We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rat ran by our table after only 1 hour there, the staff looked like this was normal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Resort
Ranked #44 of 125 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Not worth the money. Either spend less and get a value room or spend an extra 15$ and go to one of the resorts. 

The positive was a large room an ok bathroom. The hotel seemed family friendly, Aka kids where screaming and running around the pool from 7am until 9pm. 

The rat that ran past out table and towards the kitchen area was our biggest concern. The staff didn't seem to bothered about this. The food was poor compared to the price charged.

The staff are generally unhelpful and just ignore you. We couldn't go on a customer PC as the bar staff was on it downloading pirated software.  

The location is ok with but there is no beach when the tide comes in and there us not nearly enough sun loungers for the number of guests. The sea is so rough you couldn't risk getting in at high tide as you would be washed into the concrete steps. 

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcsb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 150 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel was good and was well worth the money. The hotel is divided in two buildings, one at the beach and the other one on the other side of the road faced to the hills. The hotel is placed in the middle of Mui Ne, close to shops and restaurants. We stayed in a seaside deluxe room on the second floor. The room was spacious and even if it was faced to the road we wasn’t disturbed by the traffic. We didn’t have any problems with our bed, it was comfortable enough. But if you only want to stay in your room and watch TV there will be a problem, the TV reception is really bad. We loved the 2 big pools and the seaside beds that had a great view over the spectacular ocean. Tien Dat don’t have any beach, only a stair directly to the water. But it didn’t matter for us because most of the times it was too windy and too big waves to swim in the ocean. If you still want some beach you can just walk a few meters and you will have it. Mui Ne is the kite surfers paradise so there are really windy here. If you don’t like to go up early and reserve a sun bed you can take it easy. After breakfast you go over the street to the other pool, every time we were there we only shared it with a few people. We found the staff being very polite but a little bit reserved.

There were a few things that weren’t quite to our expectations. Even if it was a breakfast buffet with bacon, omelets and fresh fruits it still felt a little bit poor. The round trip tour we took through the hotel didn’t have any English speaking driver and we also didn’t get any paper with information. It would have been fun to know some more about the things and places we looked at. And some of the places we looked at were ridiculous; The Dragon fruit farm is only someone’s backyard along the road.

If you go to Saigon, do the most shopping there because it is more expensive in Mui Ne. The sleeping buses are perfect to travel between Saigon and Mui ne, it cost around 7-9$ and will take around 4-5 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel was good and was well worth the money. The hotel is divided in two buildings, one at the beach and the other one on the other side of the road faced to the hills. The hotel is placed in the middle of Mui Ne, close to shops and restaurants. We stayed in a seaside deluxe room on the second floor. The room was spacious and even if it was faced to the road we wasn’t disturbed by the traffic. We didn’t have any problems with our bed, it was comfortable enough. But if you only want to stay in your room and watch TV there will be a problem, the TV reception is really bad. We loved the 2 big pools and the seaside beds that had a great view over the spectacular ocean. Tien Dat don’t have any beach, only a stair directly to the water. But it didn’t matter for us because most of the times it was too windy and too big waves to swim in the ocean. If you still want some beach you can just walk a few meters and you will have it. Mui Ne is the kite surfers paradise so there are really windy here. If you don’t like to go up early and reserve a sun bed you can take it easy. After breakfast you go over the street to the other pool, every time we were there we only shared it with a few people. We found the staff being very polite but a little bit reserved.

There were a few things that weren’t quite to our expectations. Even if it was a breakfast buffet with bacon, omelets and fresh fruits it still felt a little bit poor. The round trip tour we took through the hotel didn’t have any English speaking driver and we also didn’t get any paper with information. It would have been fun to know some more about the things and places we looked at. And some of the places we looked at were ridiculous; The Dragon fruit farm is only someone’s backyard along the road.

If you go to Saigon, do the most shopping there because it is more expensive in Mui Ne. The sleeping buses are perfect to travel between Saigon and Mui ne, it cost around 7-9$ and will take around 4-5 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We booked a beach front deluxe room, which like the previous reviewer lead directly to the pool, which was fantastic. The staff at check-in seemed to be the most bitter and lacked any customer service skills which is a contrast to the other hotels we stayed at in Vietnam. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom, however the mould around the sink and shower was a little off putting. Limited amount of toilet paper available?!?! We had asked for additional pillows but was told only 1 could be supplied even though both of us had requested them, which leads me to the bed! The bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab with a sheet and thin duvet! I would have to say that this was the worst bed I have ever experienced during any of our numerous hotel stays. The wait staff and cleaning staff are friendly and put the the reception staff to shame. The breakfast included in our room rate was OK, Orange juice is served as TANG (powered orange juice) limited fresh fruit available, and the toaster was the worst. Coffee was a poor standard in fact the worst I had while in Vietnam, and considering the vietnam people love their coffee! The Location of Tien Dat Resort (Blue Waves Resort) was great, dead smack bang in the middle of Mui Ne, walking distance to most restaurants and shops. When eating at some of the restaurants opposite the resort you need to clearly spell out what you want or mean, as they have very limited english - but their heart is there and offer great service. We booked through Tien Dat resort our bus service back to HCMC, and asked a receipt and was told they couldn't offer one? I asked how do we know we are booked and the shocking customer service of the receptionist said we would just need to trust her! (something that is not normal in Vietnam). Although the hotel offers free wifi internet - it would have to be the worst in Vietnam! Most restaurants offer free WiFi and is 100 times better than Tien Dat. We would not recommend this hotel, as there are plenty of other options with similar rates and that had better offerings.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpamelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Stayed here for 4 days. It's not bad for the money. Staff are a little cold and we had some hilarious moments trying to order food at the pool- be very clear what you want :-) The pool itself is great, though loses sun after about 3 but they have some sun loungers on the beach. The rooms were big, really nice, huge bathroom, and we had a lovely little balcony leading down to the pool. The only downside was the amount of mosquitoes- we had to do a makeshift rig up with our net. But apart from that it's a good place. Few words of caution: the internet here is rubbish, and the spa... well I had a Vietnamese massage, and I seriously think it did more harm then good. I'd stay again but there are a lot of good places in Mui ne so shop around and see what you can get; though Mui ne is just generally more expensive than a lot of Vietnam.
Finally, there are some good restaurants to the left, opposite side of the street. The beach front place immediately to the left is terrible- ignore the guide books on this one!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamgreat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The resort was ok. Nothing special. The biggest drawback was the awful customer service. Unatentive and clueless reception and staff. Rooms were sparse. Pool was very nice. Little beach. For the money you are better off staying at the many other beach side resorts.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank China_Cowboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Booked into this hotel via a tour office. On first arrival went to main hotel next to beach to be told our room was across the road. Disappointed by this as in my experience this usually means being shown the run down rooms at the back. Nothing could be further from the truth. The 2nd part of the hotel was beautiful, clean and benefited from its location by having quieter pool and bar area. We had a room on the 5th floor with sea view. The room was so lovely and clean and we had a balcony with chairs. The service was brilliant-people were so helpful. We can't see why this is a 3 star hotel and not 4 star. The only thing not so great was the buffet breakfast, but it was adequate. Definitely recommend staying here and asking for the hotel across the road.

Mui Ne is quiet, but this is part of its charm. It has a row of lovely, good value restaurants. The beach is beautiful and there is wind surfing/kite surfing for hire and lessons. Hire a moped and see the dunes-well worth it. Lots of massage shops as well where you can haggle a good rate. It is the sort of place the longer you stay, the more you realise its charm and it is a welcome chill out place after hitting Ho Chi Minh city for a few days. We stayed 6 nights and paid $50 per night - the rooms with pool view on ground level (exactly the same inside) were only $42.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glitterbaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
1.2 mi away
Four Oceans Resort
Four Oceans Resort
#52 of 125 in Phan Thiet
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#24 of 125 in Phan Thiet
260 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dynasty Mui Ne Beach Resort
Dynasty Mui Ne Beach Resort
#57 of 125 in Phan Thiet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Swiss Village Resort
Swiss Village Resort
#31 of 125 in Phan Thiet
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novela Muine Resort & Spa
Novela Muine Resort & Spa
#48 of 125 in Phan Thiet
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shades Resort
Shades Resort
#12 of 125 in Phan Thiet
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Resort

Address: 94A Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Phan Thiet
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#27 Spa Hotel in Phan Thiet
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range: $36 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lovely resort is sited in surrounding of privacy and quiet elegance. Blue sea, white sand, cool sea wind... are all waiting for you. See Tien Dat Resort like never before with our Photo Gallery ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waves (Tien Dat) Hotel Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing