We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #1 of 274 Hotels in Da Nang
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very lovely and scenic place to stay. Best for Honey Moon. Visit the century old banyan tree is a must, reguest the staff to send you by golf cart if possible, otherwise it will be a long walk.. Take the hotel shuttle to Hoi An and you will be surprise to find an Northern Indian Restaurant there. We enjoy the lunch very much. One of the best Indian food I ever had. The hotel food is reasonable and remember to book the table facing the sea. Lovely view.

Room Tip: Stay at the Sky Level where you will get a wonderful view of the sea and lovely surrounding area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarencekoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Clarencekoh,

Thank you for sharing review on InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort from your recent visit. It was our pleasure to read that you had a great journey at our Resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in near future with full of our stunning Resort’s experience.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    325
    72
    36
    24
See reviews for
810
1,104
86
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was in this hotel in the opening time, therefore the service was quite not match the standard of 5 star. I ordered food outside from the hotel menu, and the staff was somehow can not delivered the food though I made order at lunch time for the dinner (plenty of time for preparing). They even tried to prove that we did not order those food.. quite uncomfortable.

However, I am very impress with this hotel view and everything.. Can not believe that I can find hotel with good Business Center,... I prefer call it the library... as it really has many good books. In addition, the decoration and the facilities is impressed and I can not say anything except " I LOVE IT" But they should fasten the cable car and the direction sign as it get complicated as I had to wait nearly 30 mins in peak period and I walked around the hotel from the beach and around those villas and I got lost... cant find my room ( haha maybe coz the decoration and the out side of the building was the same)....

Recommend for those who like the good and private view ..Hope the hotel is finished building as the last time I was there, they still built ..and the construction sites were everywhere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yenle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICDanang, General Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Ms. Yen28,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed the stunning views, architecture, especially from our Inspiration Lounge adjacent to our Business Center, Project VN and Concierge counter.
We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced when ordering a specialty dish outside the regular menu. Specially given that you had afforded us ample time to prepare the food item you requested. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations at that time.

As we were in the beginning stages of our operations at that time, we had a lot to learn from our guests and a lot to teach our new team. We are now almost one year on operations and appropriate training and ‘fine tuning’ of our operations has been happening!

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again at our resort with more pleasant experience see how we have developed: www.danang.intercontinental.com.

Regards,

Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Well i stayed here quiet long. They have avantgarde-architecture ... Its inspiring especially for fashion designer, producer, or architects. This hotel is bespoke designed by bill bensley, they work to make this resort for around ten years. And now its finished. Located 40minute from the airport.. I ve been to this hotel three times. The staff was really welcome. And the facility here is ,ore than enough. You can get tai chi class or yoga for free, games centre, best of the best pools, and many more. The interesting part is diagonal enclinator called nam tram. Its eco-designed resorts tranortation for hill site resort. Also they have michelin restaurant in 1888s fashioned. But its really expensive. The main restaurant. Itron, its really nice interiors. And you can getsunday brunch or friday seAfood night, ithey will give you special offer with a greAt food. Like in heaven.i will review about the spa later

Room Tip: All the room is huge, complete facility , has a different view. I loke the penthouse and atrium suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna_photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Krisnha,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review about your holiday at our iconic InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. We are pleased to know that you liked the resort’s architecture, pools, and especially our restaurants.

We look forward to see you here again to review our new HARNN Heritage Spa. Please enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Probably one of the best resorts I have ever stayed at, excellent staff but they certainly have some management issues which is so unusual for an Intercontinental Hotel. The good points...
- It's quiet and peaceful
- The décor of the public areas and the rooms are fantastic, a lot of thought and great design
- The Spa is amazing with REALLY professional therapists, probably the best massages I've ever had
- The staff are perfect, not their English but that's OK, I mean their attitude and friendliness
- All the restaurants are superb, we tried them all
- The bars likewise
- The F&B are not overly over-priced, rare for an Intercontinental!
- The beds are luxurious, especially their pillows
- The pools are amazing, never overcrowded which was surprising.
- A complementary cake and half bottle of wine on my wife's birthday

Now the bad points :(

- I booked two suites, in my name and to my account, being an Ambassador member I'm entitled to an upgrade, which was granted but only for the one room. After much discussion with the management they won, so we ended up with one Atrium Suite and one upgrade to a Rock Pool Villa. They did offer a free evening meal for 4 people, very nice but we declined the offer.
- Do not book a Rock Villa unless you are fit, it's a 136 step staircase down to it from the road and, surprisingly, a 136 step up from it too. This is equivalent to 4 or 5 stories in a normal building and in 30 degree heat with 85% humidity so would be taxing for those bit over-weight! You don't see this mentioned in their literature so unless you really want your own private lap pool rather select the atrium suites (they are bigger with sweeping, very large balconies with fantastic ocean views.
- The welcome letter was addressed to someone else, management failure.
- No daily paper - management failure
- No fresh fruit - management failure
All the above were part of the package but forgotten.
- One morning, our last, we were sitting by the villa pool before heading up for breakfast, in walk 3 workmen, unannounced and proceeded to plug in drills and start maintenance work, ignoring us completely. We left for breakfast and complained at the intrusion to the front desk who said they would have the work stopped.
- On getting ready to depart later that day my wife walked naked from the bathroom to the bedroom to find the 3 workmen staring at here through the front glass doors!! So much for our complaints!! - management failure.
- On taking our luggage from the room to lobby for our departure one item of luggage dropped off the back of the buggy, unnoticed by the driver. Some kind guests found it on the road and brought to the lobby for us. If they hadn't it was probably lost forever! - staff failure.
- The garden beds around the room were just weeds and dying plants - management failure
- The overall condition of the areas outside the villa are generally in poor repair, surprising for such a new resort. Most of the decking has had all the varnish worn off down to bare wood.
- Service to the room is very slow (I think the staff draw straws to see has to do the 4 story hike).
- Discussing these issues with the local management was point-less all they did was offer complementary this or that which does not address the real issue, fixing the problems. We refused their apologies and the said the general manger would contact us after we returned home, that was 5 days ago but no more word from them - management failure.

So, all in all a fantastic hotel, spoilt by management that feel the service issues can all be remedied by offering freebies, this is the final "management issue".

I've uploaded some pictures of the outside of the area of the villa to show the poor state, no need to put up pictures of the better points, what you see on the hotel site is absolutely true depiction of the other excellent features of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WurlitzerOMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Rob C,

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback regarding your stay with us at the InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We would like you to know that we value your input and appreciate your feedback. Please rest assured that all issues have brought to our attention were discussed with the appropriate management of each department and every effort is being made to fix all issue and concerns mentioned.

Mr. Rob C, once again, our sincerest apologies and we hope to have a chance to welcome you again at our resort with more pleasant experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a Resort Classic Ocean View Room. As we required twin beds (I was traveling with my mother) this was the only room category with that configuration and meant we were on the highest level of the resort - called Heaven.

Before arrival I had cause to contact the hotel as I had made the booking at Advance Purchase rates (non-refundable and cannot be changed) months ahead only to find near to arrival that the advance purchase rates had been reduced to $50 a night cheaper with breakfast thrown in as well. Needless to say I was not impressed as I reasonably expected advance purchase rooms to be the lowest price and the hotel had already had the use of my money for quite a few months. We had now paid at least $100 a night extra than someone making the same booking then. To their credit the hotel responded promptly and offered to either upgrade our accommodation (not acceptable because of our bed requirements) or to include breakfast each day. We accepted the latter but were still ripped off by $50 a day through booking advance purchase when we did. Beware!

On arrival we were blown away by the spectacular location and views from the reception building. Our room was quite close to reception which was convenient as we could walk to the Citron restaurant where breakfast was served. The room was very spacious with a good sized covered balcony with great views to the beach and out to the East Sea.

We arrived on a Sunday and took advantage of the Brunch on offer in Citron. The choices on offer were amazing and varied. It was a great way to start our stay. Getting around the resort is easy with the Nam Tram which takes you down to the beach area and where the pools are located. The staff were all very friendly but the service in Citron was a bit variable as was the staff's ability to communicate in English. Maybe the Aussie accent was harder to understand.

There was a fair bit of maintenance work going on to a number of the residential buildings but it didn't detract from our stay at all.

Overall we found it to be a good base to relax at and explore Hoi An despite the nagging dissatisfaction with the price we were charged.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear aussiecan,

Thank you for taking time to review your most recent stay with us. We are continuously improving our service, so comments like yours are vital to our operations.

Thank you for your kind word on our architecture, the room, the great views and the friendliness of the staff. A distinctive warm Vietnamese hospitality is what we are trying to offer, so it is always encouraging to hear that we are delivering what we promise.

We understand your frustrations with our Advance Purchase rate, so please be ensured that we have fixed the system to prevent situations like yours to happen in the future. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We are very glad that this is not hinder you from enjoying your stay with us.

Your comment on the staff’s English skill and maintenance work has been communicated to respective departments, and various training classes and actions have been taken to fix these inconveniences.

We would like to thank you one more time for your constructive criticisms. We would love to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went to InterCon in Oct of 2012 during its "soft opening" as it was finishing some final touches to its facility. The resort is located 30 min away from the city but there were plenty of stuff to do so we didn't feel bored during the 4-5 days that we were there.

The restaurant is awesome with authentic Vietnamese pho all day long. The breakfast is also very nice. The hotel is geared towards families so there are many kiddie pools and even a day-care play room! Highly recommended. The rooms has amazing view, very spacious and we really enjoyed the design.

When we were there, the "spa room" were not finished yet so we ended up having a poor experience in one of the rooms that were "converted" into a spa room. We were first prevented from taking a shower and then were rushed to take one. That was the low point of our stay. Hopefully it has improved since then.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Phil L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your October journey’s holiday experience at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the design of the rooms, the facilities, the amazing views and our restaurants.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your Spa treatment. We are delighted to inform that our HARNN Heritage Spa is now open in the spa lagoon with state-of-the-art treatment villas and trained therapists. We guarantee that the HARNN Heritage Spa will be a highlight of your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to fully experience in our stunning Resort. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if we can ever be of assistance.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We are coming to the end of our stay at the Inter Com hotel Danang and agree that it's an amazing looking hotel, great location, fabulously friendly staff and the settings are beautiful but there's a lot of negatives to justify the cost and ratings.

Good things first, the resort is visual amazing with large rooms (we had a premium room), amazing bathroom, extremely comfortable beds and plenty of space. The staff are really friendly and the amenities are great. The resort was empty at this time of year so no problems getting a sun lounger by the long pool or on the beach (by the long pool may be an issue in high season as there are only 5+ loungers).

Bad points are that the first room we were allocated had some issues. With a newly open resort you do not expect the door handle in the bathroom or the curtain pulley to fall off. In addition, only 1 light on the balcony worked so we were walking in the dark at night. The most disappointing aspect was the amount of disruptive maintenance work, and we did question why when the resort was empty were we located so close to the building works!!! Saying that the Assistant Manager moved us straight away and gave us a complimentary meal and champagne but having to move rooms is not an ideal way to start a holiday (but thank you).

Although the resort is a year or so old, there is a fair amount of maintenance work, which was not mentioned at the time of booking so you get plenty of noise from the workers (voices as well as machinery). Although the staff were friendly the service is not what you expect when paying £200+ a night (example was arriving for breakfast, being told that the dirty table will be set-up, 5 mins later, nothing, go get breakfast and come back, still dirty table). The staff are willing but management need to invest in more training. During our stay, the management team seem to walk around during the morning then disappear. They do not appear to know what is going on in the resort, you just need to walk around and see the failing light bulbs to see this.

The resort was absolutely deserted which has good and negative points but in the evening there is no atmosphere in the restaurants or bars, and as you're paying a high price for average food (exception was La Maison) and the nearest town is 30mins + away this was disappointing.

Until they sort out the issues with the resort I would not recommend this hotel otherwise, like us, you are wowed by the place on first arrival but then let down. It is not currently worth the price they are currently charging. I understand Vietnam is up and coming and hope it does not change, if IHG expect to charge these price for sub standard service they will fail.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamesxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Jamesxi

Thank you for taking the time to write to a comment on TripAdvisor and give your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at the InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort.

On behalf of the Resort, I want to apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced. I would like you to know that we value your input and appreciate your feedback.

Please rest assured that all service related issues, brought to our attention were handled and appropriate actions were being undertaken.Our resort is indeed constantly improving itself and some minor works and maintenance are indeed carried out, however, like any top worldwide Resort, we carry such during quieter time of the season. We will re-inforce however contractors regulation to observe more discretion indeed. Your comments on breakfast service in particular have been well noted and we shall work towards improving such area indeed. Finally, many thanks for highlighting some electrical issues you had with your rooms, such electrical breakdowns can happen but totally understand the disappointment.

Once again, our sincerest apologies and please know that we are continuously striving to provide you the best experience. We look forward to serving you again soon in the future and redeem ourselves and show you improvements we have made, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as we would surely appreciate a second chance!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#40 of 274 in Da Nang
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
6.3 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#26 of 274 in Da Nang
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Property: InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 274 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing