We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Highway Villas”
Review of The Ocean Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ocean Villas
Ranked #44 of 294 Hotels in Da Nang
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Misleading name. More view over danang main road than the... in fact not a single villa seemed to have an ocean view. The villa itself was not that bad. Being a bit expensive for only having queen size beds, though comfy. Tiny swimming pool with broken light. You'd get a feeling that it was not really clean, that there might be bugs living in it. The menu in the restaurant did sound good. The big disappointment was it didn't taste very good. Breakfast was the best they did serve. No action in the bar apparently, (apart from families playing board games in water soaked swim wear) because the content in the bottles displayed was miscoloured. The swimming pool was super nice. Perfect pool for kids too. A slight architect design blunder though - due to space they have to place the sun chairs on the wrong side of the pool, so the view is toward the hotel instead of the ocean - or they can just turn them around, but thats neither really optional. Great beach. Excellent kayaks to borrow. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank LMKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 270 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lunch with 6 other people. Just dreadful. Staff could not speak English very well; poor communication; gave us three large and cumbersome (yes, 3) menus; 1 for food; 1 for cocktails & 1 for wine then did did not give us a chance to peruse, just stood very close to table with order book at the ready.
Male guest ordered a beer. Staff spilt about almost half of it whilst opening and still charged us full price. I had Thai Red Chicken Curry & Rice with garlic and seaweed. Hah! More like a vegetable curry; weak and watery juice, 5 small gristly pieces of chicken and remainder large chunks of potato plus a few carrots. Others had different meals but did not enjoy and staff service very poor - grubby uniforms, if I can be picky!
Truly horrible meal - I ate it as hungry and didn't wish to offend my host who had asked us to join him. The Ocean Villas is very nice but would not recommend eating at White Caps - they need to pull their socks up! Prices expensive for what it was and we were the only ones eating in the restaurant!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chezoell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here in April for three nights with our family. Our two kids were amazed and never wanted to get out of the private pool. The villas were modern, beautifully kept and cleaned every day. They were spacious and well air-conditioned with comfortable beds and huge bathrooms for each bedroom. They are also located right on the beach and the water was lovely to swim in during April. We loved the place so much we were disappointed when we had to leave.

The only thing that might deter people is the location as it was about 20 min taxi drive to Hoi An but the Villas do have a shuttle service (about 30 mins) approximately 2 times a day. Apart from their own restaurant, there aren't any shops or restaurants around it (apart from in other hotels/resorts).

I highly recommend the Villas if you want extra space and a place to really unwind on your holiday....not to mention the amazing private pool that our children never really got out of!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCircus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

There is no doubt that the accommodation here is luxury and every bit as tranquil as the other reviews promise. A little stepford in its residential setting and a far throw from the Vietnam beyond its gates, all is forgiven on entering your private plunge pool.

However the big downfall here is the service. Bar a couple shining lights, and I mean a couple, the staff are totally disengaged with the guests to the point where you feel that it is inconvenient that you are staying there. The check out procedure previously referred to is farcical and something which we had to go through twice. Beware of booking trips through the villas as it is an excuse to be ferried from one shop to another by your driver and guide as a way of them earning more. Don't bother to try and complain as there seems to be no one in charge!

It is lovely and more than we could have wished for but so was our £20 a night hotel in Hanoi and the staff there were outstanding.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kirstin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent a week there with my wife and daughter last easter. The house was really nice, huge living area downstairs and 3 nice bedrooms upstairs. I found the bathrooms very nice and confortable.
The small swimming pool in front of the living room is nice for kids to play and have fun when you just want to stay home and work or watch TV...
The big swimming pool near the beach is very nice too and we had a lot of fun there.

What i didin't like in Ocean Villas is :
The restaurant!
Not enough variety, the food is only average and quite pricy... I really wouldn't recommand eating there. I don't understand why such a nice place as Ocean Villas can't have at least 1 decent restaurant.

Another thing that is not so well in Ocean Villas, is the distance from everything. You're half way between Hoi An and Danang, with nothing around to do...

I think such a place should propose more activities (like in the nearby Park Hyatt...) and should have a kids club...

Unless you can have a great deal for this place, i wouldn't recommand staying there... I think a nice resort on the beach in Hoi An is much better...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ocean Villas are the perfect, tranquil coastal retreat for some time away from the city, a city, any city, to recharge your batteries and have a taste of the life you want to lead. The luxury private villas have all the modern ammenities and then some, are immaculatly presented (grounds staff even pick up fallen tree blossoms every morning so the gardens are pristine) and provide a real haven for chilling out; relaxing in your own plunge pool doesn't hurt either. You can go self catering, but then you would miss out on the restaurant overlooking the beach, or having a chef cook you a BBQ to enjoy on your own private decking area. And if you do want to see some of cultural and modern Vietnam, then the location, mid way between Da Nang, the city of bridges, and the world heritage town of Hoi An, means trips to either are just minutes away in a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jestersluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed here a few times now and the villas are great especially if you have kids. Nice big rooms and the kitchen is excellent. Beautiful swimming pool close to the beach so you can take advantage of both. It is also part of the Greg Norman golf course and has tennis as well. No kids club like a regular family resort but my daughter wasn't bored. Very clean, contemporary decor and good showers! The restaurant is ok the food a bit average but the drinks make up for it! It is a little far from Hoi An but the hotel staff will get taxis for you or they can hire a private car. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liberachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
2.4 mi away
Vinpearl Da Nang Resort & Villas
5.1 mi away
Premier Village Danang Resort - Managed by Accorhotels
10.2 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Naman Retreat
Naman Retreat
#14 of 294 in Da Nang
1,921 reviews
7 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#33 of 294 in Da Nang
1,032 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Danang Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Villas

Address: Son Tra - Dien Ngoc Coastal Street | Hoa Hai Ward, Ngu Hanh Son District, Da Nang 550000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 294 Hotels in Da Nang
Price Range: $224 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Villas at The Ocean Resort is a luxurious residential style pool villa with spacious rooms,harmonious designs,serenity and a truly relaxing atmosphere. The resort consists of 2, 3, 4, 5 bedroom villas all of which have own kitchen,laundry facilities,own private pool and beautiful garden. Promoting a feeling of a home away from home The Ocean Villas is the ideal place for both families and couples. Whether a family get-together, or a romantic weekend The Ocean Villas is the ideal location for those desiring space and privacy in a resort environment. Freedom, space, privacy, the ability to do what you want and create your own experience, The Ocean Villas is the perfect holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing