We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth every penny, enjoyed every second of our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Ranked #1 of 270 Hotels in Da Nang
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth every penny, enjoyed every second of our stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were a little bit worried that the hotel would not be ready after reading some of the reviews and we were also a bit concerned with the quality of our stay regarding the lenguage barrier. After been here for three days I can truthfully say this is one of the best places we have ever been to. The hotel is located in a small penninsula, the quality of the beach sand is at par with any place you can think of, it is also located in a very small bay which makes it very safe for kids to swim in.
Not all was perfect, but the staff was willing to go the extra mile to try to compensate for what ever your expectation is, english is still a barrier in some cases but if you relax and enjoy the ride people at the hotel will do anything they can to compensate for it. Every small bump in the road was well handled by the hotel staff making the 4 day experience quite a trip.
Our room (rock villa) was one of a kind, at a reasonable price including our private pool and two levels with the room for the the kids downstairs and the master bedroom for us on the top level.
Food at the different restaurants was excelllent, fresh and very tasty. Drinks and desserts were well presented and absolutly delicious. A wide mix of different types of foods and flavors combined with breathtaking views of the place make the eating experience a true joy.
We will be sad to leave this place and look forward to come back sometime in the future, we hope the management can keep this place as well maintained as it is right now as the hotel is brand new and the task at hand will not be easy.
Tha spa facilities were also very nice, located at the end of the facility thay are nicley decorated and the treatment itself was absolutly profesional.

Room Tip: If you are going to get more than one room look at a villa option, it's slightly more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cucarachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Cucarachos,

Thank you very much for this outstanding review. We always strive to exceed guests’ expectation and I am delighted to read that we have been successful in doing so. We are very glad to read that InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort is your perfect decision. I have shared your great feedback with all our team and we look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,086
    322
    70
    36
    24
See reviews for
782
1,082
86
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The design of this very large resort is stunning and the attention to detail throughout is amazing. We had three nights in Hoi An before our stay here. Do not be confused by the location - this is an isolated destination resort. It would be very unpleasant to try to do day trips from here to Hoi An because of the drive time back and forth. This resort is pure luxury for a relaxing by the pool/beach holiday.
There are so many places to relax in this resort that it is difficult to choose where to spend your day!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelbugalug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Travelbugalug,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort for your resort getaway and we are thrilled to hear that you had such a relaxing holiday at our iconic resort.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you here again for another wonderful holiday, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wow what a location - fantastic ,amazing hotel with rooms on 4 levels " Heaven" " Sky" "Earth" & " Sea" . Needless to say my title we stayed in Heaven on level " Heaven" . The rooms and balcony were splendid - with views across the complex and bay. Some people on previous reviews have moaned about not enough "Golf Buggies" to move them about.Do not be lazy use your legs. There were numerous "Buggies" moving about all the time and available. The three restaurant Citron , Barefoot & La Maison 1888 were excellent. If you are staying for I while we would thoroughly recommend La Maison 1888 and go for the Menu Exceptional - an absolute gastronomic treat. The Maitre de , chef and staff were brilliant. A 3* Michelin experience.

The beach again is fabulous , with cold face towels and water provided often. The pool above the Long Bar is very good as an alternative.
There is a shuttle bus daily to Danang & Then on to Hoi An.. Well worth a trip to Hoi An with the driver giving a commentary on the trip.It is an ideal location to relax , chill enjoy - we were there for 8 nights and did not want to leave.

Almost forgot the Nam Tram a railed Tram that takes you from Heaven to the Sea with intermediate stops at different levels. Saves walking up the 365 steps ( which we did not do , but were told about)
All the staff were really friendly from management, housekeeping, security, restaurant personnel,beach staff and landscaping.

Just go and enjoy

Room Tip: ANY rooms would be good but for superb views go for Heaven or Sky level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevehan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Stevenhan92,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that our rooms were good and our associates were attentive to your needs during your stay.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable journey for each of our valued guest and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve in the areas needed.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

1. If you're looking for a quiet, serene and indulgent holiday, this is one of the best options in the region.
2. Further, if you are a bit into business, you'll think about the business model with quick calculation that says the place is not viable

The place is huge and tastefully done and one wonders about the business sense, I simply hope this place does well as probably there's nothing close to it in the region....recommend it fully, and reading reviews is a waste of time and go to book.

Room Tip: as high as possible (it is on a hill)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASHISH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that our Resort was attentive to your needs during your stay.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable journey for each of our valued guest and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve in the areas needed.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited the Intercontinental Sun Peninsular Danang for the evening whilst staying at another resort on China Beach and had dinner and drinks there, mainly because we had just enjoyed a stay at the Intercon West Lake in Hanoi
Upon arrival we were slightly stunned by the scale and design of the resort which is not really conveyed on the IHG website, it really is spectacular in both creative design and overall finish and attention to detail. The resort was not yet very busy but you get the impression that once it arrives on the luxury travel scene it will be a huge draw in the Central Coast region of Vietnam - easily competing with the new super resorts along the coast between Danang and Hoi An. Probably appealing more specifically to the Western visitor than some Asian-centric hotels we have visited.
The thing that made our visit special was bumping into one of the senior managers (Antje) in the lobby area who personally welcomed us and showed us around the facilities and the restaurants, including the Roux place which is being visited by the great man himself this week. Impressive touch by any standards and a nice generous gesture from someone who I'm sure is very busy.
Our drinks and meal were great and we are already considering a trip back to the area to stay here for more than just a pleasant evening.
If you're in two minds about staying here in comparison to other Danang resorts, let me tip the balance, if you love seclusion, real elegant luxury and personal service then I'm sure this would not disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chilldoubt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for your kind comment. We are happy to read that you and your partner did have a wonderful dinner in one of our wonderful outlets. And we are looking forward to welcome you back to fully experience what our resort has to offer.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards, 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just got back from a trip with my husband to the Sun Peninusla Resort and I can't fault it one bit. This is my first review and I was blown away with the hotel as its amazing, the interior is super cool. the best resort I've stayed in and I've stayed in some special places. Rooms are spacious with all mod cons, inlcuding bose systems , ipod docks etc. All rooms have amazing sea views and also balconies - it's the size of the room - not small at all. The breakfast is superb, and the chefs will cater to everyone needs, super friendly. La Maison restaurant is michelin star food as most of the staff are from La Gavroche or the Waterside Inn (UK), service, staff and food can't be faulted. You really won't be disappointed. I will totally recommend this hotel to anyone that wants something special and loves good food and attention to detail. This hotel hasn't fully opened yet but I would like to go back next year to see it in its full glory. The staff I would like to espcially thank for their hospitally and making our holiday so memoriable keep up the good work. The only downside was the weather - I think I can live with that and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, so whether you go deluxe, standard or suite, I'm sure you won't be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Ms. Inci99,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that our rooms were good and our associates were attentive to your needs during your stay.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable journey for each of our valued guest and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve in the areas needed.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'pore
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my 3rd stay here for 5nights within 6 months due to work and I simply couldn't wait to leave the hotel as the entry levels room had really poor toiletries and amenities.

Had cold water for showers and staff asked me to leave water running for 5mins to allow hot water to flow.

Couldn't see a happy working staff spirit, although some of the staff were really lovely and cheerful.

Ideal if you are the type that doesn't need to get out of the resort and like hotel food.
I enjoyed my stay a lot more in Little Hoi-an & Fusion Maya.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1roadboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... D, Manager at InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear 1roadboss,

Thank you for continuing to stay with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience, so we are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. Since all room types are equipped with HARNN products, so we really sorry if you were not satisfied with the amenities and toiletries set up in the classic room.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We certainly hope that this unfortunate experience will not hinder you from your future stay with us.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
6.6 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
10.5 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#38 of 270 in Da Nang
1,708 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
6.3 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
5.5 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#26 of 270 in Da Nang
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort

Property: InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Address: Bai Bac, Sontra Peninsula, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 270 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the myth-filled hills of 'Monkey Mountain' in the heart of the Son Tra Peninsula nature reserve, the five-star InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort a work of art as much as a resort. Set in 37 hectares of stepped gardens leading down to a private beach - dramatic views of the sea can be enjoyed from all 200 rooms - every inch of this luxury resort is the stunning creation of star architect Bill Bensley and, as a result, is unique in design and concept. Gourmet travellers will appreciate La Maison 1888 (and its outstanding wine cellar) by multi-Michelin starred Pierre Gagnaire, while those looking for a genuine wellness retreat will love the HARNN Heritage Spa set in a private lagoon. Travellers can treat tired feet to the ultimate pedicure by 'podiatrist to the stars' Bastien Gonzalez as global leaders put the world to rights at The Summit, the resort's impressive conference centre. Billed as the place "where myth meets luxury", it's an easy drive from InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort to UNESCO world heritage sites of Hoi An, Hue and My Son (described as "Vietnam's Angkor Wat") making it a perfect base for travellers seeking an experience that connects them to central Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing