We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amaryllis Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel had hostile management, beach was dirty and had rocks which made swimming unsafe.
Pool area was very good but bar prices were high and water is three dollars a bottle. Lights out at 10.30 and therefore walking back to your room is hazardous!
No live entertainment and food is definatly 2/3star, the hotel itself is only barely 3 star. I would not recommend it as the restaurants outside this complex are a taxi ride away as are the shops and therefore not accessible unless you have a car or travel by taxi..

Room Tip: Beach rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jenny315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Amaryllis Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I must say that we expected the standard of the hotel to be quite high for a 4-star hotel, but we were positively surprised to discover it even much higher.
We felt welcome and taken care of from the first day. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially whose girls working at the breakfast buffet and restaurant. The breakfast is good, the fruit section is of great variety. The room is spacious and the terrace overlooking the sea is convenient. There is a safe-box at the room which comes in handy. Sometimes there was a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for us at the room while we were sun-bathing near the pool. The internet works perfectly. When we arrived, we got coupons for the spa and beach bar. Nice! Try spa there. They are professionals! You won't be disappointed.
There are some things to keep in mind before you book this hotel.
The location: it is situated on the outskirts from the main Mui Ne street. Good if you want to have max fewer people and less noise around you. You need to take a taxi if you want to eat in other restaurants that at the hotel's. We took a taxi every evening. Once we decided to walk along the beach from Mui Ne to our hotel. It was ok, but we got sunburned and were very tired after that. My suggestion - take a taxi. The little cab is always cheaper (50-60 000 dongs) than the big one (80-100 000 dongs). The receptionist can order taxi for you.
Receipts: Keep all the receipts you get from the hotel: reception, restaurant, beach bar in order to avoid any misunderstandings when checking-out. If you pay for smth, do not write the room number. You may be charged twice.
The beach: is is clean and so on. But you will not be able to swim because of high waves. Only jumping in the waves and then off to the swimming pool. This place is sometimes visited by wind-surfers...
The swimming-pool: ok pool. Although it is written in the rules "Please, do not smoke, so that others can enjoy the stay", they still smoke. Take it or leave it. I usually changed my seat when smb started to smoke near me. One usually reserve a seat at the reception. You get a map of the pool there to choose what seat you want and then you get a small sheet of paper with your number on.
All in all, If I ever go back to Mui Ne, I will probably stay here again. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just returned from 6 nights in the Amaryllis - first impression - even better than on the internet. We were very impressed with the hotel and particularly our room. We were right overlooking the sea and the room was outstandingly clean and beautifully furnished. We have never been to any hotel so clean in all areas, pool, gardens, rooms and public areas. Built directly onto the beach - with lovely beds, etc - it was ideal to laze or walk along the beautiful sands. It was lovely as the sun went down to sit on the balcony with a drink and watch the fishing boats - heaven
We ate in the hotel and were extremely satisfied with quality and price. One evening we went down to Muine but were very disappointed. A long street with a straggle of shops selling the same thing and local bars trying to get you inside, Cheaper than the hotel to eat but not worth the effort.
We would recommend this hotel if you wish to relax and just spend time together. We would certainly go back

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a Deluxe premium with balcony - request to be right on the front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jenna109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Nice, big enough territory, good beach with white sand, beautiful swimming pool..
We lived in "deluxe family room (№101)" - it's huge, clean, very-very comfortable (but one night there was a lizard (!) in our room - very strange thing :). Staff was friendly.
Breakfast - european standart:)
The only thing is its location - a bit far from the main Mui Ne street with restaurants, spa and other things. To get there you should take taxi (2$ one way). But, in my opinion, thats not a problem :)

P.S My advice: do not stay in Mui Ne more than 4-5 days, it is very very boring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ArturKulaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Very nice and cosy resort. We enjoyed the clean swimming pool, coconut garden and nice lunch bar. The sea was bit rough, but the morning walks but the beach were great, found many treasures. In the evening we went to MUINE for dinner, once went to Phan THiet town for an evening walk, fantastic experience. The only disadvantage was the service during the breakfast, not very friendly staff and you have to push them all the time so they would bring missing food. Apart from that I would recomend the hotel to everybody with small children, as they have possibility of sea and swimming pool, great grass garden.

Room Tip: Beach house
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SabrinaSeckova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our expectations for Mui Ne beach were not so high . Staying 3 days in HCMC Five stars american hotel standard recommend us to visit this area waiting for a delayed flight for bangkok. Guided to Amaryllis Resort quickly forced our admiration , finding out an awesome arty hotel.No words to describe out of reality days where we experienced seafood stuff from the region as the manager, coming from Lausanne (which is the top school talent for industry )directly satisfied our needs and stomach.No surprise then finding: a Friendly staff , everything seems high adjusted , . I definitely recommend this high level standardised resort for couples / Family . The beach is huge ! Could contain 4 soccer playground. Amaryllis certainly for a long time

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mayonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I feel compelled to contribute to this site, having never written anythnig negative about a hotel previously. I, too was part of the group staying at the hotel when the below comment was written and I am absolutely shocked and outraged by both the tone and the content of the hotel manager in his response.
As married expats whom have lived in Vietnam for three years, working in both business and education, I can assure you that we are not unreasonable or noisy guests. Yes, it is true that two of us brought a cricket bat and ball to the pool- oh, the horror! Let me put that in context though, this was at 11am for maybe 45 minutes and again at 4pm for half an hour. To further contextualise, it was a tennis ball down one end of the pool. More? How about that there were only approximately 5 other guests staying there. Were they concerned? No. Did they ask us to stop? No. Had they done, I would have happily done so. But no, the manager, as if he was speaking to small children rudely told us to stop. As for the insinuation that somehow we were forcing the Vietnamese staff to 'act as ballboys' , this is incorrect and frankly insulting. There was one guy in the garden who happily threw a ball to us on the rare occasion it went on the grass. We actually invited him to play and he seemed to want to join in....maybe he was scared of his manager?
At this point, I should add that the staff are wonderful there- all very smiley, helpful and friendly; they just seem fearful of breaknig one of the many arbitrary and petty rules.
As regards our 'arrogant behaviour' , it beggars belief that a hotel manager wouldf actually refer to his guests in such a way. What 'arrogance', pray tell, were we guilty of? Questioning one of the many rules? The rules by the way, are extensive- just to give you an idea of how stupid and officious they are: one may not "play a board game without informing staff first", we were not even allowed to turn over the tv in the (deserted) lobby to watch another channel without a good 15 minutes of wrangling.
As for the kitchen staying open 'extra late' to prepare us food. Well, excuse us for being guests! This is what hotels do- keep guests happy. As an 'professional in hospitality" , I thought this would be obvious. As with most people coming to Phan Thiet/ Mui Ne for the weekend, we came from Saigon, leaving at 330. We arrived at 930 in the hotel- hardly unreasonably late.
So, in conclusion, I hope that this in fact offers 'precision' to the sad events of the weekend. In all, this manager has rather shot himself in the foot- with all of our party having pretty hight profile jobs in HCMC, we will be telling anyone who will listen that until the manager has a complete change in attitude or is changed, Amaryllis is to be avoided like the plague. A lovely place, spoiled by a clipboard-toting, rule-obsessed individual.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
2.1 mi away
Bamboo Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
Phu Hai Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 125 in Phan Thiet
243 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pandanus Resort
Pandanus Resort
#1 of 23 in Mui Ne
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
Anantara Mui Ne Resort
#10 of 125 in Phan Thiet
1,003 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliff Resort & Residences
The Cliff Resort & Residences
#9 of 125 in Phan Thiet
678 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mia Resort Mui Ne
Mia Resort Mui Ne
#4 of 125 in Phan Thiet
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaryllis Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Resort & Spa

Address: Hamlet 5 | Phu Hai Ward, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Price Range: $46 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaryllis Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amaryllis Resort & Spa is located 5 minutes away of the city of Phan Thiet. It is well-known for its authenticity with the turquoise blue of the South China Sea. The philosophy of the resort is to spend time on the terraces immersed within a second ocean: the ocean of coconut trees. Of these terraces, the view is impressive & calming. This is the ideal place to relax & to sunbath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amaryllis Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing