We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good villas, bring your own food”
Review of The Ocean Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ocean Villas
Ranked #44 of 294 Hotels in Da Nang
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently had a holiday break in The Ocean Villas and were mostly happy with our choice. We have a 4-month old baby, and a 13 year old, and found that staying in The Villas was a good choice for families with children.

The villas are modern, luxurious and well designed; with manicured gardens and a small wading pool attached to each villa. The kitchen and home appliances are brand new and they work just fine for entertaining guests. The whole area is kept very clean, and there is daily housekeeping free of charge.

There are common areas with a bigger pool, a spa and a restaurant, as well as a tennis court. And there is also free kayaks and body boards available from the lifeguard, but you have to check them out very early in the morning to avoid disappointment.

Unfortunately all is not perfect, and we encountered two big issues:

-As others have mentioned, the restaurant quality is average but the prices they charge are extremely expensive: at least twice higher than in a luxurious French restaurant in Hoi An. The same applies to drinks in the bar, and even soft drinks in the fridge in the villa itself. I recommend buying your own groceries and drinks elsewhere in Da Nang, and use the supplied kitchen.

At least all breakfasts were included with the accommodation, but you should try to arrive early in the morning, as the restaurant area is not too big and it will get crowded and uncomfortable very soon.

-The location is not handy to either Da Nang or Hoi An, but is too close to both a highway and a flight path. We were woken up several times by military jets, helicopters or both. The Villas offer a shuttle bus (twice daily) to Hoi An, but the timings are very inconvenient. Fortunately, taxis can be called and are not too expensive.

Considering the price we paid for accommodation here, it was a good deal, but we will stay elsewhere in Hoi An the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

First weekend of June myself and 2 friends booked a play and stay package at Ocean Villas which included two rounds of golf at Danang Golf Club adjacent to the resort and two night’s accommodation in a 3 bedroom villa. We had a great weekend and found the villas perfect for a group of friends travelling together and the living rooms and private pool were perfect for getting together and having a few beers after the round.

We ate at both the golf club restaurant and beach club and found both menus offered decent variety.

Breakfast over looking the ocean was a great way to kick off the day with a nice buffet breakfast with a wide selection of both western and traditional Vietnamese dishes.

Buggy pick up from the villa to the golf course was very convenient also. The perfect base for a golfing weekend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

To be honest I was not expecting my Villa to be as good as it was. It really was super luxurious. Huge bedrooms with really stylish & roomy en-suites, open plan Kitchen, dining & living rooms with quality furnishings, inc huge latest model flat screen LED TV with DVD player & powerful Home Theatre System. Kitchen came with literally everything you need, so you can cook & eat your own food no problem.
We had our own plunge pool & big grassy area overlooking the river. The Villa's are designed really well so that whilst there are many of them, each maintains its own secluded & private feel.
I stayed with my two children (aged 4 & 2) & they absolutely loved it. There is a huge kids adventure playground right next to the main pool & kids pool, all just a stones throw from the pristine China beach - Ocean villa's has its own life guard & patrolled swimming area - peace of mind for parents.
I really could not fault this pace in any way - tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felicity Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently stayed in the 7 bedroom villa at The Ocean Villas Danang. What a place. Easily the most luxurious beachfront property in Central VN if not the whole country. Our group was 8 people celebrating a bachelor party and the consensus was that we couldn't have chosen a better venue. The villa had everything we needed; space, modern kitchen facilities, cleanliness, a private butler, a beautiful full size infinity pool, private beach access, a view of the golf course and well designed and appointed bedrooms. The staff at check-in, the butler, the security staff, restaurant staff and management were all friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend this Villa for anyone who wants to treat themselves to a luxurious escape in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ads_0883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Misleading name. More view over danang main road than the... in fact not a single villa seemed to have an ocean view. The villa itself was not that bad. Being a bit expensive for only having queen size beds, though comfy. Tiny swimming pool with broken light. You'd get a feeling that it was not really clean, that there might be bugs living in it. The menu in the restaurant did sound good. The big disappointment was it didn't taste very good. Breakfast was the best they did serve. No action in the bar apparently, (apart from families playing board games in water soaked swim wear) because the content in the bottles displayed was miscoloured. The swimming pool was super nice. Perfect pool for kids too. A slight architect design blunder though - due to space they have to place the sun chairs on the wrong side of the pool, so the view is toward the hotel instead of the ocean - or they can just turn them around, but thats neither really optional. Great beach. Excellent kayaks to borrow. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank LMKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lunch with 6 other people. Just dreadful. Staff could not speak English very well; poor communication; gave us three large and cumbersome (yes, 3) menus; 1 for food; 1 for cocktails & 1 for wine then did did not give us a chance to peruse, just stood very close to table with order book at the ready.
Male guest ordered a beer. Staff spilt about almost half of it whilst opening and still charged us full price. I had Thai Red Chicken Curry & Rice with garlic and seaweed. Hah! More like a vegetable curry; weak and watery juice, 5 small gristly pieces of chicken and remainder large chunks of potato plus a few carrots. Others had different meals but did not enjoy and staff service very poor - grubby uniforms, if I can be picky!
Truly horrible meal - I ate it as hungry and didn't wish to offend my host who had asked us to join him. The Ocean Villas is very nice but would not recommend eating at White Caps - they need to pull their socks up! Prices expensive for what it was and we were the only ones eating in the restaurant!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chezoell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here in April for three nights with our family. Our two kids were amazed and never wanted to get out of the private pool. The villas were modern, beautifully kept and cleaned every day. They were spacious and well air-conditioned with comfortable beds and huge bathrooms for each bedroom. They are also located right on the beach and the water was lovely to swim in during April. We loved the place so much we were disappointed when we had to leave.

The only thing that might deter people is the location as it was about 20 min taxi drive to Hoi An but the Villas do have a shuttle service (about 30 mins) approximately 2 times a day. Apart from their own restaurant, there aren't any shops or restaurants around it (apart from in other hotels/resorts).

I highly recommend the Villas if you want extra space and a place to really unwind on your holiday....not to mention the amazing private pool that our children never really got out of!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCircus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
2.4 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
5.1 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
10.2 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#14 of 294 in Da Nang
1,921 reviews
7 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#33 of 294 in Da Nang
1,032 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Danang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Villas

Address: Son Tra - Dien Ngoc Coastal Street | Hoa Hai Ward, Ngu Hanh Son District, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 294 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range: $224 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Villas at The Ocean Resort is a luxurious residential style pool villa with spacious rooms,harmonious designs,serenity and a truly relaxing atmosphere. The resort consists of 2, 3, 4, 5 bedroom villas all of which have own kitchen,laundry facilities,own private pool and beautiful garden. Promoting a feeling of a home away from home The Ocean Villas is the ideal place for both families and couples. Whether a family get-together, or a romantic weekend The Ocean Villas is the ideal location for those desiring space and privacy in a resort environment. Freedom, space, privacy, the ability to do what you want and create your own experience, The Ocean Villas is the perfect holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing