. food in restaurant was expensive and not very good. in the resort is playground for kids. the resort we very recommended. The area is windy, is good for kiting and hotel is little bit far from the centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familytravel_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Public Relations Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at white sands

We are very pleased to here your compliments towards our gardens, It is something that we take great pride in and always continue to develop.

Our dearest apologies for our food not being to your liking. We are quite surprised at this as usually our feedback is positive but this will not be ignored. This issue will be addressed immediately. Have you had mentioned this to one of our staff we would of changed the dish for you. Our food is priced competitively with other resorts in the area but never compromised for quality.

We see our distance of 2km outside of the mui ne strip as a great benefit to our resort, this makes the resort both private and peaceful. Some guests also enjoy walks along the beach to mui ne

We hope that you return in the near future.

Warmest regards Harry and Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently and on the positive side, the room was huge and well appointed, the facilities are 1st class and the beach is a delight. We had dinner in the restaurant rather then take a cab into Mui Ne and the food was excellent. Drinks are well priced too. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a great variety.
Other guests were a mix of Vietnamese and (mainly) Russians and the hotel did well to cater for both.
On the down side, as other reviews have said, is the staff. On checking in, a disinterested, borderline rude receptionist just handed over our key without a word and there was no information at all about the hotel and its facilities.
To be fair, the owner was on site and its a problem they recognise and are working on.
Don't let this detract from staying at a beautiful resort with a wonderful (kid friendly) pool area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisarow_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarryWSR, Public Relations Manager at White Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your custom at white sands
So please to here you found the food excellent and was inexpensive.

Our hotel is a very dynamic resort that caters well for all nationalities.

I would like to apologies on behalf of the staff who dealt with your check-in. Since your stay our entire check-in procedure has been improved. And reception staff have been retrained.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Kind Regards Harry and Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
2.5 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#25 of 123 in Phan Thiet
247 reviews
2.0 mi away
Unique Mui Ne Resort
Unique Mui Ne Resort
#42 of 123 in Phan Thiet
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phu Hai Resort
Phu Hai Resort
#13 of 123 in Phan Thiet
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Full Moon Village
Full Moon Village
#2 of 23 in Mui Ne
299 reviews
13.4 mi away
Green Organic Villas
Green Organic Villas
#23 of 123 in Phan Thiet
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Allezboo Beach Resort & Spa
Allezboo Beach Resort & Spa
#27 of 123 in Phan Thiet
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Property: White Sands Resort
Address: Km 8 Nguyen Dinh Chieu St | Phu Hai, Mui Ne Beach, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#27 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and try our excellent cuisine prepared in our international standard kitchen by our fully trained staff. Once you have dined here you will surely come back. Try out our health complex, Jacuzzi, steam rooms, sauna, massage and gym all there for your pleasure or just laze about by the swimming pool or on the beach; our staff are only a moment away should you require service. White Sands Resort looks forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Phan Thiet
White Sands Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing