We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”
Review of Blue Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Ocean Resort
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I travelled to Mui Ne enroute to Saigon. I had no expectations when I arrived and was blown away with how lovely the beach was. I stayed in the Seaview Bungalow. It was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in; indoor & outdoor bathroom, views of the beach, little balcony area to sit and read a book. The resort itself was run by a professional team that were always willing to make sure guests were comfortable. The restaurant food was also excellent quality. I loved my stay; low key, friendly, beautiful room & surroundings. An unexpected gem for a weekend away where you want to chill, enjoy the beach, and feel like you are re-charged.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    155
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
80
177
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at the Blue Ocean during New Year;s eve for 2 nights and were quite pleased with the setting. Our pool view room was ready on arrival with an extra bed for our son and there were personalised welcome letters from the GM waiting at the desk. The room was large and had a large capacity aircon, which is essential in Mui Ne, which can get quite hot during the day. The staff were uniformly friendly and efficient. The layout was beautiful and so were the design and color themes in the resort - cream paint, lots of bamboo and light orange cushions everywhere. Very pleasant and classy. The restaurant right on the beach made breakfast an affair to look forward to. The New year dinner, for which the GM, Shane and his partner/spouse welcomed all guests personally, could have been better we thought as the programs were more culturally oriented while we expected a more high energy affair. Like most places at Vietnam, this resort too had very limited choice of vegetarian food. The resort is located bang in the middle of the Mui Ne "strip" and there are enough shops, restaurants, bars a short walk away.

We recommend this place highly, especially because we stayed at the hyped Victoria Phan Thiet for a night which was a horrible experience at almost double the cost ! We wanted to get back to the Blue Ocean in an hour but they had unfortunately sold out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganesh_Ratnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Great resort, location & facilities but it was a killjoy for us to detect the smell of smoke in our bungalow.
When we contacted reception to request a room change, we were told there are no such thing as 'smoke-free' rooms and rooms are only sanitized via air refreshers.
The air refreshers took care of the smell in the room but only to discover when we went to sleep that the smoke is imbedded in the bedding and we were simply snuggling into smoke-scented sheets and pillows.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tetua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha tran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Mui ne is a bit painful to get to from Saigon but worth it if you want a relaxing beach getaway. Blue ocean resort was very affordable, clean, good buffet breakfast and friendly vietnamese service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I had never heard of Mue Ni and did not really know what to expect. The check in at Blue Ocean Resort was first class, a cold towel, fruit punch along with a friendly and prompt receptionist. We were taken to our garden bungalow by a very friendly porter and was surprised by the size and quality. A large bedroom with a big king size bed and LCD tv, a very large bathroom with excellent amenities and large veranda with two comfortable sofas. From the veranda we viewed across the well maintained tropical garden to the swimming pool, an excellent place to relax with a cocktail or two.
We booked the room with breakfast and this was a good descision, we found the breakfast to be of good quality and excellent choice, if you enjoy your bacon & eggs or you are a cereal and pastry person then the BOR as it all plus a lot more. Their choice of fresh juices and freshly baked bread is second to none.
The garden runs right down the the white sandy beach which is perfect for children, the garden also as a few Salas overlooking the beach, perfect for relaxation.
Overal we found the place to be very friendly, relaxing and value for money and would recomend for couples or families.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_China_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Ocean Resort after spending time in Hanoi and Sapa and it was a welcomed break from the hustle and bustle of the city. The resort was absolutely beautiful and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. The pool area is very trendy and the beach is relaxing. If you are interested in Kite Surfing or Wind Surfing Mui Ne is the place to be - the wind kicked up every day around noon and the kite surfing schools were busy with new customers. Breakfast was delicious and right on the beach - amazing views. We stayed in the Gardenview villas which were beautiful and very clean. The Spa at the resort is top notch - $65 gets you a 2.5 hour package with a sauna, coconut and black sesame body scrub, 90 minute massage and fresh fruits. I was in heaven at their spa. Phan Thiet town has man great restaurants and shops and we felt very safe walking around at night - definitely try the delicious seafood.

If you stay here definitely take a morning trip to the White and Red Sand Dunes for sunrise you will not be dissappointed. Stop on the way back at the Mui Ne Fishing village to see the colorful fishing boats and the thousands of sea shells at the water's edge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We went from India to this resort, excellent stay overall. Kudos to the hotel mgmt.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajarshipanigrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
0.3 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#3 of 123 in Phan Thiet
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cham Villas
Cham Villas
#1 of 123 in Phan Thiet
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#11 of 123 in Phan Thiet
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#23 of 123 in Phan Thiet
248 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Resort
Address: 54 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Ham Tien | Mui Ne, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#9 Luxury Hotel in Phan Thiet
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
#15 Romantic Hotel in Phan Thiet
#16 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Ocean Resort is a tranquil oasis for visitors to Mui Ne from all over the world. With the friendly and family-like atmosphere, this is the place to relax, where you can enjoy a cool drink at the beach or the pool or indulge yourself into a rejuvenating massage at the Beachside Sala. Our Senses Restaurant offers a wide choice of specialties from South Vietnam as well as internationally popular dishes. The extensive beverage menu ranges from classics to exotic creations, like one of our signature cocktails "Dragonfruit Mojito". At Blue Ocean Spa, our therapists make sure you find the perfectly matched treatment for your needs & wishes: from Asian Foot Reflexology to Yoghurt & Tumeric Skin Smoother or a Coconut Milk Bath. If you are adventurous, there are several areas to explore and the Blue Ocean Family is there to assist you: lend a bike to explore Ham Tien Ward, take a walk up the sand dunes or through the fairy stream or book a day tour to Da Lat or the Mekong Delta. Or simply visit Phan Thiet and discover the local market or the old Cham Towers. Get ready for a real recreational vacation at Blue Ocean Resort in beautiful Mui Ne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Blue Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing