We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world for luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #2 of 285 Hotels in Da Nang
Reviewed August 18, 2013

So many times you read TripAdvisor reviews where people say 'this is the most luxurious place I have ever stayed'. Clearly they haven't been to the Intercontinental in Danang! It tops anywhere I've ever stayed before.

The resort is constructed on a hillside in a completely private bay with lovely safe sandy beach on the Danang peninsular. There are no other hotels in view and certainly no beach-boys that you might find in other locations.

It consists of about 20 separate 2/3 storey buildings built into the hillside each with about 8 rooms. Every room has a seaview. The resort is really cleverly designed and each building is surrounded by lush vegetation tended by an army of gardeners. Electric clubcars shuttle guests and staff around.

Although the resort is on a hillside, there's no climbing steps involved as the resort has its own funicular railway serving the four levels from the beach upto the reception/dining levels.

The quality of the rooms is beyond belief with an enormous bath and rainfall shower unit. The 7-foot bed had luxury linens, which (rather unnecessarily) were changed each day. There was 100-channel TV and films-in-demand as well as a Bose sound system in every room. There is free fast-internet throughout the resort. Each room has a spacious private balcony. No expense was spared in their construction and fit-out.

The resort facilities were fantastic with several restaurants (from casual 'Barefoot' to semi-formal 'Citron' to the fabulous Michelin-star-quality in the Michel Roux '1888' restaurant).

It would have been helpful for all the facilities to have been better promoted upon arrival as we only discovered the 1888 Restaurant and the fantastic bar inside on the last night.

There's a shuttle-bus to Danang/HoiAn twice daily (tip - book the day before) but a taxi to Danang is only $20 to sample the beachfront seafood restaurants - we recommend the amazing 'Be Man' popular with locals. There were other complementary activities like beach fishing and Tai Chi.

Small niggles: the design of the pool means that it isn't always possible to get a sunbathing place there but the beach is just alongside with lots of loungers and beach attendants. Sometimes drinks took a long time to come but a new Manager was obviously sorting that out during our stay. Small things really.

This resort is the pinnacle of achievement for Intercontinental. It boast incomparable luxury in a most beautiful and private setting. Simply fantastic.

Room Tip: Guests with reduced mobility should ask for rooms closer to the funicular railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear bunnco,

Many thanks for this amazing review. It is definitely made our day! We are glad to read how much you appreciate your recent holiday experience at this stunning resort. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Danang, we are looking forward to welcome you back with another memorable stay at the place where myth meets luxury!

Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We paid $300 per night. The location is beautiful. The room and facilities are commensurate with a 5 star rating. The complex is vast though and it is a bit of a hassle to get to the pool/restaurants at sea level if your room is located far from the funicular, as ours was. Given it was August and very hot the walk was not hugely pleasant.You can call for a buggy but that would mean depending on efficiency and I will comment on that in a minute! The food is average and expensive for Vietnam, you are also captured, the location makes it difficult to go elsewhere.

We like that hotels such as these provide employment for local people however, there is no doubt the locals and us as guests are being exploited. The locals because they will be cheap labour and us because we are paying for 5 star service which is not evident anywhere in this resort. Most of the staff do not speak english, which is a big problem for them and us. We found it difficult and embarrassing at times. One girl in the restaurant was mortified because she could not make herself understood and we felt really sorry for her. The staff desperately want to be helpful but the reality is they cannot communicate effectively and they lack training particularly in the principles of european/american food and beverage delivery and management. We ordered breakfast in our room this morning, the healthy option, it was a muddled mess, bacon and hash browns and no milk for the cereal.

Given a big enough percentage of their guests are English speaking the hotel needs to address this if they want to charge the current prices. We are about to check out and I will be telling the staff our concerns.

Bottom line, not worth the money, too many irritations. At least $100 too much.

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the funicular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sredski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Sredski,

Thank you for spending your time to review us. We always happy to hear what our guests have to say about us, we believe that this will help us to provide an excellent service to all our guests. Rest assured that all your feedback is well noted and had been raised up to the department concerned for proper training to be given. We hope that this will not hold you from coming back in the near future!

Thanks and Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is amazing! The location is spectacular sitting in a beautiful nature preserve just 20 minutes from Danang but still giving you the feeling you are in a secluded and pristine island. The beach is outstanding with soft sand. The staff is extremely accommodating, food excellent and the facilities are immaculate.The management is extremely responsive and can be seen everywhere around the property. We traveled with young children and found the kids club to be lovely. The facilities for children---- especially the toddler pool was fantastic. The breakfast buffet is incredible. We are Americans living in Hong Kong and definitely plan to return to this hotel again and again. This hotel is every bit comparable to Aman and Four Seasons in quality.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. The architect and planners did an amazing job in the layout of this prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Marc H,

Thanks for the wonderful review. We are glad that our service meets your expectation and it is our endeavour to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience. We definitely look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future!

Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family spent 5 nights in this resort end July this year. We loved the private beach where the water was clean and could see school of fish swimming around you. There were water sport facilities, such as kayaks, provided free of charge, . The 'Long Bar' was very relaxing and provided a great place for happy hours. The gym was near brand new and was a hidden gym since not many guests came and used it. The resort is huge and actually has cable cars serving guests in between lobby, guesthouses and the beach. The hotel room was spacious with great balcony and one nice touch was that there was a lot of great movie selection in-room, free of charge ! The breakfast selection was great and Vietnamese Pho was our favorite. Some tips and hints here. The resort is about 45 mins by car from airport and is about 30 mins from down town. Taxi from resort to town costs about 15 USD one way, quite reasonable and you do not need to negotiate. All taxi are charged according to meters. The French Restaurant inside the resort is Michelin-star-rated, food was pretty nice and service great.

The overall hotel service is nice but could be improved, if you compare with those in Thailand. Definitely will consider coming back to this great resort in Da Nang!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Tony268,

Glad to hear that you have a good experience with InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. We really appreciate your time spent in reviewing us here!
We continually improve our service and hope you will find our service even better than those in Thailand on your next visit!

Thank you & Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This resort would easily score a five star until our horrendous afternoon tea session, hence i could only give it four star. Having been to many 5 stars resorts in the world, ranging from the ritz in maui, four seasons in bali, and others in california, this breathtaking gorgeous resort took my breath away when i first set my steps there. All the staffs are professionally trained and all have compassionate attitude towards customers, which is extremely rare in vietnam. We first had our sunday brunch at citron and it was a real feast of high quality seafood as well as some delectable cooked dishes, plus the ambiance was enhanced with some nice live jazz music which we both enjoyed very much especially with alcohol running high :). We had our dinner at Le Mason and i have to say this restaurant is totally up there with all the nicest restaurants in the world, both food, decoration and service wide...i am talking about alan ducasse, thomas keller, gary danko, eric ripert level....now come the saddest part, right before we were bout to check out of the resort, we decided to try out the afternoon tea course, which cost about 20 dollar per person, not cheap but we are willing to slurp but we do expect a 5 stars quality experience. It turns out that the whole course include literrally 6 pieces of some sort of dessert hastily put together as if the restaurant just took the left over from the breakfast session and put them on the tray...totally not worth it...and i just cant believe after how much of money and effort the resort has spent to pamper its customers, it could let itself ruin everything with this horrible tea session...really hope they would take a second look at this

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trungtranquoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Trungtranquoc,

Thank you for the review and I am regret to hear about your Afternoon Tea experience.
We will definitely look into your feedback and improve it to enhance our guests experience.
Your feedback is very important for us to continually improve our service as well as product quality. We hope that this will not hold you to come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Come for family trip, my kids just love it so much. They keep on saying not to leave this place. After the whole week of busy life in Spore, It is always good to relax and chill ourselves. I do find this resort is just so good to be the place for a great relaxation. They have plenty of kids activities which can keep the kids happy and they also have plenty for adults as well. HARNN spa is really great, the masseur is very professional and well trained, worth the value! Long bar is so relaxing after swim.. many stuffs that make my trip such a memorable one. I will come back very soon for another weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinewilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear christinewilliam,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you choose our iconic resort as the great destination for your perfect weekend getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stay in this beautiful resort end of July. This resort is truly amazing starting from the airport transfer by Fortuner. There is cold towel n water prepared for us. Driver was very engaging..showing us n telling us about the surroundings.
When we reach the resort, check-in was smooth and our room is beautiful; I really give thumbs up to the designer! He did extremely great for this resort.
We reached quite late, so when we arrived they had turn down our bed and placed a flower. When we went to the beach, the staff offers us cold water and sliced cucumber to refresh our eyes. How sweet is that. Citron food is good! Didn’t manage to try La Maison. The private beach is so clean.. Especially when there is not many guests around, you will feel that the beach is just yours. Not to forget, the cable car (Nam Tram) is really something very unique. I don’t think you can find something like that in any resorts ☺
We really had a great time there and wish to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingmung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Lingmung,

This is one of the best comments that we received for our resort, thank you so much for sharing your wonderful journey with the worldwide travelers. Hope that you will visit us again for a greater experience in a place where myth meets luxury and also to try out La Maison 1888! Thanks again!

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
6.3 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#28 of 285 in Da Nang
1,000 reviews
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#38 of 285 in Da Nang
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 285 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range: $342 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing