We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michel Roux La Maison”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Da Nang
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Dear all,

I'm coming to your place for eat since your Hotel's opening and especially since the French Gastro " La Maison" opened on Dec.2012

It's the French Gastro in Town to be.

Special Thanks to F&B Mr Mateo

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Pascal R,

Thank you for your interest in our Resort. We are pleased to learn that you’ve enjoyed your gastronomic experience at our signature restaurant – La Maison 1888.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,848 - 1,854 of 2,844 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have just returned from 6 days and 5 nights at this resort. Overall, we had a wonderful time. It is a beautifully designed resort nestled into the hillside with its own absolutely stunning private beach. The food is wonderful (apart from a rather boring beachfront menu), our suite was divine and I can thoroughly recommend the Spa. However, when one is paying for 5-star, one does expect perfection, and unfortunately our first impressions were not great. We arrived on a very early morning flight (no option) and were left waiting near reception for quite some time before any of the staff bothered to greet us. It wasn't as if there were a queue of guests waiting to be booked in, either. Certainly no one arrived with cool hand towels and cold drinks which, I believe, is supposed to be part of the greeting for new guests, and which is pretty standard at most resorts. Although we had requested an early check-in, the receptionist/concierge told us this was not possible, and that we would have to wait three hours until we could go to our suite. OK, we can live with that, we thought, and decided to go grab our swimmers from our bags and go for a swim. It would have been helpful if the staff had taken some initiative and shown us where the change rooms were, the route to the pools etc, but we were totally ignored. We also decided to upgrade to a larger suite, which we were able to do, but the receptionist/concierge did not tell us about the benefits of joining Intercontinental's Ambassador's Club, which costs around $200 to join and includes, among other things, an immediate and free upgrade. My husband only discovered this later from the hotel info in our room. Very frustrating. I also asked the receptionist if I could borrow or purchase a universal adaptor, as I had forgotten to bring one, and she told me I would have to buy one in Da Nang - a 30 minute drive from the resort. It was not something I was keen on doing just after a very early flight. However, when we finally got to our suite we found that all electrical power points are designed to be accommodate all electrical appliances. So why didn't she know this? Further, the hotel does not have a pharmacy or anywhere to purchase even basic stuff like headache tablets or sunscreen, so remember to bring these with you, or you'll have to make the journey back into Da Nang.
In the overall scheme of things, this is not a big deal, but first impressions really do count, and I had assumed that an international hotel chain like Intercontinental would ensure their reception staff would be both knowledgeable and know how to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhiggins8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear mhiggins8,

Thank you for your great comment on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your pampering experience with our HARNN Heritage Spa as well as our food and beverage.

We do apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay and thank you
for your supporting feedback. Please rest assured that all of those issues were discussed with the appropriate departments and continuous trainings are providing to improve our service standard.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again at our resort.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Resort is a whole big surprise to your expectations, it is really so much more than what you can Imagine. Fabulous Architecture design ,studied to the detail so well to blend the Typical Vietnamese nature and architecture for an amazing result. Staff wonderful, smiling ,warm and most important they like and enjoy their jobs.Food is very good and has a real taste, Even though there is a French Michelin rated restaurant I did enjoy most the other two restaurants that also you could find a touch of Vietnam. Room service was really special since all the rooms have this fantastic view of the peninsula and very spacious balcony was so relaxing to enjoy your breakfast .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copito10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear copito10,

Thank you so much for your heartfelt comments! The views, culinary, facilities and especially the dedicated team make InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a very unique property indeed. We have shared your raving feedback with all our team, and they were very proud.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to our mythical Son Tra Peninsula on your upcoming visit.

Yours sincerely,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just the drive to this resort set on Monkey Mountain, overlooking the sea lets you take in scenic beauty and fresh air while you anticipate being pampered!

BOOKING and CHECK-IN: Open concept lobby artistically designed. Reservation and Reception staff polite, professional - they serve you welcome drinks and you relax on sofa while they process your stay. Minor glitch was that we were left waiting for quite a long while at Reception as a staff member said he was calling a buggy to send us back to villa (as there was a storm). We waited and waited but no one came. We finally went to look for the Manager and he then arranged transport. Our guess is the message didn't get through earlier and we were forgotten.

ROOMS: Feels like modern studio apartment, with a nice patio long table and high stools to enjoy your view. Bed divine, TV plenty of cable channels, large bathtub and bath area with His and Her sinks. Surprisingly though I usually attract mosquitos especially surrounded with greenery and dark wood, I wasn't bitten at all

POOL: Family pool and Infinity pools available. So comfy chilling out on sun loungers with gentle breeze that we dozed off.

SPA: Exceptional quality - you enjoy what you pay for. Therapists are skilled, attentive and you indulge in total privacy in your very own spa "mansion"

DINING: Breakfast was well varied and tasty. We also had Seafood themed buffet dinner - plenty of choices, staff kept replenishing and seafood fresh

ACTIVITIES: Check out their in-house activity schedule. We tried Basket Boat - was quite boring really. Just row to the edge where the most premium Sea Villas are, and back to beach. We had to call Reception to confirm meeting place for activity and when we got to the beach, the staff didn't seem to be very sure what to do.

OVERALL: As with every 5-star property, staff are the heart and soul to deliver memorable experiences. Let's look forward to consistent quality and keeping the grounds immaculately maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Ms. orbidtank,

Thank you for sharing great our experience with us. We are very delighted to read that you enjoyed every single experience from the room, facilities, pool, food and beverage and especially our HARNN Heritage Spa.

Please accept our sincere apologise for the inconvenience you encountered upon your arrival. Besides, our Recreation team is creating and applying more and more interesting in – resort activities. Relevant department managers have been noticed and appropriate actions are provided to improve the service as well as the variety of options for our dear guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with more experience of InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hardware of the resort is undeniably stunning. Lovely resort with gorgeous rooms, secluded location and all the amenities expected of a 5* international resort.

The software however leaves alot to be desired and needs improvement. The rooms are infested with bugs - worms, ants and other insects.

We stayed there 3nights and each day there would be construction workers or hotel maintenance staff loitering outside our balcony chatting loudly to each other or even taking a nap in our balcony!!?? It was an intrusion of privacy and noisy !!

The buggy system that transports you around the resort is slow and unreliable. One morning we had to wait 20mins for the buggy to arrive resulting in us missing the shuttle to the city . Hotel staff were defiant n unapologetic.

La Maison supposedly a 3-Michelin star restaurant was very disappointing. We dined there two nights and both occasions they couldn't get the doneness of the meat right - which is unacceptable for the price you pay for the meal and Michelin star status, especially so , since it wasn't a one-time occurrence but on both times we dined there. If we wanted a so-so steak we could hv easily gone to the coffee house n paid a fraction of the price! The sense of departure at the restaurant - after blowing several hundred USD for a meal was also lacking - staff don't even bother to walk you to the door or bid you farewell. Lacks the service quality you would expect from a Michelin star restaurant and after paying so much for a meal.

On the last day at check-out we were given an extension till 3pm. Yet, as soon as the clock turned 3pm just as we were packing up and waiting for the buggy to arrive ... all electricity in the room was cut off in a n unceremonious reminder to leave !? It was appalling and unnecessary and in all my years of travel in hotels I've never been treated like this! Left such a bitter aftertaste.

W Koh , Singapore

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babysaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. W Koh,

Thank you for taking the time to write to a comment on TripAdvisor and give your feedback regarding your experience with us at the InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. . I would like you to know that we value your input and appreciate your feedback and we shall use some of your comments to improve our soft services to match our fantastic hardware, design and in-room amenities.

I just want to clarify however Mr./Mrs. W Koh that our Hotel is not equipped with centralised and timed in-room electrical automatic shutdown. It is a manual trigger of your key that activates or deactivates the electricity in your room. It is either due to the fact that the key was not inserted properly or we had a defaulting mechanism of the "trigger". Sorry Mr/Mrs W Koh that such has given you a bitter taste of your departure but it is candidly not the Resort’s intentions, in any way shape or form to do so!!!

Also Mr./Mrs. W Koh, many thanks for reporting the disappointment of your meals in "La Maison" where you have eaten twice and for reporting that our 15 years trained 3 Michelin Star Chefs do not know how to cook a steak. It is perhaps due to the interpretation of "adequate cooking" which varies from one person to the next. As for the service, I sincerely hope it was a onetime occurrence as we have received nothing but raving reviews about the service standard there but we shall certainly keep a closer look to the farewell part of our service sequences.
I am deeply concerned about you mention of "privacy intrusion" and indeed, we do have employees entering the room to operate what we call "room cleaning" and "balcony plant watering", should you wish to have avoided such "intrusions”, the "do not disturb sign" could have been activated. I will surely investigate employees sleeping on balconies or even more disturbing "loitering" as it is surely the first time I hear about such in guest rooms and it is clearly not acceptable indeed!!!

Finally, thank you for reporting the matter regarding bugs and other pests, again very surprising as it has never been reported once in any of our guests comments, neither on TripAdvisor nor any other platforms. Having said this, we do have efficient pest control services, but Son Tra Peninsula is blessed with very active wildlife, and it is possible that some ants ,and mosquitoes even, come to your room, specifically when opening or closing doors. Mentioning that our rooms are infested with such insects is surely however an overstatement as we do inspect rooms on a daily basis, including me leaving in the resort!

Once again, I would like to thank you for your feedbacks. Please rest assured that all service related issues, brought to my attention were handled and appropriate actions were taken.

Mr. and Mrs. Koh, once again, my sincerest apologies and we look forward to serving you again soon in the future.

Regards

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband brought me here for a long weekend for my birthday ( we live in Hanoi). After living 4 years in Vietnam and visiting many resorts and hotels, I must say that the Intercon Danang is the very best across the board. It is nestled in a spectacular bay surrounded by mountains where the architecture and design blend beautifully with nature. The attention to detail is mesmerizing and appeals to your every sense in terms of beauty, comfort and well being. A harmonious coming together of art, architecture, pampering and delight. While chatting with staff here I learned that the owner spared no expense for the designer, Bill Bensley, to create this paradise--and it shows. Wow!!!

I am also amazed how management of the hotel has trained and motivated staff to achieve such excellence in service. The service is simply world class and by far the best of any other resort/hotel in all of Vietnam. Staff take pride in their work and seem to love what they are doing. They speak excellent English and act with a warm sense of urgency in the face of any request. They go out of there way to ask you how every thing is and if you need anything. Service was perfect.

Another 'shocker' was dining at la maison... My husband and I love fine dining and chasing Michelin rated restaurants world wide, but were not expecting to find one of the most exquisite dining experiences of our lives in Danang!!! Again, the experience just blew us away. We highly recommend the menu exceptionnel--- which is a culinary adventure and sheer delight. Pure brilliance...and to be experienced. (By the way, far better than hong kong's l'atelier de Joel Robuchon).

What a gem to be discovered...5 stars across the board with absolutely no hesitation...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han0i10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Ms. han0i10,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. It is our pleasure to provide you and your partner with an unforgettable journey to our Magical Bay.

We have shared your feedback to our colleague and they were very pleased to have served you.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to a place “where myths meet luxury” in the near future.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This resort is such an amazing heaven on earth! The first exploration on arrival day, I was able to enjoy the duel-inclined elevators which could take us from the barefoot level to the height up over the hill. What a genius design concept by Bill Bensley!
This resort can suit any purpose of visit such as: leisure, business, travel alone, honey moon, family get together.
The cuisine can easily suit a casual snack in a lazy afternoon or a fine dining with French culinary at wide range of restaurants and bar/ pool bar.
But not many various water sports are available at this early stage after 1 year of operations since 2012. I guess the climate and ocean current don't allow variety of water sports.
And definitely, I will return very soon!
Good job for an investment from Hanoi business group!

Room Tip: All rooms with ocean view, but the best corner is far end of the left wing of this resort. More quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiFiPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear FiFiPham,

It is our pleasure to read such a great review. Thank you for taking your time to share your recent stay with other travelers. We are very delighted to acknowledge that you love our unique architecture and our enjoyed food and beverage options.

Regarding to your feedback of watersport please be rest assured that every effort is being made to provide our guests with a wider selection of desired activities in the near future.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#33 of 294 in Da Nang
1,032 reviews
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#14 of 294 in Da Nang
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 294 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range: $450 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing