We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place but bad service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #66 of 122 Hotels in Phan Thiet
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good place but bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The manager is not nice at all.. He provide a really bad customer service ..
The breakfast is not good .. There is no many choices.. and small quantity. Moreover, you take your breakfast next to the main road..
The swimming pool is pleasant, the room also but the bathroom is quite rustic compared to the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just came back from Mui Ne and stayed at Sunrise for 3 nights at there Sea view room. Room number 10 at $70/night. Little bit overprice for this type of hotel. But The room was very big with your own little private deck right in front of the beach, with full view of the hotel. The service was good and you can have your breakfast brought to you at your private deck. The pool was good. The only thing was the beach was less then pretty even when we had great weather all three days. Beach are better toward Coco beach resort, Aria Resort next to Coco beach looked really nice.

Room Tip: Number 10 is there best room on offer, so if you can get it at a good price then get number 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billydog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

While we really enjoyed our stay in Sunrise resort we had money go missing from our room.

To highlight the good points - the room and premises were clean, the front desk staff were friendly, the pool was great with nice reclining beds to relax on and the beach was swimmable directly from the hotel. Both beach towels and shower towels were provided in the room as well.

To highlight the bad points - the bed was worn and had 'ribs' that stuck into your back. The shower pulsated in flow and fluctuated between hot and cold. Cleaning staff woke us up to clean the room, and when we returned 10 minutes later to get some things we found them all laying on our bed.

We did however have a serious problem during our stay, and it’s probably best we briefly highlight our case for a fair review:

- Before taking the bus to Mue Né, we withdrew several million VND

- We split the smaller notes of 200,000 and below into my wife’s purse and kept the larger notes in my money belt to pay for future bus, train and accommodation. Since we'd pre-booked everything until Nha Trang, we didn't need access to the money belt so we didn’t open it.

- We stayed three nights at Sunrise resort and unfortunately it was only after we left Mue Né and arrived at Nha Trang that we checked the money belt and discovered that 3,000,000 VND had been stolen.

-The only time we did not wear the money belt or did not have it locked away was during our first morning at Sunrise resort when we went to breakfast. We took our room key with us to breakfast and we were surprised when we returned half an hour later to find that the room had been cleaned while we’d eaten breakfast. Unfortunately, since we’d assumed no one would be entering our room as we had the key our valuables, including the money belt, were visible and sitting on the table. This was the only time we have ever left it unattended.

- We were understandable upset and emailed the manager asking him to please question his staff with the hope the thief would own up. He replied promptly only to query our tardiness in reporting the theft (I agree it was odd that it was a day after we checked out and 3 days after the theft, but we didn't need to access the money belt before then). He stated that his staff had been working there for many years and were trusted.

- In addition, we keep an extremely accurate record on our laptop and smartphone of ALL the money that we spend each day. So we could prove the theft, probably to the police with ease, as we have precise records of what we withdraw and spent as our data is entered after every transaction and has timestamps.

Basically, money went missing from our room and we suspect who the staff who were there during the time frame and had the opportunity. Due to this, and the fact that we didn’t get a clear response about whether the manager actually questioned his cleaning staff, we cannot recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The staff speak a little english and the hotel have a good location, near some really good restaurant like Hoang restaurant with nice seafood!
The rooms are nice, and clean but I advise you the room at the 1st floor, because the others are around the swimmong pool, if you want more intimacy.
Other point: there is no beach, the hotel is just in front of the sea, but no playa to take rest. If you stay at the hotel I advise you to go at the Mia hotel to enjoy the playa, a great place to take a drink and to take a sunbather!

Room Tip: Choose the room at the 1st floor or near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had a lovely time at this resort - the location is ideal (right on the beach) and the pool is great as the beach isn't really sunbathing territory due to the kitesurfers... Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Very chilled!! The bungalows are spacious with good channels on the TV. Would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Sunset Beach Resort for two nights. The hotel is located directly on the beach. There is also a quite large and well kept swimming pool. That's great, because the sea was very rough at the time we were there. The room was not very spacious but clean and had a large window facing the garden. A small breakfast was included.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had originally booked a hotel that was a bit too "flash" for us - we are more of the cheap and cheerful types - not the "luxury" type. Sunrise fit the bill for us. We looked at a few other comparative guest houses - there was the $25 a room hotel attached to a bar - that was def a no - go. When we stopped by Sunrise we were shown the three choices of rooms he had available.
$35 will get you a standard room. A bit more gets you the view of the pool and a larger room (double bed and single bed) we literally had to step out of our room and saw the pool - just couldn't see it from our room. or option 3 for about $65 could go for the corner, on the ocean, private balcony room. We opted for the first option. (Our previous room at the other hotel was $55 and we had to walk across the street to get to breakfast, the ocean or pool.
There is a comfortable feel to this hotel. The staff didn't speak a lot of English, but VERY nice, and accommodating. The owner does speak English very well and was around normal business hours so no worries there. He booked our bus trip out and was ready to answer any questions we had.
This hotel offers free breakfast - your choice of a few different options. Breakfast was good - the only thing I would recommend is bringing out the drinks before the breakfast - when all you want is your tea or coffee but it doesn't arrive until the pancakes are made... silly gripe - but little things like that do leave an impression.
I also like the afternoon "tea time break" free tea/coffee and some cookies - a nice touch.
Wifi worked in the room about 80% of the time.
As I mentioned, we stayed in the room right behind the office and you do kind of feel like you are in a fish bowl - one of the walls is completely made of glass so you either have your drapes open or closed - open for all to see, or closed and blocking all the light. Def not a deal breaker for us - but it might be for you.
The pool was lovely, very clean and you look out over the beach/ocean and all the kitesurfers flying around.
As the post below mentions, there isn't much "beach" on Mui Ne - not a big deal for us.
I also can see how not having a "do not disturb" sign can get frustrating (I did come back from a late breakfast to them cleaning the room - I didn't really feel like I had "left" for the day and wasn't ready for it to be cleaned - but it only takes a few minutes and they are out of your hair)
I was impressed by them constantly cleaning the pool, windows, pine needles, etc.
Ordered a mango juice and banana smoothie and they came out warm - very weird... :(
We had no problem with the comfort of beds
The air conditioning worked - a little too well, probably operator error but we could only figure out on or off.
We were very pleased with our stay here. I hope you enjoy it as well.
I reviewed a few of the places we ate as well. Oh - and the laundry across the street was fine for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phan Thiet hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Beach Ressort
Sunshine Beach Ressort
#89 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Joe's Cafe and Garden Resort
Joe's Cafe and Garden Resort
#60 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ananda Resort
Ananda Resort
#26 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Oceans Resort
Four Oceans Resort
#54 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novela Muine Resort & Spa
Novela Muine Resort & Spa
#49 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hiep Hoa Resort
Hiep Hoa Resort
#35 of 122 in Phan Thiet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Property: Sunrise Resort
Address: 72 Nguyen Dinh Chieu, Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Thiet
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Phan Thiet
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Phan Thiet
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Phan Thiet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Phan Thiet
Sunrise Resort Phan Thiet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing