We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best resort, service and dining in Vietnam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in Da Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best resort, service and dining in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband brought me here for a long weekend for my birthday ( we live in Hanoi). After living 4 years in Vietnam and visiting many resorts and hotels, I must say that the Intercon Danang is the very best across the board. It is nestled in a spectacular bay surrounded by mountains where the architecture and design blend beautifully with nature. The attention to detail is mesmerizing and appeals to your every sense in terms of beauty, comfort and well being. A harmonious coming together of art, architecture, pampering and delight. While chatting with staff here I learned that the owner spared no expense for the designer, Bill Bensley, to create this paradise--and it shows. Wow!!!

I am also amazed how management of the hotel has trained and motivated staff to achieve such excellence in service. The service is simply world class and by far the best of any other resort/hotel in all of Vietnam. Staff take pride in their work and seem to love what they are doing. They speak excellent English and act with a warm sense of urgency in the face of any request. They go out of there way to ask you how every thing is and if you need anything. Service was perfect.

Another 'shocker' was dining at la maison... My husband and I love fine dining and chasing Michelin rated restaurants world wide, but were not expecting to find one of the most exquisite dining experiences of our lives in Danang!!! Again, the experience just blew us away. We highly recommend the menu exceptionnel--- which is a culinary adventure and sheer delight. Pure brilliance...and to be experienced. (By the way, far better than hong kong's l'atelier de Joel Robuchon).

What a gem to be discovered...5 stars across the board with absolutely no hesitation...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank han0i10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ms. han0i10,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. It is our pleasure to provide you and your partner with an unforgettable journey to our Magical Bay.

We have shared your feedback to our colleague and they were very pleased to have served you.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to a place “where myths meet luxury” in the near future.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    286
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
662
940
79
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This resort is such an amazing heaven on earth! The first exploration on arrival day, I was able to enjoy the duel-inclined elevators which could take us from the barefoot level to the height up over the hill. What a genius design concept by Bill Bensley!
This resort can suit any purpose of visit such as: leisure, business, travel alone, honey moon, family get together.
The cuisine can easily suit a casual snack in a lazy afternoon or a fine dining with French culinary at wide range of restaurants and bar/ pool bar.
But not many various water sports are available at this early stage after 1 year of operations since 2012. I guess the climate and ocean current don't allow variety of water sports.
And definitely, I will return very soon!
Good job for an investment from Hanoi business group!

Room Tip: All rooms with ocean view, but the best corner is far end of the left wing of this resort. More quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiFiPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FiFiPham,

It is our pleasure to read such a great review. Thank you for taking your time to share your recent stay with other travelers. We are very delighted to acknowledge that you love our unique architecture and our enjoyed food and beverage options.

Regarding to your feedback of watersport please be rest assured that every effort is being made to provide our guests with a wider selection of desired activities in the near future.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The resort was beautiful - the buildings, the rooms and the interiors were all exceptional. We felt that it is truly a luxurious resort. We felt pampered here when we were constantly taken care of: the Tram ride was nice, the drinks were also nice. People were really friendly and trying to speak English. We got towels and free cold drinks and fruits at the beach. This kind of service is worth the price you pay for. The room also had all amenities you would ask for in a best resort - we also got the basket hat, the bag and the flipflops for the beach. We had a fantastic time there. The location of the resort is 20-25 minutes from Da Nang but it's great since no one is around and the ride from the airport/city to the resort is fantastic - along the ocean.
As others mentioned, the service was still spotty (some rooms were missing some amenities etc) - the responses were still slow. I think staff still needs better training. At the end of the day, this resort should try to compare itself to other resorts in the world - We've been to many places in the world including Hawaii where the rooms may not be as nice but the services were top-notched.
Once the resort can improve these areas of services, they will be the best resort out there, not just in Vietnam.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view. It's that nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cupidolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Cupidolive,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to read that you really enjoy your vacation trip in our Resort with memorable experiences.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the design of the rooms, the facilities, the amazing views and the food and beverage in each of our outlets.

Regarding to your feedback of the service during your stay, please be assured that it is being notice by relevant departments and appropriate trainings are provided to improve our colleague’s serving skills.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon in near future.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were in Vietnam for 11 nights in December 2012. We actually weren't planning on coming here... wanted to go to Nha Trang but flights were sold out so my cousin booked us a last minute flight to Da Nang / 3 nights here right before Christmas. I'm so glad she did! This place was so amazing, my husband and I wished we could've just stayed here for our entire trip.

Location: The resort itself is on a Peninsula, away from Da Nang. The taxi ride from the airport was about 25-30 minutes. The drive to the resort was beautiful... but since we arrived in Da Nang in the evening, the road up was dark and the taxi stalled out a couple times but eventually we made it. We took a taxi to go into Da Nang while we were there.

Resort: The resort itself is absolutely stunning. There were four "levels" of rooms: Heaven, Sky, Earth and Sea. They had golf carts that would take you everywhere (just call them and they'll come pick you up). They also had a "lift" that would take you from the top of the resort to the bottom and also could stop and drop you off at each level.

Staff: Everyone here was very friendly. I am Vietnamese so I was able to communicate with them, but I think they had a hard time understanding me when I tried to speak to them in English.

Room: We stayed in the Resort Premium Room - Sky Level, and the balcony was HUGE. We would sit out there in the mornings, drink our tea and coffee (all provided in the room) and enjoy the view. The room itself was a good size, very clean and modern.. plenty of space to put our luggage and hang up our clothes. Beds were comfortable and we slept really well. They also provided a rice hat, beach bag and sandals in the closet.

Bathroom: It was quite big and they provided a his and hers travel kits on each side of the sink. Also provided bottled water at the sinks and on the nightstands. Very clean and modern as well. There was both a bathtub and shower. The shower was actually an open shower... no doors to separate it from the bathroom, which I thought was very cool! Shower had good water pressure and temperature was fine.

Beach: The beach was beautiful... but since we were there in December, it was a bit chilly to get into the water. They had lounge chairs set up and you could order drinks as well.

Citron: We ate here for dinner the first night we got there and breakfast the rest of the time. The dinner selection wasn't that great... breakfast was better. They had the typical American breakfast items such sausage, bacon, made to order eggs, yogurt, cereal, fruits, cheese and Vietnamese items such as congee (chao) and beef noodle soup (pho). My husband had pho every morning for breakfast. Their vietnamese iced coffee (cafe sua da) was delicious!

La Maison 888: We tried the Menu Exceptional. Everything was excellent. Definitely try it if you feel like fine dining and spending 3 hours at dinner.

Long Bar: It was quite long! They had beds to lounge on. We had a couple of drinks here, just some wine and beer, since I don't think they were very knowledgable in making mixed drinks.

Shuttle Service: We took it to go to Hoi An. The driver was very friendly. I forget what their running schedule was but we ended up just hanging out in Hoi An for less than an hour since the shuttle had to go back to the resort. It also took us to the airport.

There was a also recreation type room with pool tables by the lobby. Just explore the resort and you'll find it.

We would definitely come back here the next time we are in Da Nang!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DoggerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ms. DoggerH,

What a special review - thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us longer to fully experience the Resort; especially after our recent launch of HARNN Heritage Spa with fully equipped treatment villas and professional therapists.

Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This resort is truly the most beautiful hotel I've seen so far. I'm especially impressed by the architecture, where everything is planned perfectly. The design of everything is absolutely beautiful. I loved the conception of our Atrium Suite!
The breakfast selection was very good.
So far, everything truly deserves 6 stars.
BUT: When we arrived at around 4:30pm we were told that one of the two rooms we booked was not ready, yet. They told us that it would take around 15 minutes and we were sent down to the Long Bar for this waiting time (without offering us a complimentary drink). Then we had to wait for around 45 minutes (or even longer; without any notifications) before we could get to our room. Nevertheless the hotel appeared to be very empty during our stay. I think that this issue could have been handled more professional.

Room Tip: Pick the Atrium Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear familyde,

Firstly, we would love to thank you for taking time for sharing your trip in our Resort. We are happy to read that you love our unique architecture and our variety selection of foods.

Secondly, we do apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced upon your arrival and thank you for your feedback. Please rest assured that all issues have brought to our attention were discussed with the appropriate management of each department and every effort is being made to fix all issue and concerns mentioned.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again at our resort with more pleasant experience.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I'm not sure what the previous reviewer was smoking, but he/she couldnt be further from the truth.

This hotel is magnificent. To sit here and wax poetic would be a disservice to all it has to offer. The rooms are fantastic, the beach is empty and beautiful, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The amazing thing is this hotel is the only one sitting on a peninsula out in the middle of the water - so your views are unbeatable. If you're worried about having a phone and internet, you're missing the entire point of this place. And yes, you do have phone and internet. Get out of your room, go sit on the beautiful porch, or perhaps the beach which is virtually empty. There is a fantastic bar(s) in which you can lounge like a king and have drinks brought to you, all while you look out over the water (had wifi working here, too). Dont miss out on this place, as it will soon be overrun by horrible tourists coming to the next hot place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tengl41824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Tengl41824,

Thank you very much for this outstanding review. We always strive to exceed guests’ expectation and we are delighted to read that we have been successful in doing so.. We have shared your great feedback with all our team and we look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Regards,
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Please do not go here - it will get too popular from you having to insist on telling your friends they have to
I stay in Hotels > 100 nights PA - this is the best i have been in
Even a full Bose system in the room

Just read the rest of the reviews - i will be an easy decision

Room Tip: Stay a week - i am going back and doing just that Also - upgrade yourself - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peterbanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Peterbanfield,

Thank you for posting review about our InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. It was our pleasure to read that you had a memorable time with us.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you here again with your family and your friends, hopefully in not too distant future.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#3 of 235 in Da Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
8.5 mi away
Melia Danang Resort
Melia Danang Resort
#20 of 235 in Da Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#28 of 235 in Da Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Property: InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 235 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing