We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best property in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Danang
Ranked #14 of 255 Hotels in Da Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best property in town”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My title is bit of a tall order, as i had visited this sleepy port town of Da-nang for the first time and this is the only hotel i had seen & stayed for a night in the city, yet i feel this could be the best property in the town because of its towering size & majestic location on the riverfront. Plus a new suspension bridge which coming up just next to hotel.
Once the bridge is functional, then I don't think there would be any picture post card of Da-nang without this bridge and a towering hotel next to it.
This brand new property is blessed with few charming staff, especially the F&b manager (sorry I forgot his name), he will make your stay very comfortable by his comforting speech & smile. Staff is extra courteous, I got a special treat of veg spring roles, fresh fruit cuts & harsh browns when the staff in the executive lounge realized that i was a veggies and spread available was only fish & meat.
Slight bit of inconvenience can be experienced because of the common approach which the hotel shares with the suspension bridge under construction. Secondly the taxi's available around the hotel charges at will.

Room Tip: No good money exchanges in the town, hence better to change yr dollars at hanoi or hcmc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrbilgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear hrbilgi,

Thank you for your feedbacks. It is always motivating for our staff to read such positive comments.
The bridge construction will be over by the 29th of March. It will definitively become a Danang icon and bring great exposure to our hotel.
You could have changed your money at the reception. Change is strictly regulated by the government and you would have not have lost anything.
We are looking forward to making your second stay memorable.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    183
    44
    7
    8
See reviews for
100
152
49
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hotel is new and it is in Green Island. It is easy to go to town or beach by free shuttle or just take a taxi. It takes only 5-10 minutes, also to the airport. There were some constructions around but we didn't hear any noisy voices from there. Staff is very friendly and they take care of you. Spa was good, professional and wonderful atmosphere. Gym was also very good! Wifi worked well.

Room Tip: As high as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear MissBogey,

Thank you very much, it is always a pleasure to receive so positive feedback.
The best way to get as high as possible as you recommended is to book a Privilege Deluxe room or Privilege Suite located between the 17th and the 21st floor.
It gives you also access to our stunning 21st floor Privilege lounge where guests can enjoy A la carte breakfast, all day snacks and drinks and evening cocktail including wine, beers and assorted canapes.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Beautiful brand new hotel with spacious rooms and great view.
Wide choice and good value for meals in the restaurant, many thanks to FB Director for outstanding service.
Staff were always helpful and friendly.
Excellent equipment in the fitness center and amazing SPA.
Location is a bit away from busy center but you can get easy access by free shuttle bus to the beach or downtown.
It will be my first choice if I stay in DaNang again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear AnastasiaBK,
Thank you very much for your nice post.
I hope that you will be able to try our Friday BBQ next time, it is only 400 000 VND including free flow of draft beer and soft drinks and live band
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Mathieu Lacabanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,530 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As you approach the hotel, you notice this stark concrete tall structure in the middle of a lot of construction, that turns out to be Mercure. It is nondescript, and unimpressive from the outside sitting in the middle of nowhere with all new development and construction going on all around. Once all this over and done with, maybe the hotel may think of some landscaping or beautifying the approach. The lobby and other public areas are a bit wacky to say the least. In the elevator lobby, the roof is filled with dangling plasic bubbles,a nd at 1.80m height they were too close to my head for comfort. I thought theymight light up in the night, but no such luck.

I was upgraded to the Premier Level floor, but the room itself was quite small for this part of the world. It did have a river view and the new bridge coming up. However, for a brand new hotel, the size and decor of the room was very disappointing. After the brand new Novotel In HCMC, this is the 2nd Accor property where a/c has been a problem. No matter how high you crank up the thermostat, it still blows cold air. The light in the bathroom by the sink is totally inadequate for shaving.

The 2 days we were there, the hotel felt like a ghost town. It must be really hurting because all the lights are switched off in the Premier Lounge in the day time making it a very dark and dingy place. This is on top of the very odd decor and color scheme, orange sofas on grey / blue carpet, wood on the walls, and generally a feeling they just bought whatever they could get their hands on at the flea market and installed it in the lounge.

After a week in Vietnam it is clear that service levels here are not at par with the rest of Asia. They are more akin to what you get in the USA and France. Of course, both these countries have sown enough of their sods in the past 100 years that it might have mde their way into the local genes! Dirty dishes are not cleared, wait staff disappear for long periods, coffee is not served promptly, and generally one has to make an effort to flag down someone for help. I ahd this experience both in the Lounge during breakfast and in the restaurant for dinner. In addition, the Lounge serves canapes and light snacks from 5 to 7PM. We reached at 6.30pm, and all the food was gone with no replacement coming up. Of course no doubt most or all of the snacks would have consisted of some dead animal or the other, so we were better off not seeing anything. The other amusing thing in Vietnam is that red wine is always served chilled!

There is one silver lining to the hotel. The Karma Spa is excellent with great value treatments and wonderful staff. Do not miss it if you are staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear pradipd25,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to read that you globally did not enjoy your stay with us.
The hotel is new and there are certainly many things to improve. We are actually rebranding to a Grand Mercure and preparing a lot of nice touches and standards that will make our guests stay memorable.
The Spa is our last addition to the hotel and already up to our new standards. I was happy to read that you enjoyed the experience.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was booked in just for one night, with the intention of getting a good night's sleep after a long international flight. This was my first visit to Vietnam. I was met at the airport (at no added cost) and my name was clearly printed on a card, so my driver was easy to spot. I was amazed at the classiness of the hotel, given the low price I was paying. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable.Breakfast was amazing, (also included in the cost of the room) with a big selection of Vietnamese and Western dishes. It was great to have access to a computer and free internet. If ever I am in Danang again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear bsher14,

Thank you very much for your nice feedbacks.
We believe that we offer the best value for money in Danang and plan to keep it that way.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Room with great view of the river. Clean with nice and comfortable bed. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Free wifi and free city shuttle and airport transfer. Good food at the Chinese restaurant and price is very reasonable. Communication in English is a bit of a problem with some staff especially housekeeping

Room Tip: Request for room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewchoo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureDanang, General Manager at Grand Mercure Danang, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Andrewchoo55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mercure Danang.
All the team is glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.
Speaking English is indeed challenging for some of our staff but we have plans to provide some classes in 2013.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back and showing you improvements.
Best regards,
Mathieu Lacabanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Da Nang hotels
2.6 mi away
Fusion Suites Danang Beach
2.0 mi away
Novotel Danang Premier Han River
1.9 mi away
A La Carte
A La Carte
#29 of 255 in Da Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Melia Danang Resort
Melia Danang Resort
#21 of 255 in Da Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
7.3 mi away
InterContinental Danang Sun Peninsula Resort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Beach Danang Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Danang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Danang

Property: Grand Mercure Danang
Address: Green Island | Hoa Cuong Bac, Hai Chau District, Da Nang 59000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Da Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Da Nang
#7 Family Hotel in Da Nang
#8 Business Hotel in Da Nang
#10 Spa Hotel in Da Nang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Da Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Danang 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Green Island in the heart of Danang city, Grand Mercure Danang is only 5 minutes from the Airport. This new hotel consists of 272 modern rooms all featuring breathtaking ocean or mountain views. The hotel offers a Brasserie and specialty Chinese Restaurant, lobby bar, an exclusive Privilege Club lounge on the 21st Floor and conference facilities for up to 800 delegates in 5 meeting rooms and Grand Ballroom. Facilities also include a spa, swimming pool, tennis court and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Mercure Danang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Danang Hotel Da Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing