We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every expectation met!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

After a breakneck adventure trip to Angkor Wat we needed a break. Check in was a dream, our room was clean and fresh, and the staff was smiling everywhere. I never saw happy grounds people before who greeted you with a "good morning" if you made eye contact. Breakfast was just what we hoped for, with a little struggle getting an all egg white omelette. However it was done. Coffee came just when we wanted it and always with a smile. The beach was clean and the pool was large. Our dinner beefsteak was a bit tough, however that has been a constant in Vietnam for us. We loved this place!!

Room Tip: I can not imagine a bad room. I liked second floor because of the distance from foot traffic, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelersAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 243 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. After the frenzy of Saigon it's just what we were looking for - a relaxing break to unwind and enjoy the rest of our holiday touring around Vietnam.

The resort is quite small given the image the word resort conjures up but the layout and tranquility on offer were superb. We stayed in a villa set back by one from the sea but had a clear view of the beach. There is a very tranquil feel to the place due to how it's laid out and you only really see other guests en masse at breakfast.

Rooms are really nice and staff friendly and helpful. Was concerned about the security given earlier reviews but could see regular security patrols and there was a lock from outside bathroom to room and safe in each room. We took the usual precautions of locking valuables in the safe. The only concern we had was the insistence of keeping our passports for the duration of our stay. God only knows what they were doing with them and one is advised not to give it to anyone especially for four or five days. We will raise this formally with the hotel as if they loose it it's going to be very inconvenient and not something they should be doing unchallenged. I would advise you to refuse and see what happens.

The breakfast was very good plenty of choice and all fresh. There were a couple of buffet meals on in the evenings. Given that it's a taxi ride into town and the food was quite nice it's worth a try if you like that locked away feeling. A taxi is around £1:50 into town and reception can book or ring for one that comes straight away. The hotel provide a bus with restricted times at the same price per person return.

On the whole a great place if you want a idyllic retreat tucked away and want some relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markfennelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Phu Hai Resort is a beautiful but secluded resort. We had a villa and it was beautiful. I especially loved the outdoor bamboo shower!

It is a short distance from both the Mui Ne strip and Phan Thiet city so taxis are required if you wish to leave the grounds. And if you get the reception staff to call for you, you will wait a good 20 mins before a taxi arrives. Better if you just walk out the the gates of the resort and find a whole bunch of them sitting there waiting.

I wouldn't recommend more than a few days stay there as I got bored as there is limited stuff to do.

The staff aren't that great and were pretty rude to my parents when they came to visit. (they assumed my parents were locals & not not foreigners and blasted across their Walkie talkies for the staff to keep an eye on them!)

All in all, the place is perfect if you want to kick back & relax but if you want to do things & see places I'd go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank china_tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This resort really surprised me, i never been to Vietnam before and did see this resort on the internet from Denmark. It has everything you need for a family vacation, very big pool, very Nice and big bungalows/ villas by the sea. Very good restaurant and cheap prices compared to the quality. We stayed in a villa 1. Sea row, biggest bathroom ever, 2 big beds and very big buffet breakfeast every morning even though it was low season. Only negative thing: you need a taxi to go anywhere, but 2 first days you just need to enjoy the resort and it's facilities. We stayed there 6 nights with our 2 children age 5 and 7. We payed about 750 kr. Pr. Night 4 people incl. Breakfeast, villa about 70 square meteres.

Room Tip: Every room in this resort is great, if you have the money, then spent it on a seawiew villa with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuglen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Our family group stayed for a 2nd time at Phu Hai Resort in November for 1 week, and how reassuring to see that some things don't change! Resort was as peaceful, well-manicured, and comfortable as it was 5 years ago.

We shared a 4 person bungalow (1 bedroom downstairs, 1 upstairs - each with private bathroom, and 3 separate A/C units worked well) with direct sea view, and the only sounds we heard (day & night) were the breaking waves. The staff addressed immediately our small concerns when A/C stopped working or light bulb needed replacing, and there is a silent army of groundskeepers who sweep the beaches and resort grounds each morning to remove the smallest fallen twig or leaf. True - power did cut out now & again, usually for no more than 10-20 seconds -- but we witnessed the same thing when we stopped in for dessert at the 5 star "Anantara Mui Ne Resort." So, power outages are not unique to Phu Hai.

The resort is now more "Russian friendly" than it was 5 years ago, with menu items now printed in Russian (along with English, German). And there were a good number of Russian couples and families staying there in November, but all were well behaved -- no drunkenness, screaming kids, or excessive cell phoning in the public areas of the resort.

Breakfast (included) does become a little mundane after 1 week. No fresh juices, and no variation in anything on the buffet: omelettes, blini, cut fruit, Vietnamese soup, and simple bread & rolls each morning. But passable. And we stayed "in" for dining during 3 nights at Phu Hai, and never tired of the Vietnamese fish, noodles, and soup selections. (There are European selections, too; we just never tried them.) Not spectacular, but adequate and well priced. The other nights, we went into the Mui Ne village - about $2 taxi each way.

As for the unlucky MBA group who had theft problems, we had cell phones, an i-Pad, and two laptop computers with us. No theft issues. We found the grounds were discreetly and regularly patrolled by staff, maybe in response to their laptop thefts. At any rate, I don't think crime is a regular concern at Phu Hai. All in all, a very peaceful beach resort.

Room Tip: Choose "sea-view" bungalow. Costs more (sure), but you'll see & hear the waves day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Man-in-Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

“Beautiful hotel ...wonderful service”
Stayed here for three nights at the end of a tour of Vietnam. A great place to unwind and beautifully laid out. The hotel was quite busy yet it never felt crowded. Staff were universally attentive. My wfe and I simply loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for a week in one of the beach view bungalows and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ambience is very relaxed with lovely sea views and kid-friendly pool 15 yards away. Bungalows are first-class with very cool outdoor shower - and you can lock the bathroom door. They are thoroughly cleaned every day and the staff were friendly towards the kids - e.g. cutting down and cutting open a coconut. The beach itself is a little disappointing as they are generally perhaps in Vietnam - murky water and a strange iodine(?) foam - although the kids (and some of the adults) loved playing in it. No problem for kids in the sea current - at least when we were there. Never got round to using the pool tables or tennis courts but the kids did enjoy the small playroom with cheap, coin-operated rides. (Parents won't!) Staff, esp on front desk, were a bit blase at times and the voucher system for food was an undending mystery. The food was good although the set (i.e. voucher) menu was a bit too basic. The weekend barbie on the other hand was great - but watch out gets busy when all the Saigon crowd pile in. Stay midweek if you want a chill out. I recommend the beer at the Hoa Vien Brauhaus - best beer I tasted in Vietnam - we took some back to the hotel with us.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and insist on front-row sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
2.2 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 24 in Mui Ne
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cliff Resort & Residences
The Cliff Resort & Residences
#9 of 128 in Phan Thiet
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#10 of 128 in Phan Thiet
1,018 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#4 of 128 in Phan Thiet
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Takalau Resort
Takalau Resort
#6 of 24 in Mui Ne
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km 8, Nguyen Dinh Chieu Street | Phu Hai ward, Phan Thiet 800000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#9 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
#15 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range: $52 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phu Hai Resort is located on three hectares of landscaped tropical gardens leading to a private beach with pristine sand and unspoiled water, the four stars Phu Hai Resort boasts French-style architecture infused with traditional Vietnamese heritage and nature local materials. Accommodation comprises of 46 Deluxe Rooms and 38 Luxurious Villas with the most modern amenities. All are well appointed and offer a balcony or terrace, air condition, telephone, mini bar, television LCD, safety box, hair dryer ... The Vietnamese style villas combine with subtle modern French architecture nestled under the green trees. The outdoor swimming pool is designed with soft curves, surrounded by umbrella canopy and full of life flower-garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phu Hai Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing