We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“didn't realize hindu past of vietnam”

Da Nang Museum of Cham Sculpture
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.00*
and up
Full-Day Da Nang City Discovery Tour
Ranked #15 of 105 things to do in Da Nang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“didn't realize hindu past of vietnam”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I know hindu visited malaya and cambodia in the distant past but same people went to vietnam and established cham culture. Museum a bit dry and dusty, needs a more modern approach to displaying exhibits.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    397
    248
    66
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cham Museum”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Most of important items from My Son are in this museum. Not a greatly engaging or well maintained museum there are some nice pieces. I am really surprised to see the sculpture of those days

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great historical artifacts”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited here partway through a tour of Vietnam. If we had come here as a first visit it probably would not have been as interesting, however as we had already had two weeks of exploration starting in Hanoi and had learned a fair amount of history of Vietnam, seeing the items on display really made it come alive. I don't know if there are guided or scripted tours available, but if there are I suspect these would be worth going for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malefacent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice Museum... worth a visit”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Nice museum in Da Nang City centre, well worth a visit.
Good range of exhibits and information on 2 levels.
Museum is very well set out in bright, open areas so very pleasant to stroll around.
No problem taking photos (unlike some other places in Asia) and very reasonable admission price.
Avoid large tour groups if you can.
Recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nostratamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Up Close Viewing”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was a great stop (especially since our visit to My Son was cancelled due to Typhoon Haiyan). The pieces on display are magnificent and there are large cards in multiple languages explaining each sculpture. Do stop here. 1-2 hours is sufficient.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GallivantersGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Nang Museum of Cham Sculpture also viewed

Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 
Da Nang, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Da Nang Museum of Cham Sculpture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing