We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History”

Da Nang Museum of Cham Sculpture
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Da Nang Day Trip: Marble Mountains and Cham Museum
More Info
$43.00*
and up
Full-Day Da Nang City Discovery Tour
More Info
$73.80*
and up
Da Nang and Hoi An Full-Day Tour
Ranked #15 of 112 things to do in Da Nang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Tonasket, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great History”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A culture and piece of history that needs to be presented to a greater audience for appreciation. Eye opening for our 15 year old grandson.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank V1775UZMichael_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    420
    266
    75
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“missable & disappointed”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lack of information on very poorly presented exhibits. Go to My Son instead!!!
I wasn't expecting a great deal & did read up on Cham culture prior to visiting but left very disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yeemai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A french built small museum”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This collection of sculptures is a testimony to the greatness of once a great culture. The problem is lack of information provided for the tourists who have to rely on local guides who are not that familiar with the topic themselves. Another larger issue is that many of the sculptures were sent to Paris upon digging, it wod be nice if they are returned to the Museums in Vietnam!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Navid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cham Sculptures”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

As with any museum focused on only one thing, visitors should read up about the topic before visiting. The sculptures taken off buildings at religious site "My Son" are beautiful and well preserved.

The signage is only in Vietnamese, though, making it impossible for foreign visitors to understand what they are seeing. Registered guides are available at the museum to give tours and explanations.

Go in the morning though as their is no air conditioning and temperatures of above 30 C. or 90 F. are common for much of the year. Very popular with tours, unfortunately, and so is sometimes very crowded.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting for those interested in history or sculpture”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I really enjoyed the Cham museum. It is definitely a good place to visit either before or after visiting My Son. The museum houses many sculptures that were removed from my son before the war. therefore the art here has not been damaged by bombs or gunfire and is a lot more detailed than that at My Son.

The collection is reasonably sized, but if you get bored.... the ticket price was only $1-2 - so you can just leave once you have had enough!

The museum is a little shabby, but the sculptures are displayed well and they have made an effort to provide information about the Cham people and the sculptures in many languages. There is also a new section with information about various minority people. I actually plan to go back a second time, as there was too much to take in on one trip!

I see some negative reviews about it have 400 identical statues. The statues are quite varied... and to be fair, it is a museum particularly for Cham sculpture. That's like going to the Van Gogh museum and complaining that all the paintings were by one guy. If you have no interest in sculpture - or if you were bored while walking around My son. you probably wont like it.

More info about Da Nang and the things I enjoy most on my travel blog: http://travelnamnow.blogspot.com/2014/04/da-nang-more-than-just-airport.html

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank L_Amy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Nang Museum of Cham Sculpture also viewed

Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Da Nang Museum of Cham Sculpture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing