We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel..not really for westerners”
Review of Golden Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Sea Hotel
Ranked #169 of 284 Hotels in Da Nang
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. It is positioned equally between the beach and the river so it is a 5-10 minute walk to either? The beach is huge and quiet,very beautiful. There are some fisherman pulling in massive nets, very interesting to view their catch.

The hotel is clean and spacious. It was quiet, almost too quiet. We were the only people in the restaurant at the times we used it. That being said, we are traveling out of season.

The buffet breakfast is Vietnamese with noodles and rice on offer along with a large selects of other unknown choices.

The guest relations girl Huong, was extremely helpful. The best we have come across on our trip. She speaks extremely good English, which makes up for our lack of Vietnamese.

Da Nang at night is a real spectacle. Not to be missed, especially Dragon Bridge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Linen looks like it has been slept in for months!! Rooms smell of stale cigarette smoke. Got locked in one room when receptionist showing us an alternative. Old thongs in cupboard someone has left behind. Can't believe this is the same room we booked on inet!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenno52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Thank goodness Hoi An is so close! We checked into this hotel for 2 nights. We would not even attempt to un pack our ruck sacks. (We moved onto a better 4 star down in Hoi An for the next 3 nights)!

The room was smelling like it had just been opened up for us for the first time in a long time.
There was cob webs in the corners of the wall next to the window. The lamp shade was stained and so were the net curtains. The furniture in the room was "rickety" and well worn. The bed drape was tatty and very worn - not appealing to want to sleep in the bed sadly.

The bath had chips in the bottom and once again not a welcoming bath room.

A very un-wholesome feel about the place. The lifts were hit and miss so we took the stairs from the 7th floor as we were concerned we would get stuck!

Staff were friendly and helpful though.

We checked out even though we had already paid. The stairs were caked in dust and the reception furniture was "sticky" and wobbly tables. We are not snobs but just think this is not a hotel for Westerners to be honest. We stayed in 3 star accommodation across Vietnam and Cambodia - this place is more like a 1 star.

We left feeling that we needed a good scrub with a wire brush and a bottle of Dettol.

We would not recommend this hotel to Westerners - sorry Golden Sea Hotel.

Room Tip: we booked a "deluxe"- nothing deluxe about it!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Feb13, although one of the older hotels on the East Side they have refurbished it and it is in great condition, comfortable rooms, located on the main road between the city and the beach, close to the Danang EastSide Monorail Terminal, so easy access to the beach and town.

Lovely Italian Restaurant run by Timo the Italian Chef , they are expanding the size of the hotel now adding some new JLB deluxe suites and an additional couple of floors.

Room Tip: ask for the JLB Suite
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffery M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

last summer, following friend suggestion, i went to Da Nang and stay at the Golden Sea Hotel. i had got a wonderful time here with my family. there is the beautiful beach to my opinion. Morever, we are the most welcome guest in the Golden Sea Hotel. In this hotel, we could get the whole Da Nang city view and Da Nang beach view, comfortable accommodation and and properly resting

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSeaHotel M, Ecommerce Manager at Golden Sea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Emily L,

Thank you very much for your review , we glad to know that you enjoy the great time during your stay in Golden sea Danang Hotel . It's a vital motivation key for us to improve our excellent services and your happy is our vision . We are looking to see you again soon.
Cheers,
Ms Jenny Tran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Me and my family checked into Golden Sea Hotel by chance, really but were very glad we did. The rooms were great and the massage service was exceptional. We decided to pay a little extra for the JLB Suite (apparently named after a famous local hero). The suite was comfortable enough that not even the light banging we heard in the night disturbed us. The Italian food was fabulous (recommend the Flano Calzone).
The location was tip-top too...just a short stroll to the glorious, empty beach and close to the monorail station. The staff were very accommodating and all round a very good experience.

Room Tip: JLB Suite highly recommended
Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Location was fine, as it was quite close to the beach. Staff were not very helpful, and barely understood English (luckily one of us spoke Vietnamese). Would still say it's value for money.
Not much going on in Da Nang...We stayed 3 nights in Hoi An, which we loved!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
1.1 mi away
Moonlight Hotel Da Nang
Moonlight Hotel Da Nang
#139 of 284 in Da Nang
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofia Boutique Hotel Da Nang
0.0 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#144 of 284 in Da Nang
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Grand Mango Hotel Danang
Grand Mango Hotel Danang
#48 of 284 in Da Nang
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dragon Sea Hotel
Dragon Sea Hotel
#97 of 284 in Da Nang
69 reviews
1.3 mi away
One Opera Danang Hotel
One Opera Danang Hotel
#51 of 284 in Da Nang
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sea Hotel

Address: B26-B29 Pham Van Dong, Da Nang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 284 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range: $23 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sea Hotel locates approximately 7 minutes walking distance to China Beach, 30 minutes driving to Hoi An, Ancient town, 15 minutes to Danang Airport, 35 minutes to Hue, and is center around all major Danang's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sea Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing